We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel - but staff makes up for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Rolla
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Older Hotel - but staff makes up for it!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were stuck having to get off the highway during road closures after New Years. Searching the internet for hotels in Rolla - the exit before the shutdown, we were limited due to traveling with our small toy poodle.
I called he hotel and spoke to Angelo. He could not have been more helpful. He was concerned that we might encounter a shut down prior to reaching Rolla and gave us suggestions should we not make it. We made it! Angelo made us feel very welcome out of the cold! He was busy all night helping all the travelers with challenging routes ahead of them. If they are smart, they should have Angelo train all future hires for the chain. He was top notch!
Thankfully, the hotel has a hearty cocktail hour buffet, as none of us wanted to go anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    75
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
79
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this hotel about 4 weeks out and had a decent rate. We stayed on the night of Christmas eve as we needed to split up our trip.

As you've probably read, this is a 2 story hotel, no elevator. So for convenience, we paid the few dollars extra to secure a first floor room with king bed.

The room worked for us and our 2 dogs just fine. Having first floor helped us in and out with the pets and gear. And, since we traveled with a car-load of Christmas gifts, we had a lot to bring into the room out of the car....

It was for the most part quiet, I did hear sirens once or twice from the highway, assuming as the hospital is not too far away.

Yes, décor is older, however, it is sturdy furniture that doesn't need replacing unless they want a contemporary feel. For our needs, it was no concern. The bathroom area worked for us, and at this location, they put the automatic dispenser for shampoo/shower gel, etc was under the shower head, instead of the side of the shower. (We encountered that at a previous hotel and kept hitting our arms!) The shower head may have been a "tad" low, but was workable.

The only thing I'd change is for the convenience of first floor travelers, have a ramp at the middle section entry to the building. We parked near that entrance, but to wheel the luggage cart had to drag it back up toward the lobby entry areas.

Food - was just fine for breakfast. Nothing fancy. Husband loves the ham and cheese they provide to top the eggs. Biscuits were good and we enjoyed the hot chocolate to set us on the road nice and warm!!

We would stay here again if needed. It is a clean hotel that has decent price and does not charge extra for your pets!

Room Tip: For convenience, get a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKJACKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here after comparing the Hampton Inn across the road and finding this was almost half the price. We had special pricing for the holiday weekend. As mentioned in other reviews, it is an older hotel. I really disliked how the room was set up. You walk into the room and the sink from the bathroom is right next to the door with the bathroom being very tiny and no fan. It reminded me of a Super 8 or Motel 6. The furniture looked old - we had a rust colored chair for furniture that looked ancient.
However, the service was good and the workers are super friendly. Probably the nicest I've ever encountered at a hotel. Many guests had their small dogs with them and they didn't pose a problem. The food buffet was comparable to the other Drury Inns.
It's fine to stay for a night if your on the road but I probably wouldn't enjoy staying 3 nights in a row again. It it situated right next to a Steak n Shake and a Kohls is behind it FYI.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenhorn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Drury Inn,Rolla MO, is very clean. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The evening popcorn and soft drinks were a nice treat. Breakfast Buffet has great variety and is well stocked. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had stayed at this property years ago on a business trip. This was just a leisure travel stop. The location is very convenient just off the interstate. It's a 2-story hotel; no elevator but short flight of stairs. They have a nice cocktail hour early evening. Some hot and cold snacks and drinks. There is a pleasant seating area adjacent to the front desk. Room was clean and about average size for this level property. Staff was pleasant and price was competitive. There are restaurants nearby if you prefer. Rolla is a small town with the usual fare of eating establishments. We were just passing thru so our needs were minimal. I can confidently recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawyer9813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have been impressed with the Drury Inns during previous stays at other locations, so, we decided to try the one in Rolla and were quite pleased. Everything really is great at this location: friendly staff, attractive lobby, comfortable, clean and nicely decorated room, pet friendly, and we enjoyed the pop corn, "Kickback buffet" for supper so we didn't have to go "out and about" to find dinner--and a breakfast buffet with many hot options including biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes as well as the usual cold items. All in all it's a great place to stay and being all inclusive is an added bonus. We were pleased that, even with their being pet friendly, we neither saw, heard or smelled any trace of any pets. Pet owners here seem to be very conscientious about keeping their pets quiet and inconspicuous. That is much appreciated.

Room Tip: Request a 1st floor room if stairs are a problem as there is no elevator at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91paulkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here during University of Missouri S&T's homecoming. The hotel was pretty busy, but remained quiet. The hotel is back a little from the highway located behind the Steak & Shake restaurant.
We actually enjoyed the location as it was easy to get out of the lot an on our way quickly as we decided to skip the ball game and go on wine tasting (A must do in the area).
The room view, we were very lucky (sarcastic) to have a view of the parking lot for the hotel and Steak & Shake. I think rooms on the other side of the hotel has a scenic view of the rolling hills and trees. But what the heck. We weren't going to be living in our room.
The staff was very polite, nice and attentive. We arrived and were just at the end of the evening hot treats and drinks. However, they offered to get us a couple of drinks if we wanted. The hotel is extremely quiet. I don't normally sleep well the first night in a hotel but had no issues here.
The rooms were clean, the only issue I saw that didn't bother us was there were small cobwebs from the ceiling (maybe 1/8" or so) that would blow when the air/heater ran. But you had to be in the right light to see them. I mentioned to the staff when we checked out.
The hot breakfast and afternoon food was nice. The breakfast was above average while the afternoon treats were, so so. The evening drinks were a nice touch. We only had to purchase lunch the Saturday that we were there.
I compare this to the Holiday Inn Express in the area and are pretty comperable (HIE doesn't have the afternoon food or drinks) so might give the Drury a slight nod there. I think the rooms are newer and slightly cleaner at the HIE.
We would definitely stay here again. The price point is maybe slightly high, but the food and drinks may make up for some of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Executioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rolla
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rolla
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rolla
Hampton Inn Rolla
#1 of 13 in Rolla
475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Coachlight
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rolla
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Rolla
Comfort Suites Rolla
#5 of 13 in Rolla
220 reviews
8.4 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn Rolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Rolla

Property: Pear Tree Inn Rolla
Address: 2006 N Bishop Ave, Rolla, MO 65401-7800 (Formerly Drury Inn Rolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Rolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rolla
#2 Family Hotel in Rolla
#7 Business Hotel in Rolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn Rolla 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Pear Tree Inn Rolla can enjoy free hot breakfast, free evening snacks & cold beverages from 5:30-7 pm, free wifi in all rooms and throughout the hotel, free long distance calls and free popcorn and soda in the lobby daily. An outdoor swimming pool is available for guest use, along with an on-site fitness center. A microwave and refrigerator can be found in all rooms. Drury is family owned and operated so you can expect the same great value, friendly service and cleanliness at every location. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Rolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Rolla Hotel Rolla
Drury Rolla
Rolla Drury Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing