We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YMCA Trout Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseners Motel(Park Hills)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradition Inn(Farmington)
US$121
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
45
24
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
24
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip lineroad scholarhorseback ridingmini golfthree meals a dayforest viewfamily reunionspent a weeknature centerhiking trailspontoon boat ridecowboy hatchecking outpaintballtelevisionlodgingfireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

a couple years ago, my dad had heart surgery. we used to go on father son trips when i was younger but after i moved away, i found less and less time to get away. fearing i might never get another chance i started looking for fishing resorts. after a google search, i found this place. i was worried that this wouldn't be a place for a 36 & 59 year old but the lodge reassurred me otherwise. we went on june 10-12, 2012 and had a great time. we shot rifles, archery, horseback riding,fishing, and a ton of other stuff. the fireworks cruise was awesome. kinda short, but looked cool against the lake. i think the miniature golf course needs some tlc, but that didn't stop us or anyone else from playing and having fun. we didn't really see alot of kids in the resort area, they were all on the summer camp side. kinda slow pace while we were there which was nice. the buffet style food was pretty good for the most part but a few things could have used some seasoning. the apple crisp on the first night was amazing! dad's favorite thing was the mountain trail horseback ride. neither of us had ever rode! it was alot of fun! i hope to return soon with my wife and foster daughter. and last but not least, a big thanks to natalie, our instructor, she seemed to be at most of our activies and always greeted us with a smile and hello as all of the staff did! i really think the hospitality we got from the staff rivals that of disney world. maybe better!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eroom5721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I had our trip to Trouth Lodge planned for mouths. We knew it was ran through the YMCA and also knew there would be children. However, we thought it would be a great way to fish, hike, and relax. First, my husband wanted to learn about Trout Fishing and it seemed this would be a good learning environment off the bank. However, the trout ponds are tiny, and you can see the trout swimming in the middle. Even though it is catch/release, it doesn't seem fair for the fish! I guess that is what happens when trout are in a pond and not a river. The second thing we found is that it seemed all of the activies were catered towards children. Our first activity we signed up for was archery which we were told was geared more towards adults. We decided not to stay when a small child was going to be in our group. I am not writing this to bash Trout Lodge. The place was beautiful just NOT for us. If anyone out there is a couple and expecting this to be more of an adventure (which is what I was hoping), you might find it lacking. My husband and I just felt like the awkward adults who didn't have children. After five hours, we decided to take a trip elsewhere. The front desk at the lodge were amazing and had excellent customer service. Perhaps we'll go back when we have kids but not right now!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JSM1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed from Friday till Sunday ,the staff were friendly and professional, the grounds and lodge were clean and well maintained. The food was awesome all you can eat and a wide variety,fresh coffee 24 hours a day,,Activities for all age groups and knowledgeable staff for each activity, Will be going back soon,,The fishing is the best I have ever experienced,.,,,

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view of the lake
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

So much to do and you don't even have to stay the night to take advantage of all the property has to offer. You can go for a day trip and purchase a day pass which includes one meal (you can add on another if needed). YMCA Member Rates (and Washington County residents)
$20 per adult (ages 13+) $10 per child (ages 6-12; 5 & under FREE). If you do choose to just go for a day know that you will NOT be able to squeeze in all the activities that they have to offer. Our boys loved playing miniture golf and checking out bikes to ride around. If it gets too hot outside you can paint pottery in the arts & crafts room or get some energy out in the gymnasium. They could certainly use some new equipment, repairs and upkeep for many of the attractions/activities, but it is so nice that things are out for you to do and you don't have to run here and there it check things out, makes for a very relaxing day! In the afternoon, we did a outdoor scavenger hunt that the kids returned to the front desk for a prize and we played in the sand with sand toys that had been left out for guests to play with. Evening activities often include a hay ride, bon fires and firework displays. The night we were there they had a family magic show that we stayed for which was very entertaining -- a good laugh for all! We will be back again this summer and hope to stay in the cabins. NOTE: Look at a MAP when planning your driving route, mapqust and GPS satellite systems take you around an odd way on a bumpy road and says you have arrived when your still miles away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 50stateswithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We made our first visit in over 6 years back to the Trout Lodge this weekend and I am happy to report it continues to expand their programs and the experience there for the family. All the things my boys (ages 16, 15, 13 and 7) loved to do are still offered and even more! They have improved on already great services by allowing you to pre-register for activities one week before you arrive. The activity offerings have expanded to an entire booklet long. In fact, there is such a variety of activities offered for every age and taste that they now give you a blank calendar sheet when you check in to write your schedule for your stay. Some things that make the retreat unique and special remain the same- no telephones are TV's in the rooms, however, keeping with modern times and necessities, wifi is available in the lodge. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, very eager to make your time with them special. The food is mediocre,but adequate. I would equate it to the quality of a good day at the dorm cafeteria. It too offers enough variety that there is no reason anyone should go hungry. Weather you like adventure (climbing, zip lines) outdoors (fishing,hiking, boating) sports, mini-golf, shuffleboard, horseback riding, trail rides, camp fires, movie watching, gym activities, crafting (very extensive offering in the activity center)working out or just relaxing with a good book you will find a variety of activities to enjoy!

Room Tip: Cabins offer the most space, but you have to hike a short way back to the lodge for your meals. They are also a little on the buggy side. We personally find the lodge more convenient, but you sacrifice space. The loft rooms in the lodge are a good option for larger families who don't want to stay in a cabin.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jet Set Go!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews