We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first father/son trip in 20 years”
Review of YMCA Trout Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YMCA Trout Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Potosi
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“our first father/son trip in 20 years”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

a couple years ago, my dad had heart surgery. we used to go on father son trips when i was younger but after i moved away, i found less and less time to get away. fearing i might never get another chance i started looking for fishing resorts. after a google search, i found this place. i was worried that this wouldn't be a place for a 36 & 59 year old but the lodge reassurred me otherwise. we went on june 10-12, 2012 and had a great time. we shot rifles, archery, horseback riding,fishing, and a ton of other stuff. the fireworks cruise was awesome. kinda short, but looked cool against the lake. i think the miniature golf course needs some tlc, but that didn't stop us or anyone else from playing and having fun. we didn't really see alot of kids in the resort area, they were all on the summer camp side. kinda slow pace while we were there which was nice. the buffet style food was pretty good for the most part but a few things could have used some seasoning. the apple crisp on the first night was amazing! dad's favorite thing was the mountain trail horseback ride. neither of us had ever rode! it was alot of fun! i hope to return soon with my wife and foster daughter. and last but not least, a big thanks to natalie, our instructor, she seemed to be at most of our activies and always greeted us with a smile and hello as all of the staff did! i really think the hospitality we got from the staff rivals that of disney world. maybe better!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eroom5721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I had our trip to Trouth Lodge planned for mouths. We knew it was ran through the YMCA and also knew there would be children. However, we thought it would be a great way to fish, hike, and relax. First, my husband wanted to learn about Trout Fishing and it seemed this would be a good learning environment off the bank. However, the trout ponds are tiny, and you can see the trout swimming in the middle. Even though it is catch/release, it doesn't seem fair for the fish! I guess that is what happens when trout are in a pond and not a river. The second thing we found is that it seemed all of the activies were catered towards children. Our first activity we signed up for was archery which we were told was geared more towards adults. We decided not to stay when a small child was going to be in our group. I am not writing this to bash Trout Lodge. The place was beautiful just NOT for us. If anyone out there is a couple and expecting this to be more of an adventure (which is what I was hoping), you might find it lacking. My husband and I just felt like the awkward adults who didn't have children. After five hours, we decided to take a trip elsewhere. The front desk at the lodge were amazing and had excellent customer service. Perhaps we'll go back when we have kids but not right now!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JSM1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed from Friday till Sunday ,the staff were friendly and professional, the grounds and lodge were clean and well maintained. The food was awesome all you can eat and a wide variety,fresh coffee 24 hours a day,,Activities for all age groups and knowledgeable staff for each activity, Will be going back soon,,The fishing is the best I have ever experienced,.,,,

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
154 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

So much to do and you don't even have to stay the night to take advantage of all the property has to offer. You can go for a day trip and purchase a day pass which includes one meal (you can add on another if needed). YMCA Member Rates (and Washington County residents)
$20 per adult (ages 13+) $10 per child (ages 6-12; 5 & under FREE). If you do choose to just go for a day know that you will NOT be able to squeeze in all the activities that they have to offer. Our boys loved playing miniture golf and checking out bikes to ride around. If it gets too hot outside you can paint pottery in the arts & crafts room or get some energy out in the gymnasium. They could certainly use some new equipment, repairs and upkeep for many of the attractions/activities, but it is so nice that things are out for you to do and you don't have to run here and there it check things out, makes for a very relaxing day! In the afternoon, we did a outdoor scavenger hunt that the kids returned to the front desk for a prize and we played in the sand with sand toys that had been left out for guests to play with. Evening activities often include a hay ride, bon fires and firework displays. The night we were there they had a family magic show that we stayed for which was very entertaining -- a good laugh for all! We will be back again this summer and hope to stay in the cabins. NOTE: Look at a MAP when planning your driving route, mapqust and GPS satellite systems take you around an odd way on a bumpy road and says you have arrived when your still miles away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 50stateswithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint louis, mo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We made our first visit in over 6 years back to the Trout Lodge this weekend and I am happy to report it continues to expand their programs and the experience there for the family. All the things my boys (ages 16, 15, 13 and 7) loved to do are still offered and even more! They have improved on already great services by allowing you to pre-register for activities one week before you arrive. The activity offerings have expanded to an entire booklet long. In fact, there is such a variety of activities offered for every age and taste that they now give you a blank calendar sheet when you check in to write your schedule for your stay. Some things that make the retreat unique and special remain the same- no telephones are TV's in the rooms, however, keeping with modern times and necessities, wifi is available in the lodge. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, very eager to make your time with them special. The food is mediocre,but adequate. I would equate it to the quality of a good day at the dorm cafeteria. It too offers enough variety that there is no reason anyone should go hungry. Weather you like adventure (climbing, zip lines) outdoors (fishing,hiking, boating) sports, mini-golf, shuffleboard, horseback riding, trail rides, camp fires, movie watching, gym activities, crafting (very extensive offering in the activity center)working out or just relaxing with a good book you will find a variety of activities to enjoy!

Room Tip: Cabins offer the most space, but you have to hike a short way back to the lodge for your meals. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jet Set Go!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Some rooms are good and some need updates, but no resort has as many things to do as Trout Lodge and few have such a nature display. The Lake views are expansive and pristine. Overall cost becomes a good value when I factor in all the activities and food that is included and a staff that really tries to entertain you and get you involved. Climbing tower, ropes course, boating, horseback, mountain biking, golf... There is never time to do half the things i want when I visit.
I will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I recently stayed here for a reunion. We had so much fun! We stayed in the cabins which made it nice b/c 2 families could stay in one but still be separated by double doors. plus all the cabins were fairly close to one another. All of our meals were included. The food was wonderful and the dining hall was very clean and overlooked the lake. We did a little hiking and some of did the zip line. Just a little note, you do have to climb a telephone pole to do the zip line, but it's not that hard. The beautiful location combined with great fall weather made for a perfect family weekend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank countrygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potosi
22.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
26.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Timber Creek Resort
21.4 mi away
Super 8 Bonne Terre
Super 8 Bonne Terre
#1 of 2 in Bonne Terre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Potosi
Super 8 Potosi
#2 of 2 in Potosi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
15.2 mi away
Old Caledonian Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Trout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Trout Lodge

Property: YMCA Trout Lodge
Address: 13528 State Highway Aa, Potosi, MO 63664-9237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Potosi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YMCA Trout Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Trout Lodge operates year-round for family getaways/vacations, family reunions, all-inclusive adult programs, and a professional conference center with team building opportunities for groups and corporate events. Nestled among 5,200 beautiful acres of the eastern Ozarks, we are just 90 minutes south of St. Louis, and have been hosting families and groups for more than 50 years. What we offer is unlike any getaway experience. A stay at Trout Lodge means countless activities, accommodations (guest room or cabin-style), 3 buffet-style meals daily and most of all - a chance to reconnect with nature and with others. Rates include lodging, meals and many activities, with kids 0-5 free! See our website for all of the activities and themed weeks and weekends (some are seasonal). Come experience all we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your YMCA Trout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Trout Hotel Potosi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing