We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
53
20
4
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
20
4
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel down the road ocean view room breakfast is served living space private house common areas tuk tuk every morning lovely staff outdoor shower sri lanka an amazing view wonderful food overlooking the sea would highly recommend this hotel private beach
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

There is so much to love here! The closest I've ever stayed to the ocean—you could really throw a stone into the water from your window! The rooms are spacious, gorgeous and comfortable, as are the communal spaces. Plenty of loungers and a very nice little pool. Even when the place is full there's plenty of room for everyone and the chill vibe remains.

The staff is also fantastic—super attentive and quick when you would like to order food or ask questions. There was always someone available whenever we went looking. The breakfast situation has also changed from some of the previous reviews. It's now served in the villas as well as an all-day a la carte menu so there's no need to walk to the main hotel every morning. Just to note, however, there is a bigger lunch/dinner menu at the main restaurant.

There are shops around for snacks and water but you'll likely have to take a tuk-tuk into Mirissa (about 6 minutes ride) for other dining options. This wasn't any kind of a drawback for us as we loved the quiet, pristine beach out front of the hotel. Another little FYI that as you exit the hotel and face the road, turn right and there's a wine/liquor shop just a few minutes walk down the road. We bought a couple of bottles and used wine glasses/opener from the kitchen to enjoy beverages on our own.

The only drawback of this place is the paid food situation (not breakfast, which was nice). The food/drink prices are already marked up which is understandable for a luxury level hotel. However, I have no idea why they list prices in USD, change them to LKR, then add 30% in taxes/service charge. Can't you just adjust the menu to have one price in the local currency like EVERY OTHER HOTEL IN SRI LANKA? I could have glossed over this if I felt the food quality was worth the cost but it really wasn't. We ended up eating here only when we wanted to keep relaxing and not leave the property. Sandwiches at the villa and the tuna main dish at the hotel restaurant were good but the other items we tried were only so-so and made me feel totally ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himaj J, General Manager - Boutique Hotels & Villas at Ubuntu Boutique Hotel by Lantern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Danielle

Thank you for your recent stay at Ubuntu Beach Villa by Lantern.

We were delighted to read your comments and thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

We are re-evaluating our menu prices and the new menu will be priced in local currency. The menu will have a wider range of food items as well.

Thank you for staying with us and hope you would return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed as a group, taking 4 rooms. The place is a bit soulless - very modern and not a lot of character. It's very close to the sea which is too rough for swimming in the off season. Although they have built a sand bank, waves would often wash over and hit the sunbeds. The set up is a bit odd - it's 2 villas sort of combined into one with a living room in one part and dining room in the other. So if you take 1 villa of 4 rooms, you'll have to share some living space with the adjoining villa. It's a bit of a cab ride into the nearby town. Staff were good and available all day,

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msps9tds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himaj J, General Manager - Boutique Hotels & Villas at Ubuntu Boutique Hotel by Lantern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay at Ubuntu Beach Villas by Lantern.

We regret to note that the Villas are not exactly what you were expecting. On most occasions we have 4 to 8 separate couples occupying the rooms individually and they tend to share the public facilities such as the dining, pools and living areas. Small families also book the 4 bed room Villa with pool while the other Villa is occupied by individual couples and on these instances we separate the 2 areas. Majority seem to like the concept and its coziness. Guest are also allowed to use the facilities at Lantern Boutique Hotel, our associate property located few meters away.

Appreciate your comments made about our staff.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Oh, oh, oh what a view! We stayed here last week with our two kids ages 5 & 8. We got two ocean view rooms. It worked perfectly for us. The two rooms were upstairs in the front house which didn't have any other rooms off it, so we could sleep with doors open and wander between the two rooms freely. In the afternoons and evenings it was as though we had the house, pool and common areas all to ourselves. It was like our own private house.

The beach was the cleanest we have seen in all if Sri Lanka and truest beautiful. The waves were fierce so we didn't swim, but a bit to the east along the beach there is some low pools behind the coral where kids could play, find shells and see fishes. Walking towards the west along the beach there is a rock protected cove that one could swim at theoretically when the waves were too much.

The hotel is impeccably decorated and maintained. Constantly painting and touching up so it looks just as perfect as the pictures. I have never had a hotel or room so close to the ocean. It was incredible. The roar of the ocean showed its force and power.

Service could certainly be improved upon, but everyone was very kind. Not very attentive, but all the more it felt like we had the place to yourself. You could easily go through a whole evening and never see a soul.

There were empty fridges in the room so we got snacks, milk, beer and so on and filled it up. There were plates, bowls and so on in the kitchen so we could make a bowl of cereal for the kids as a snack.

We had two dinners at the hotel as well. The idea was great. Again it felt like private dining but as the food was coming from the main hotel it was a bit cold. They would improve on that too. It was otherwise just lovely to eat in the downstairs. Breakfast was fine as well. Made to order, but nothing extraordinary.

All in all we thought it was great and worked SO well for our little family. They just need to work out the service details.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank StaceyErin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himaj J, General Manager - Boutique Hotels & Villas at Ubuntu Boutique Hotel by Lantern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay at Ubuntu Beach Villas by Lantern.

We are delighted to learn that Ubuntu Villa was the most beautiful hotel you stayed in Sri Lanka. Thank you for sharing your holiday experience and making such favorable comments.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the service. We are taking immediate action to rectify the shortcomings in our service. We have now allocated cooking staff to each villa and we have an all-day dining a la carte menu at the Villa.

We hope you would return for another holiday in the future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

I would like to share my experience of why we had to leave this hotel and of the 5 hours we spent there waiting to speak to the manager and then arguing with him, I want to be fair because the hotel looks nice and clean, however this is not the way you treat your guests, so there you go:

1. When we arrived, they sent us to a different building a few minutes away from the main building by tuk tuk which wasn´t explained in the advert. If you want breakfast or dinner you must go there.

2. As soon as you get there, when you do the check in, you have to pay for your stay before you see your room, and here was my mistake.

3. We booked the Ocean View Room. The description and the photos showed that the room had a nice bathtub however the room they gave it to us didn´t have it. We complained but the duty manager had a 2 hour break so we had to wait fa full 2 hours until he came back to find a solution.

4. After 2 hours he confirmed that they didn´t have any rooms with a bath left and there nothing they could do about it so we decided to leave however they said that they couldn´t give us the money back. They showed us another room but it wasn´t what we booked so we argued for another 2 hours, they laughed at us and made us feel really uncomfortable. The duty manager didn´t speak very good English so he had to tell someone else to translate. It was a nightmare...

5. In the end I phoned the website where I booked the hotel and thank God they helped us and find another place to stay and arranged everything to fix this mess.

6. To be fair, the hotel looks nice and clean, just make sure you check what you booked and see the room before to avoid this situation. The information is not clear in the advert and the staff should be more professional when situations like this come up, guests shouldn´t feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himaj J, General Manager - Boutique Hotels & Villas at Ubuntu Boutique Hotel by Lantern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

We refer to the guests recent experience at Ubuntu Beach Villas by Lantern.

The Villa was not aware that guests had requested for an Ocean Room with Bath at the time of check-in. Guests were checked-in to the room around 4.00pm and around 5.30pm guests had called the reception and informed that they require a room with a bathtub.

The Executive Housekeeper who was available on duty immediately visited the villa and attempted to speak to the guests and explain. Guests insisted on speaking to the Duty Manager. The Duty Manager was on a break, but upon notifying he reached the Villa within 15 minutes. The Duty Manager explained to guests that all rooms with baths were sold out and the hotel did not pre-reserve a room with a bath as prior request was not made.

The Ubuntu Beach Villas by Lantern consists of 4 Ocean View Rooms with Bath, 4 Ocean Rooms without bath in addition to its 8 Courtyard rooms. Since all rooms with baths were occupied, we arranged an upgrade to a suite at Lantern Boutique Hotel which is over U$ 100 per night, twice the size and more luxurious.

Guests declined the offer and requested for a refund. It is a common practice internationally for all guests to pay at the time of check-in. If guests wished to change the hotel, cancellation charges would have applied.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed a three night stay at Ubuntu Boutique Villas. It is one of three Ubuntu properties along a 2km or so stretch on the road out of Mirissa.
The main hotel is down the road and they provide free tuk tuk services between them.
Breakfast is served here in the villas though and meals can be brought from the main hotel but with the free tuk tuk you may as well go down the road and eat there as easily.
The rooms are beautiful, very spacious with comfortable beds, the biggest bathroom I've ever had with indoor and outdoor shower and a massive T.V.
There is a safety box, plenty of linen and toiletries, in short everything you'd ever need for a comfortable stay.
It's a bit out of town but only a short tuk tuk ride all the same. The upside to that of course is how utterly peaceful it is.
Lovely staff, nothing they cant do for you. Superb friendly service. As I said the main hotel has most of the staff but the villas always have a few people there to serve you, service the rooms, tend the gardens and there are two guards on the front gate
A lovely place to relax with the cibstsnt sound of the waves and the beach is beautiful to walk on. The sea was too rough to swim on our visit alas.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himaj J, General Manager - Boutique Hotels & Villas at Ubuntu Boutique Hotel by Lantern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your recent stay at Ubuntu Beach Villas by Lantern.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for commending the Villa in every aspect and very specially the service provided by our team.

We hope that you would consider a future stay at one of our villas.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews