We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pretty Resort”
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ridgedale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We rented a two bedroom cabin for four nights in March. The cabin was beautiful and very clean. The resort is well kept and employees are very polite and try to be helpful. We did have a couple of problems, however.

The cabin had a major construction site right behind it and work started up at 7:20 a.m. I do mean RIGHT behind the cabin. They did move us for the second night, but at those prices we should have been informed before arrival. Moving was a pain and wasted a lot of our second day. They come get your things if you want them to, but we brought food to cook and had to pack everything up, so we just moved it ourselves. We also had to wait for them to tell us the cabin was ready, so we had to hang around and wait for a call. The only other negative thing I would say is that the hot tubs are always full of kids, so not so relaxing.

We ordered room service one day and it was all very good, service was great everywhere we went.

Room Tip: If you get a cabin, specify a lakeside cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akmwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We loved everything about Big Cedar Lodge. We went there to celebrate our 15th anniversary, and we couldn't have picked a better place. Everyone was friendly and the scenery was breathtaking! We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shonitra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had never heard of this highly-rated resort until friends in St Louis told us.

The resort was just gearing up for the season, and many activities weren't offered yet but this would be an awesome place to keep a group of people (with or without kids) occupied for at least a week !

We stayed in a lakeside cabin for five nights. We love having the space of a cabin (two bedrooms, kitchen with large table and eating space, living room with huge fireplace and large balcony with gas grill) and the flexibility to eat out if if want, or cook meals if we want to stay in. These cabins are the nicest we have stayed in - beautiful construction, high timbered ceilings, large bathrooms and showers/tubs, very comfortable king sized beds. Kitchen was adequate but limited baking/cooking dishes.

Our cabin was about a 1/2 mile walk to the edge of the main property - we walked most of the time as the weather was good and we didn't want to bother with ordering a shuttle. Most of the walk is on a paved walkway, but some is on the road.

Fitness center (the most beautiful I have ever seen) was very well equipped with enough aerobic machines and lots of weight machines and free weights (but no showers!). There is also a well-market 5 K running path winds through the resort (a big hilly for flatlanders like us). Happily, one of the outdoor pools was open even though it was only early March with temps in the 60s, and we used if every afternoon - has a large whirlpool, too, that was crowded with kids. None of the five or six pools is suitable for lap swimming, which was our only real disappointment.

We also took the nature trail hike (behind the stables) - a couple of miles in a nice woods, though close to roads in some spots.

We ate breakfast at Devil's Pool restaurant - perfect breakfast buffet, friendly service and all well prepared and high quaility (you can also order from the menu).

Staff were all helpful and did their best to make suggestions ... where to see a nice sunset, where to buy groceries, etc.

We spent our days at Dogwood canyon and I cannnot say enough good things about their staff - jeep ride (Randy) , archery lessons and fly fishing clinic (Steve) and cattle drive (Hannah and Shiloh). The cattle drive was a really fun alternative to the trail riding at most resorts. Each staff member was a real expert, very experienced and very patient. We also ate lunch there - nice little lunch counter with enough choices for us.

Room Tip: The view from Lakeview cabins may be obscured in the summer when the trees have leaves, but the sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We choose to stay at Big Cedar Lodge on our trip to Branson. This was our first time staying here and I was glad I did. Branson is only about 10 miles away, which is very nice. The entire lodge is very impressive. The grounds are immaculate. They have complimentary paddleboats, canoes, and horseshoes, ground shuffleboard, mini golf, etc. Also depending on the day they have events at the Marina like tie dying t-shirts, ice cream socials, etc. There is so much to do there. I was very impressed. They even deliver cookies every night to your room by the cookie ladies.
If looking for something to do in Branson or around the lodge guest services will find something that will suite you. Dogwood Canyon is nearby and offers many activities.
We stayed in a normal room, as this was our first time here. I was pleased with the room however I thought the room was a little small for 4 people. Next time we go I think we will get a cabin. The only negative I will say about the lodge is the restaurants are very pricey. If looking to save some money eat before you get to the lodge.
Overall this is where I will stay when in Branson.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a cabin on Lakeside Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Big Cedar Lodge is a great place to stay and there are so many activities for adults and children that you will have trouble selecting which ones to do. Everyone who works there is friendly and very helpful. We hope to go back to Big Cedar because it truly is a family place to stay.

Room Tip: The Springview Lodge is a good central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I checked in Thursday afternoon. We didn't really know what to expect, but as we arrived our mouths were open and very rarely closed. The property was easy to move through using the signs. After we checked in, we used the complimentary shuttle for everywhere we wanted/ needed to go. As we opened the door to our room at the Falls Lodge, we were amazed! The bedroom had a Jacuzzi tub and a beautiful walk in shower that was separated from the bedroom like a little wooden cabin. Our room had a small porch with rocking chairs that overlooked Table Rock Lake. It was so peaceful and relaxing! We were able to watch the sun set each night on our little porch.There were so many complimentary activities designed for families that I knew my children (6 and 3) would have a blast! There was a glow light scavenger hunt Thursday night, a huge playground directly down from our room, heated outdoor pools, indoor pool with a slide, kid's playroom, paddle boats, and so much more that we ran out of time! We will return. The food was somewhat expensive, so if you could get a cabin or a room with a kitchen, I would bring food.

Room Tip: Falls Lodge was located directly in the center of grounds. All rooms overlooked Table Rock Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I loved Big Cedar! My husband and I stayed in a lakeside cabin ( be sure to request "Lakeside") which was so cozy and with all the amenities! A must see is Dogwood Canyon-very much worth the trail walk. Also, don't miss Cowboy Clay at Buzzard's Bar! We also order a "backyard BBQ" for dinner one night. It was excellent to cook the steak right at the cabin and the blueberry poppy seed dressing was incredible.The hospitality of all associates was the best!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robbin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branson - Green Mountain Drive
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling wilderness resort is located 1.7 miles from Big Cedar Hollow and 9 miles from the Branson Creek Golf Club. Accommodations range from rustic private cabins to warmly decorated lodge rooms, plus a modern cottage and a villa. All feature a sophisticated take on wilderness lodge decor, plus whirlpool tubs, free Wi-Fi and minifridges. Many have fireplaces. Amenities include a full-service spa, a fitness center with personal trainer, and pony and carriage rides, plus indoor/outdoor pools, a lazy river and loaner kayaks/canoes. There are several dining options, ranging from a casual cafe to a rustic-chic space with lake views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing