We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Family Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We spent almost a week with our daughter and her 8 year old twins. We rented a two bedroom, two bathroom modern cabin with kitchen, W/D, etc. It was great and reasonably priced! I would not buy a time share but renting one from owner is great.

They share all facilities with Big Cedar Lodge so there are multiple pools including Lazy River, lots off children's activities (very family friendly) but sign up before arrival because things like pony rides, kids' fishing fill up fast.

Food service is OK but could use some improvement. The selection is all right but service was very slow even though restaurant at Devil's Pool was not even full. Maybe temporary because we never experienced this when staying at Big Cedar.

Very responsive staff. If you ask for anything such as towel exchange, kitchen supplies, etc it comes within 15 minutes followed by a phone call to see if it arrived as requested.

One smal drawback was I suspect cleaning staff left door open when cleaning cabin before arrival because there were a lot of flys in cabin (plus 2 fly sweaters) when we got in. However, the cabin was immaculate, modern and well supplied.

We would definitely return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Phillip P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback and kind remarks. We are thrilled to hear about your great family vacation experience. We are happy that our staff helped make your stay memorable. We are so glad to learn that you were impressed with your condo-style accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    70
    23
    21
    13
See reviews for
194
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MIssouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Purchased a timeshare rental from eBay for this stay. We stayed in Phoenix Lodge, 2300, top floor. All in all, both the condo and resort were beautiful. Noise was a slight issue. Balcony had no privacy. Lake views from our location were pretty much non-existent. Cleanliness was top notch. Better communication is needed regarding resort activities. For the cost, I expected a bit more. If you want the details, read on.

This resort apparently has true 2 bedroom condos as well as 2 bedroom lockoffs. Clarify what you are getting. We requested and were granted an upper floor but … our rooms were right near the elevator and stairs, the noise from that was minimal. More annoying was that I could easily hear people on the balcony below us from inside our room with the doors closed; and they were just talking in a normal tone. There was no privacy on the balcony. Look to your left 6 feet and you could reach out and touch the neighbors, but not all lodges are like that. Our lodge sat somewhat perpendicular to the main channel of the lake, so there really wasn’t much of a lake view unless you hung over the edge of the balcony and craned your neck to the right. The condo was very dark. In the lock off the TV was at such an angle to the bed there was no way you could pull it out and see it comfortably from the bed, though it was ok on the couch. The condo was beautiful and nicely appointed but the living room furniture was uncomfortable.

Though The Wilderness Club can partake in all activities at Big Cedar, we were just too far removed (the resort is HUGE) to realize all that was going on (bingo, smores roast, etc.). Better communication needed in this regard. They used to have horseback riding on site, but that now has moved to Dogwood Canyon. The slide at the lazy river was closed for renovations. Beautiful and plentiful walking trials.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIssouriMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello MIssouriMember,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback. We are delighted that you found the resort beautiful and our condo-style accommodations perfect. We are sorry to hear about the noise. We would like to further discuss the noise issue and other concerns. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at info@bluegreenvacations.com. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This year we decided we wanted a relaxing vacation instead of the hustle and bustle until you were completely worn down. Big Cedar delivered with views of the Table Rock Lake to the relaxing pools. We stayed in a 1 bedroom at the lodge and we loved the decor of the room. We had plenty of room for the 4 of us. My 16 year old loved being able to call the shuttle anytime he wanted and go anywhere he wanted. The grounds on Big Cedar are magnificent and you have many choices of pools. My husband and I really enjoyed going to the Devils Pool in the evening and having a drink. Our waitress Pam at the Devils Pool was the best waitress we had at Big Cedar. Honestly, she was the best waitress we had on our whole vacation. She is a hard worker. She will go out of her way to make sure you are happy. We had such a wonderful time! I wish we would have came here years ago. It is a hidden gem in the Ozarks. If you are thinking about booking your vacation here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maddie1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Maddie1207,

It would be an honor to welcome you back. We truly appreciate your kind words. We are happy to hear that you were impressed by our friendly staff, amenities, and complimentary services such as our shuttle service. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time. We hope that all of you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Your family will love this! We parked our vehicle in front of our unit and then never left the property until it was time to check-out. We stayed in the Indian Creek building and it was wonderful to have a private pool area just for that building. We enjoyed the free canoes, kayaks and mini-golf. The Lazy River was our favorite pool area but we were disappointed that the water slide was under renovations in the middle of JUNE! We will be back!

Room Tip: it's worth it to stay in the Indian Creek units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Beth B,

We are delighted to hear about you and your family's positive experience at Bluegreen Wilderness Club at Big Cedar. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy the water slide due to the renovation. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, clean, great time at falls pools, lazy river, indoor pool, kayaking and golfing. Friendly & helpful staff. Loved being treated to homemade cookies nightly, shuttled from place to place. Great arcade fir the kids. LOVED OUR STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Jacqueline G,

We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us Bluegreen Wilderness Club at Big Cedar. We are pleased our staff treated you to yummy homemade cookies and a smile, which made your vacation memorable. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The staff, the room, the grounds, the view, the quiet morning looking out at the mountains in the early morning mist...this was by far the most Thomas Kinkaid experience my husband and I have ever had...well worth the trip and well worth going thru the time share sales pitch...we did not purchase ..however, will be back for vacation as it could not be beat!! Plenty to do and plenty to see...awesome!!

Room Tip: room 223 in the 3rd bldg in the Wilderness Lodge over looks the pool and hot tub dead center...awes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marybeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello mary beth w,

We are thrilled that your stay Bluegreen Wilderness Club at Big Cedar was so memorable for you and your husband. We are glad you enjoyed the quiet mornings and the beautiful scenery. We are grateful for your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affton, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just got home after spending 4 days at Big Cedar. It is summer so we expected lots of kids. But...the resort was overrun by unattended children. The pools are fabulous but 10 year old boys seemed to be in abundance. There is no lifeguard or any employees at the pool located at the condos of Wilderness club. Guess the parents were all sunning in the lawn chairs and not paying any attention to their kids. They were wild all day and climbing up the rocks of the waterfalls, despite signs warning against it. The lazy river was crazy, also. With kids fighting with their inner tubes and going backwards, it really took the joy out of the experience. I wondered if it was due to the fact that they are rich kids, with no manners or rules. Just a shame that they ruin the experience for all the hard working people who save up money for a vacation. And end up leaving the pool rather than be hit in the end by flying footballs.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and stairs. Noisey kids and drunk, noisey neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Rosemary G,

Thank you for staying with us at Big Cedar. We appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts. Our goal is to make this beautiful resort a home away from home. We will take your comments into consideration. Thank you so much for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
1.4 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
6.6 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
7.6 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#25 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
5.0 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Paradise Point, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar

Property: The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar
Address: 1285 Estate Dr, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4311
Region: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Wilderness Club Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Wilderness Hotel
Big Cedar Wilderness Ridgedale
Big Cedar Wilderness Club Ridgedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing