We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Garden House B & B Personal Opinion” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Mount
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Rocky Mount B&B and Inns
Saint Charles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Garden House B & B Personal Opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband I stayed 3 nights at this inn. Lil was pleasent enough the first couple of days, but I did not like not having a key to my room. I understand the people in the Ozarks are trusting, but they do not know who the other renters are.
On our third day of our stay, we came back exhausted from jet skiing and took a nap. About an hour into my nap, one of the renters had a reunion which was loud with dishes, pots, pans, and furniture banging and waking us up, not to forget the loud voices and strangers (not renters) on our private balcony, which also came off of the kitchen so our breakfast could be brought to us.
The hot water stopped working two times the first two days and on the third day, Lil told my husband to be quiet when using the sliding door (renters down stairs complained). On the last day, I was told to turn the hot water off because the same renters were trying to take shower, then, suddenly a coffee stained copy of the room rules and regulations appeared in the room. (Recap, my rent $60 more than their rent, per night)
We paid almost $800 to stay at this place and felt uncomfortable with the demeanor of Lil the last couple of days of our stay. If there are rules and regulation, they should be posted before a person reserves a room. Especially for this kind of money.
We never complained and for the breakfasts Lil made, we did tip her at the end. As for as staying there again--never. This was suppose to be a "love trip" for our 34th wedding anniversary. This was ask when reserving, but was never recognized by anyone there. This was our first B&B and hopefully our next will be with another place who respects us as individuals and lays out the rules and regulations before reserving.

Room Tip: Make sure the hot tubs in the rooms are not used after 10pm and before 11am. Also, know the rules a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rfinch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Central Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I traveled to Lake of the Ozarks to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed at the Garden House. Having never been in a B&B, we weren't sure what to expect. However, Lill was FABULOUS and our stay was incredible. The place is very clean, new (not some historical old place), and Lill's cooking is fantastic! If you are looking to slow down and relax, this is the place to go. It's a little hard to find the first time, but well worth the trip. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentzville, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I visited this wonderful place for our last weekend alone prior to our little princess arriving. First, the view was spectacular. Not sure it could have been any better given the time of year (early March). The B&B was immaculate from the time you stepped in the door - not a spec of dirt anywhere. Lil and husband were great hosts and breakfast cooks. The breakfast spread was unbelievable. We would definitely recommend this to all and will return some day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a weekend getaway to the Ozarks. This was a last minute trip and weren't sure what to expect. From the moment you walk thru the door it's an instant feeling of complete peace. The house is modern,immaculate and beautiful. The views are incredible, we actually set our alarm so that we could watch the sunrise from our balcony. Breakfast was amazing both days!! I can go on an on forever about the house, but if you need some R&R this is definitely the B&B for you. I have told everyone I know about it and will be planning a girl's weekend soon and staying here. This place is in a class of it's own, absolutely beautiful!!

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon this past August. Lil was a wonderful hostess. The food was fantastic. We had our own private deck and a delicious breakfast was served every morning. It was such a peaceful place and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is the place to be for any getaway. It is romantic, relaxing, and all the above. I recommend this to everyone that need some u time. Beautiful scenery. definatly returning for my anniversary next year.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manza23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Since we are in our late 60's, this 5th anniversary was special. The Garden House and Lillian exceeded our expectation! We will be back.

Room Tip: The Orchid room is devine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Mount
16.7 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
7.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Osage Beach
Days Inn Osage Beach
#4 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Garden House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Haney Rd, Rocky Mount, MO 65072-3308
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premiere Bed & Breakfast at Lake of the Ozarks. Where Romance Blossoms! The finer things in life await you and your loved one at The Garden House Bed & Breakfast. Your accommodations will surpass your expectations from the finest linens and china to the gourmet food and fantastic views of Lake Ozark. We offer massages, and boat rides available to some of the best restaurants the lake has to offer, from casual to fine dining. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing