We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Retreat”
Review of YMCA Trout Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YMCA Trout Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Potosi
saint louis, mo
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Family Retreat”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We made our first visit in over 6 years back to the Trout Lodge this weekend and I am happy to report it continues to expand their programs and the experience there for the family. All the things my boys (ages 16, 15, 13 and 7) loved to do are still offered and even more! They have improved on already great services by allowing you to pre-register for activities one week before you arrive. The activity offerings have expanded to an entire booklet long. In fact, there is such a variety of activities offered for every age and taste that they now give you a blank calendar sheet when you check in to write your schedule for your stay. Some things that make the retreat unique and special remain the same- no telephones are TV's in the rooms, however, keeping with modern times and necessities, wifi is available in the lodge. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, very eager to make your time with them special. The food is mediocre,but adequate. I would equate it to the quality of a good day at the dorm cafeteria. It too offers enough variety that there is no reason anyone should go hungry. Weather you like adventure (climbing, zip lines) outdoors (fishing,hiking, boating) sports, mini-golf, shuffleboard, horseback riding, trail rides, camp fires, movie watching, gym activities, crafting (very extensive offering in the activity center)working out or just relaxing with a good book you will find a variety of activities to enjoy!

Room Tip: Cabins offer the most space, but you have to hike a short way back to the lodge for your meals. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jet Set Go!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    22
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Some rooms are good and some need updates, but no resort has as many things to do as Trout Lodge and few have such a nature display. The Lake views are expansive and pristine. Overall cost becomes a good value when I factor in all the activities and food that is included and a staff that really tries to entertain you and get you involved. Climbing tower, ropes course, boating, horseback, mountain biking, golf... There is never time to do half the things i want when I visit.
I will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I recently stayed here for a reunion. We had so much fun! We stayed in the cabins which made it nice b/c 2 families could stay in one but still be separated by double doors. plus all the cabins were fairly close to one another. All of our meals were included. The food was wonderful and the dining hall was very clean and overlooked the lake. We did a little hiking and some of did the zip line. Just a little note, you do have to climb a telephone pole to do the zip line, but it's not that hard. The beautiful location combined with great fall weather made for a perfect family weekend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank countrygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just returned from a little family getaway to Trout Lodge. I have lived in Missouri for over 15 years and didn't realize it was even there until recently. We have two children both under 7 years old and it was perfect ! I can't remember when I have spent so much quality time with our children and we even went to Disney this year. Rooms have no TV, can't hardly get cell service so it is the perfect way to just be a family and have fun. The food is included in the room rate. I would rate the food average (cafeteria) kind of food but we certainly didn't go hungry and they have a nice salad bar! The rooms were some of the cleanest rooms I have ever been in and we have stayed in a wide range of places from Tan-Tar-A resort to Ritz Carlton's. I had read other reviews before we went and yes there were a couple of paddle boats that were broken and a few bicycles that needed repair but there is PLENTY to do and if you can't find something to do then you would be unhappy I am guessing just about anywhere. We had an awesome time and spent hardly any additional money aside from the cost of the room. When the kid's were thirsty juice boxes were 50 cents and popsicles were a quarter! They do have a small fee for some activities like our kids did the pony rides and it was 4.00 a piece and they got a free cowboy hat at the end. In one day, we did the following: pony rides, fed the fish ( 25 cents for a hand full of food), rode on funYaks (free), took a 30 minutes tour of the lake on the pontoon boat (free) , paddles boats (free), canoes (free), putt putt golf (free), rode bicycles (free) , waterslide (free), played on the playground (free) and went to the evening dance party (free). We will definitely go back and probably try a cabin next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisamom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a great family place to vacation. It's beautiful and private. Lots of activities for the kids. The food is just alright, nothing special. The best part is it's prepared for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianeq_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great place to bring friends and Family. Trout Lodge is so big with so many activities to choose from that it helps to research the calendar of events before you visit with their reservations desk to secure spots for pontoon rides, horseback, climbing tower/ropes course, archery, golf... Also Put-Put and waterfront activities & interaction with the staff performers are among the staples you experience.Or just do your own thing and relax & swim at their beach or ride around the historic property. Pretty much every kid of every age that I've been around, including my own, will tell their parents they want to come back soon.
Dining is buffet style with a great view and rooms are simple with all that you need, but no TV's yet to encourage getting out. Too much fun!

Room Tip: Durijng the week and non-summer seasons are easiest to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kkall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights after picking our kids up from their week at the adjacent YMCA Camp Lakewood property. Activity choices are great but do sign up early as some fill up. In three days we managed to get in sailing, swimming, zip line, horseback riding, hiking, canoeing, target shooting, chess and a couple of movies. Only the zipline and horseback riding cost extra and they weren't expensive.
The property is gorgeous and teeming with life -- eagles, hummingbirds, swifts, frogs, geese, etc. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Some rooms in the lodge are updated w/ rustic wooden furnishings. Others, including our room, need a redo; wallpaper was stained and coming up in places, balcony railings in desperate need of painting. This aside, the room was clean and modest -- no phone or TV which is how we like it.
Food is so-so and served all-you-can-eat buffet style: Mostly canned fruit and veggies and a lot of fried and processed food. Saturday lunch was cold cuts and I really do expect better. Typical meal is comfort food like meat loaf and mashed potatoes and there is always a salad bar and a kids buffet line. The best part is we can walk away from the table and someone else cleans up dishes. We've been back many times so we know what to expect. This is not a luxury resort but a place to enjoy nature in a low-tech, relaxed setting. Don't expect bells and whistles. Also, BYO wine and beer because it is not served on the property, but you're allowed to have it in your room.

Room Tip: 1st flr rooms have the most direct access to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank citylifemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potosi
22.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
21.4 mi away
Super 8 Bonne Terre
Super 8 Bonne Terre
#1 of 2 in Bonne Terre
258 reviews
22.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Sullivan
5 reviews
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Potosi
Super 8 Potosi
#2 of 2 in Potosi
175 reviews
15.2 mi away
Old Caledonian Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Trout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Trout Lodge

Property: YMCA Trout Lodge
Address: 13528 State Highway Aa, Potosi, MO 63664-9237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Potosi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YMCA Trout Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Trout Lodge operates year-round for family getaways/vacations, family reunions, all-inclusive adult programs, and a professional conference center with team building opportunities for groups and corporate events. Nestled among 5,200 beautiful acres of the eastern Ozarks, we are just 90 minutes south of St. Louis, and have been hosting families and groups for more than 50 years. What we offer is unlike any getaway experience. A stay at Trout Lodge means countless activities, accommodations (guest room or cabin-style), 3 buffet-style meals daily and most of all - a chance to reconnect with nature and with others. Rates include lodging, meals and many activities, with kids 0-5 free! See our website for all of the activities and themed weeks and weekends (some are seasonal). Come experience all we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your YMCA Trout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Trout Hotel Potosi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing