We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Boxcar!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katy Trail Bed & Bikefest B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love the Boxcar!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the Katy Boxcar on Sunday, April 29, 2012. We had seen it many times from the Katy trail and finally decided to try it out. We arrived a little later than we had expected due to a serious accident on Highway 70. It was nice that we had received the key code by email and could check in anytime after 4:00. Parking was right in front of the boxcar, so we didn't have far to carry our things. We also loved the fact that there was a shed where we could lock our bikes safely and out of the weather.

As soon as we had unpacked, we were able to get right on the Katy trail and ride to our favorite park bench to watch the sunset over the river. The Katy Boxcar is just steps from the Katy trail, so we were able to stay out until dark. The boxcar has a microwave so we were able to heat up a couple of frozen dinners. It also had a small refrigerator and coffee maker, which were nice features.

Storms passed through that evening, but the boxcar is very well insulated and we didn't really hear the rain. We would have liked to sit out on the porch, but the rain kept us inside. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We didn't want to get rained on the next morning by going to the other house for breakfast, so we just skipped it. It would have been nice if the breakfast items had been there in the boxcar, but it wasn't a big deal to us

My only complaint (and it's a small one) is that I thought the air freshener was a bit too strong. Whenever I woke up through the night it was a little annoying, but perhaps I just have a sensitive nose. When we stay again, I'll just unplug it before going to bed.

All in all, the Boxcar far exceeded our expectations. We plan to come back several more times this year and will tell everyone how nice it was. We love the Rocheport area, the Katy trail, and now the Katy Boxcar!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyKittyCache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our second stay with them. We stayed in the Boxcar. My grandson loved this stay. We were with another couple and their nieces and we were all very impressed. What you did to the Boxcar to make it a place to spend the night is fabulous. It was very comfy, spacious and the yard was great for our 3 year old grandson to run off his energy after being cooped up in a bike trailer.
Great for families and a playground is just across the road. We all also got a laugh at the child's ring on the toilet. To me that is a step above to accommodate for families. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwoman517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettDufur, Owner at Katy Trail Bed & Bikefest B&B, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Katy Boxcar! That is a super fun space, and it is certainly enjoyed by all ages. Nothing better than seeing a little guy tearing around that big yard, swinging in the tire swing or having fun on the hammock! See you back in Rocheport soon. Many thanks for the nice review of Rocheport's Katy Trail Bed & Breakfast. And thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeland Park, KS, a KC suburb
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Carriage House, and had a great stay. The Carriage House is essentially one big room w/ plenty of space, with it's own bathroom walled off in one corner. The beds were really comfortable, and everything (our room and the main house) was spotless. The large deck just outside the door provides a great view where you can sit, wake up, drink your coffee, and enjoy the bikers and hikers and they go by. If you want lodging close to the trail, it doesn't get any closer than this! The owners provide plenty of printed info in the room regarding local restaurants and attractions, and are just a call away for any other questions. And, traveling either direction on the trail from here is a great choice- very scenic. I will be making my reservation soon for next October- so we can look forward to staying in the Boxcar next time!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is nice and private, the Boxcar looks like a fun adventure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This is such a quaint & convenient stopping point right along the Katy Trail in Rocheport! Very clean, comfortable, and well stocked. Key-entry access was very convenient, and secure storage for bikes. Very accessible to downtown Rocheport, as well as to Les Bourgois Winery.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is a wonderful B&B, although not typical. The owners live a block away, so you have plenty of privacy here. The B&B house is clean, modern, beautifully furnished and decorated.

We stayed in the Katy View room which has a shared bath just outside the room. Our room was quiet, lovely and comfortable. The large bathroom had a shower (no tub) and on one side there is a newer washer and dryer. (This laundry location might present a problem if the house was full, but we had only one housemate, so no issue.)

The kitchen is modern and well-stocked with dishes, utensils, etc. Continental breakfast is self-serve, with enough choices - cereals, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, etc. The cozy living room and dining area also has books and board games. Each room has a TV.

If you are riding the Katy Trail this is a perfect choice - it's right next to the trail. There is a secure, locked building in which to store bicycles (entry is by a key code). The town is small and quiet. The only problem is that there are only 3 places to eat and all are closed on Monday and Tuesday. The B&B owners keep the freezer stocked with small pizzas because of this ($5 per pizza).

Our only complaints are the charge for breakfast juice (juice should be included as this is supposed to be a B&B). The closed restaurants are an inconvenience - one would think they could alternate days off.

Room Tip: The large upstairs room with en suite bathroom has bathroom facilities that are rather open to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storkonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katytrailbb, Owner at Katy Trail Bed & Bikefest B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Hi there! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Katy Trail B&B. I apologize for the confusion with the juice. Juice is actually complimentary, soda and pizza are not. If you'd like us to refund any money spent on juice we'd be more than happy to. We hope you come and stay with us again sometime in the near future! ~Tawnee & Brett Dufur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just an ideal place if you want a peaceful stop along the Katy Trail. It's AMAZING in the fall. Plenty of peace and quiet. The owners are really nice and it's just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkcaump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying a couple of nights here with a large group of friends. To be honest, it was a large enough group that we occupied all but one building, with enough kids to even drive even their parents crazy. The extremely gracious owners, Brett and Tawnee Dufur, took it all in stride, however, as they seem to be prepared for anything. Anyone need a snack? Their are several, healthy options available at all times. Bored? Not likely, as there are way too many things to do in a month, let alone on a weekend. Whether you want to explore the area on your own, or spend a day with Brett (recommended) guiding you along the trail, the river, or the woods, you will never be short of activities. This being said, you don't have to do anything... at all... you could literally wake up, eat breakfast, and go sit on a bench by the river for as long as you wanted. However you would like to spend your weekend, your decision to stay here will do nothing but enhance your enjoyment. Do yourself a favor and book this spot for your next getaway.

Room Tip: There are several to choose from, from a room in the main house, to a house away from the group, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocheport
9.7 mi away
Hotel Frederick
Hotel Frederick
#1 of 7 in Boonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Boonville
Days Inn Boonville
#5 of 7 in Boonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
10.0 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Boonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#9 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katy Trail Bed & Bikefest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy Trail Bed & Bikefest B&B

Property: Katy Trail Bed & Bikefest B&B
Address: 101 Lewis St, Rocheport, MO 65279-9340
Region: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocheport's Katy Trail Bed & Breakfast is a great getaway located right on the Katy Trail State Park in Rocheport. Enjoy a hot tub, self-check in and a hearty continental breakfast - our spacious grounds and low rates offer a great getaway for couples, families and bikers. We look forward to meeting you on your Katy Trail adventure! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing