We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are Bluegreen Owners and love the Big Cedar property. The rooms are spectacular. We always get a 2 bedroom combined unit. The abundance of pools keeps them from being overly crowded. I love the planned activities such as a "dive in movie" and campfire smores. We have not tried the resturants because we have always had our kids with us and we don't care to take them to a 5 star restaurant. The coffee house is nice and always has tasty treats. I will say, the reason they got 4 stars, and not 5 is the fact that they moved the boat launch so far away
(to add the beach area) and there is no longer free boat dock usage. When we purchased the timeshare that was a selling point, as my husband is a fisherman, and now they have changed that feature.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlyseTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello AlyseTaylor,

Thank you for sharing your love for the Big Cedar property. Your feedback as a Bluegreen owner is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms and on-site amenities and activities. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Manager Keith says its alright to drag your coolers and furniture out on the front walk and party all night. It's also okay to let your pre teenage boys have a run of the resort. They come back at 1130 at night and stay up for 2 more hours playing music and screaming. Security does nothing about it. Tough when you have young kids and you happen to be sleeping on the floor underneath them.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wastedcash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello wastedcash2,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Bluegreen Wilderness Club at Big Cedar. We regret to learn of the noise issues you experienced during your stay. Our goal is to share happiness with all or our guests. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have always loved Big Cedar Resort. It's one of the few places I would consider plunking down a few big bills per night for. I've stayed there four times over the years. For the price, I may be over it. Construction everywhere, peaceful, it is not. The charm is just not coming through any longer. Food is unreasonable,15.00 cheeseburgers, the same for breakfast. It's not convenient to leave for a meal, but be prepared to spend over 20.00 per person for breakfast and lunch. Many, if not most meals offered do not appeal to children or non-foodies. Dinner is going to run at least 50.00 per person, including a drink and perhaps dessert. My son's used to just love the pool art Devil's Pool, but said it was just disgusting last weekend. The room was nice and our private balcony was wonderful. Believe reviews that say the walls are paper thin, that is true. Bring earplugs and a sound machine. Buffalo were skating above us, I'm certain of it. The landscaping though, is still amazing. The attention to special details is wonderful, but you've got to update occasionally, especially the room appointments. Going back to the area next month, researching other options.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms have a great view, but few private balconies. The wilderness side has private balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello Liz M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your love for Big Cedar. We regret to learn your recent experience did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your bringing your concerns to our attention and would like to follow up with you at your earliest convenience. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Your comments will help to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Big Cedar Wilderness Club. The location of the resort is second to none. It is nestled on the shores of Table Rock Lake. Our two bedroom until had a lovely view of the valley. Paved trails abound. The resort has multiple pools, several with infinity views. Our unit was what I have come to expect from Blue Green in a two bedroom unit. It isn't extremely fancy, but it is comfortable and well equipped. Afternoon visits from the "Cookie Lady" were a fun surprise. We appreciated the Blue Green commitment to recycling at this resort. There is so much to do here. I cannot imagine any family member getting "bored." We will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello Melanie E,

Thank you for staying at Bluegreen Wilderness Club at Big Cedar. We are happy our location was ideal and that our condo-style accommodations featured a lovely view of the valley. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I had purchased a sampler from Bluegreen last September, and this was our first trip using the points we had purchased. We had a great experience at the Wilderness Club at Big Cedar. We enjoyed every aspect of the resort, except most, if not all, amenities were closed due to us going in January. We weren't able to make use of the lazy river, BBQ grills, outdoor pools, etc., but it was nice knowing that they were there had we gone in a warmer time of year. The room was great, it was basically a one bedroom apartment, fully furnished, and a great view from the balcony. The staff were all very helpful and kind. The only issue we had during our long weekend stay was that we could hear the people above us walking around, which seems like a pretty common complaint, but other than that, it was a great resort and it's just a stones throw down the road from St. Louis. Our experience was so good that we are now full time Bluegreen owners!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello Nate D,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to review your first trip as a Bluegreen owner. We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of the resort. We are happy you found our accommodations great and our staff friendly and helpful. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to welcome you back during the warmer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We love staying at the wilderness club at big cedar lodge and always have a positive experience. The cabins are awesome, very rustic feeling yet elegant. The apartments don't have quite the same special feel yet they are also very nice. The staff is always super friendly and helpful. Very comfortable beds. My only big complaint is the wifi is TERRIBLE. I'm constantly kicked off on my iPhone and to try and stream a tv show takes hours. I would recommend they improve their wifi, and then I'd give a 5 star review.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Annahalliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hello Annahalliwell,

We are thrilled you love staying at Bluegreen Wilderness Club at Big Cedar and always have a positive experience. We appreciate your compliments regarding the accommodations and the staff. Thank you for your recommendations for improvement for future stays. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom lodge. Which was a one bedroom with a full kitchen and living area connected to another much smaller one bedroom unit. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. My complaint was how much I could hear the people above me. It sounded like a herd of cattle at times. I have never heard so much noise above me, not even in a hotel room. My kids looked forward to the cookies that were brought to our room every evening. The shuttle service was very fast. You call and they are there in minutes. The drivers were knowledgeable. The indoor pool was fun for the kids and a good size. The bathrooms near the pool were always very clean and warm. The fitness room was small, but the equipment was newer and in good condition. The trails were fun to walk and run. The lake was beautiful and we rented a brand new, 2014 pontoon boat. Overall the resort was a perfect vacation for our family. I would never stay in the lodge again because of how noisy it was.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinkfrogtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hello pinkfrogtoes,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Bluegreen Wilderness Club at Big Cedar. We are delighted you found the resort beautiful and enjoyed the accommodations and on-site amenities. We are happy it was the perfect vacation for your family. However, we regret to learn of the noise issue you experienced. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
1.4 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
6.6 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
5.7 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#21 of 133 in Branson
882 reviews
7.6 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#35 of 133 in Branson
1,086 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar

Address: 1285 Estate Dr, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4311
Region: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Price Range: £86 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Wilderness Club Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Wilderness Hotel
Big Cedar Wilderness Ridgedale
Big Cedar Wilderness Club Ridgedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing