We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve10101
London, United Kingdom

Superb place to stay, highly recommended

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Oct 2016via mobile
Sri Sharavi will go down as one of the best places we have ever stayed. The pool is absolutely fantastic and the villa is great. The service was great throughout the stay. The food was good and you enjoy a private table in the villa which is right by the pool. The beach out front is great (fairly small, try Rekawa/Tangalle area for long endless walks if that's your thing) but the waves are large in Sept. Near and a very cheap Tuk Tuk to Mirissa so the location was great. Overall highly recommended and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

There is one big issue we had that the owner needs to fix asap however. As the location is right on the beach stray dogs (who are everywhere and very frequent right across Sri Lanka) roam by the pool and into the villas. One kept jumping up onto the sunbed whilst we were reading and afterwards I noticed a small tick/flea thing on me which clearly the guests don't want the illness risk of. Simple solution without ruining the infinity pool view, put some gates up alongside both edges of the pool. Wouldn't be a bother for a guest to open it if walking onto the beach and would stop the dogs. Overall this point wouldn't stop us staying there again but I hope they fix it soon.

Thanks for a great stay.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcy V, General Manager at Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 4 Oct 2016
Thank you for the recommendation and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for bringing the issue of a beach dog coming on to the property to my attention. Our resident dog is generally quite vigilant in keeping outside beach dogs off the property and away from the villa. Your suggestion to put 2 gates around the 2 entrances to the pool is worthy of consideration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.6 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.3 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.3 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Trip.com
    0.9 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £106
    0.3 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £144
    • Lol.travel
    2.3 miles from Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
    View more hotels in Kamburugamuwa
    Reviews (607)
    Filter reviews
    607 results
    Traveller rating
    538
    52
    11
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    538
    52
    11
    3
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews signature suite ocean suite the salt water pool amazing pool huge pool tuk tuk amazing hotel ocean front indian ocean perfect place to relax packed breakfast whale watching a wonderful stay the ground floor rice and curry palm trees other places
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    428 - 433 of 607 reviews
    Reviewed 23 September 2016

    Great service, beautiful property. We had a wonderful stay here. I will definitely return for a longer time next time I come. Really reasonably priced room. Makes for a perfect vacation with both family and friends.

    Date of stay: September 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank NBak87
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Marcy V, General Manager at Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

    We enjoyed having you here and really do hope that you come back again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 September 2016

    We had a great experience here with the family. We had booked two of the cheaper rooms, but Marcy was kind enough to put us all together in one villa, effectively giving us an upgrade, so it started well.

    Within the first day however, 3 of the 4 adults ended up on their bums, all slipping basically. The floor is made of polished concrete (as far as I can tell) and is polished so well, there is almost no grip. Over the next few days, we tried barefoot, slippers, trainers, but none gave secure footing.

    We all ended up walking relatively slowly and carefully throughout, running is a definite no. We had a baby to carry around, so that was a bit of a worry and wife was constantly reminding me to walk carefully. Once you know it is manageable, just take it easy.

    We felt the food was good. Prices were similar to restaurants in town. Just a note that you will get charged another 20% on top of the prices in the menu, which is not mentioned in the menu itself. That might make it a bit more expensive, but it is simply convenient to eat there at times.

    There are dogs running around the property (although they seem trained not to go in the villa), we love dogs and we played happily with them, but for Muslims perhaps to take note. Stray dogs are quite a common sight in Sri Lanka everywhere though, so in general hard to avoid.

    Overall we were very pleased and happy with our stay. Happy to recommend, just with the footnote to be careful with the smooth floor.

    Date of stay: September 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank S W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Marcy V, General Manager at Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

    So glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and that we were able to accommodate your group of 4 adults and 3 children in two rooms located in the same villa together.

    I will pass on your compliments to our Chef and his kitchen. Yes, we do add a service charge and the applicable government VAT to our food bill, but do take note that it was not brought to your attention prior to you ordering your meal here.

    Regarding our floors, they are indeed polished concrete. They can be slippery when wet, which is why it is advisable to dry your feet and your children's feet on the 2 outdoor mats, located on the villa terrace, after leaving the pool and prior to entering the villa. We have found that polished concrete is a great floor base for beach side living. And even more so for families with little ones, as children tend to bring their outdoor water play inside.

    We are able to keep our spectacular view out to to the ocean free from the interference of a fence partly due to our two fully trained and vaccinated dogs living on the property. They are excellent watchdogs and keep the other neighbourhood dogs at bay and also are very good night time security. And, as you experienced, they are well socialized but also respect the guests' privacy.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 September 2016

    The best hotel we have been in Sri Lanka. Nice, exclusive and calm. But the food wasnt at the same level. We like the food at the hotel but after being in other restaurants at Mirissa we realize that food wasnt good enough. Any other restaurant at Mirissa has better food and for more than a half of price. Also the service, like in other places of Sri Lanka, is regular. We had wait for breakfast a lot of time and it seems (like in all Sri Lanka) that they are waiting all the time their tip.
    Marcy, the owner of this Paradise, is a very nice person like the hotel overall.I will repeat without a doubt but i will eat in Mirissa beach.

    Date of stay: August 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    2  Thank MaiteRM
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Marcy V, General Manager at Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

    So sorry to read that you did not have the same great food experience that our other guests have had. I will certainly look into why that was and also review with your breakfast server how he can better take care of all guests. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 September 2016

    This hotel has a very personal feel to it - there are only 4(?) villas facing the beach, which are rented out in their entirety and two rooms at by reception, meaning the number of guests is small. You can eat breakfast in your room, by the pool or by the beach. In doing so, you basically have your own waiter! The food was of a high standard. There is a long pool stretching the length of the property, along with a small shop and massage parlour. To top it off, you can see sea turtles in the waves of the hotel! We really enjoyed our stay!

    Date of stay: August 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Wanderer1234589
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Marcy V, General Manager at Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

    So happy to read that you loved your stay at Sri Sharavi. You are correct, we have 4 villas. And our 2 Standard Double Rooms are located in our Spa building. We are 14 rooms in total and each Villa has a butler, plus we have 2 Food and Beverage staff. That's why you felt as if you had your very own waiter.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

    Paradise in Sri Lanka! The villas were beautifully designed and kept in pristine condition. Each villa has a butler who attends to your every need. The food was delicious with a wide variety of options to choose from from, both western and traditional Sri Lanka dishes. Incredible view from the hotel pool, which overlooks the secluded beach. Management were very approachable and didn't hesitate to offer advice when needed. Thank you Sri Sharavi for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back!

    Date of stay: August 2016
    Thank christopherd448
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Marcy V, General Manager at Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

    Thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you experienced the perfect summer holiday here at Sri Sharavi. We hope that you do come back to visit again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews