We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B for a quiet getaway with the one you love”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amber House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was my first trip to a B&B and my boyfriend and I were not disappointed. It has a charm of an older home but surprisingly new construction with nice amenities. The room was great, and the bathroom was updated, spacious, and clean. We stayed in the Sapphire room with a two person bathtub, plus a walk-in shower. Mary and her husband were great hosts and Mary is an OUTSTANDING cook! Mary had warm cookies waiting for us after dinner and a fridge stocked full of water and soft drinks anytime we wanted.

While we were in town we biked the Katy Trail, which is just down the road from the B&B. We also ate at Abigal's (fantastic), had cheese and wine at the A-Frame, and a nice romantic dinner at the winery.

I recommend Rocheport and the Amber House for a great quiet getaway with the one you love. We will definitely go back and recommend the Amber House to others!

Room Tip: Only four rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KcMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary. Amber house is a beautiful and charming place to stay. It was very clean and Mary is an outstanding chef! We biked the Katy Trail and just enjoyed the small town of Rocheport. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Topaz room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinScheiderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

And we were not disappointed! We came for the 4th of July weekend events with the intent of enjoying the peace and tranquility of the Amber House, attending the planned events, and unwinding & enjoying the slower pace of delightful Rocheport.

We stayed in the lovely Sapphire Room. Great ambiance, great accomodations...and the bath was absolutely wonderful!! Plenty of room for the two of us! A flury of planned events with other local businesses and B&Bs - a tasty wine & food pairing and winery tour at LesBourgeois Winery, fantanstic tour to Warm Springs Ranch, scrumptious B&B group dinner and fireworks along the Missouri River bluffs - proved to be great fun.

We took in some of the local flair by renting bikes and biking along the Katy Trail. With all the local flooding, we were still able to travel southeast along the trail - sunny in spots, but some very nice shaded areas to ride. Dinner at Abigail's in downtown Rocheport was a must, followed up with ice cream and entertainment at the General Store.

Both of our trips to the Amber House have been unique. Different times of the year provided different activities to enjoy. But mostly we loved the hospitality and developing friendship with our hosts Mary and Steve - you guys are the best! Mary cooks like no other - the breakfasts and recipes are to die for !! Steve compliments her in all ways about the kitchen & house. Their guests were great folks as well !

Can't say enough good....we are thinking another trip is in our future. Perhaps a Culinary Getaway !?! Thank you for a very wonderful, restful and memorable weekend. We hope to see you and Rocheport again soon!!

Sally & Tom

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyOFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Amber House on recommendation from some friends. We were not disappointed. The room was fabulous, the hosts gracious and the food was excellent! We will return!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jen06162007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband and I were given a night at Amber House as a gift from our children. We thought it looked very nice when we looked at it online, but it really exceeded our expectations. It was the nicest bed and breakfast we had ever stayed at. The house is wonderful, the hosts friendly, the bed comfortable and the food exemplary! We loved it and will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

If you are looking for the best B & B experience possible...look no farther! My wife and I have been to Amber House several times and the experience has been excellent each time. When you see the quality, experience the caring of the inn owners and are treated to the best breakfast, you'll know you made the right choice. Mary and Steve have spared no expense to provide their guests with the ultimate experience. Rocheport provides many unique shopping opportunities and is located close to Columbia, MO for additional activities. We give Amber House our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschirme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I planned a team-building retreat for my colleagues traveling in from St. Louis and I only have the best things to say about our stay at the Amber House. The Amber House is impeccable in every way. It is beautifully designed with upscale amenities. Yet it is still very charming and the owners are warm and welcoming, only adding to the overal experience. All of my colleagues loved it too. They too noted the exceptional quality of the Amber House and enjoyed the Rocheport experience!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maydayplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 705 3rd St, Post Office Box 57, Rocheport, MO 65279-9039
Region: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range: £131 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber House is a luxurious, year-round, full service bed and breakfast in beautiful Rocheport, Missouri. Situated on the famous MKT Trail, we are happy to welcome cyclists to rest and rejuvenate with us. Visitors come to enjoy Les Bourgeois Winery or to browse the shops and galleries of Rocheport. With four well-appointed guest suites, a state of the art kitchen, formal dining room, and wraparound veranda, the house exemplifies comfort and good taste. The Amber House is the perfect space to accommodate your next gathering (e.G., Holiday Parties, Girls Weekend, Receptions of all types, business meetings and more). We prepare and serve a, multi-course breakfast each morning with guests' preferences in mind. Using locally sourced foods whenever possible, we take pride in supporting Missouri's farmers. Farm fresh eggs, Crop Circle Farms, Goatsbeard Goat cheeses, and Patchwork Family Farms pork are a few examples of the offerings from The Amber House kitchen. We also offer lunch and will skillfully prepare a multi -course dinner served in our relaxed, yet formal dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing