We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Close to Ameristar”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
South Beloit, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real Close to Ameristar”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We wanted to stay at Ameristar casino but $209.00 for a room was way more than we wanted to pay. This hotel is very close. If it was warm out we would have walked. The hotel does not offer shuttle service to the casino but did offer to get us a cab. We just drove over. The Casino also does not offer shuttle service. Hotel was very clean. Breakfast area was big and roomy and food was very good. They had bisquits and gravy, scrambled eggs, fruit, yogurt waffles, cereal etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzarkME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    64
    18
    6
    10
See reviews for
63
52
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have stayed at this Comfort Suites several times, but the other night just really topped it all. My daughter and her husband were with us and we had reservations at the Comfort and they had earned a free night at the Ameristar (located just a few blocks away) and had reservations there. We checked in and then went to the Ameristar for them. They went to check in and they had cancelled their reservation. It was 8:15 p.m. and the room had been guaranteed with a credit card and they said it was cancelled since they were not there by 8:00 p.m. There have been several instances when it has been past 8:00 when they checked in there. We beat it back to the Comfort and the gentleman at the front desk said yes, indeed they were booked full, but he would double check. Apparently a room had just opened up. We were so thankful! The service, employees and the breakfast are all so AWESOME here at the Comfort. We will alway make this our hotel when we are in the St. Louis area!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Is it a Ritz Carlton? Nope. But you definitely get what you pay for. I stay here several times a year for work. There are fancier hotels just around the corner, but they're MUCH more expensive.

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The "free" breakfast is a convenient way to start your day. They even change it up from day-to-day so you don't eat the same thing if you're here for a couple days.

It's conveniently located for good dining, some entertainment at the local casino, and not too far from the city. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and accommodating. I forgot my razor on the last trip and the hotel offered me complimentary shaving cream and razors.

This is a great place to stay if you want something more than a motel six but don't want to spend the money on a high end hotel. I will continue to stay here each time I travel on business.

Room Tip: All rooms are "suites" with a couch, table, refrigerator and microwave. You can't go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalstar, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Okie1976,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are glad that you appreciate our rotating hot breakfast menu. We strive to provide a fresh variety of options to appeal to our guests tastes and we are very thankful for your repeat business. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Wow what great service this hotel provides. The front desk staff is top notch. I travel with work very often and have a budget to stick to. This hotel is a great value for the money with updated rooms and TVs. This is my home away from home when I'm in the stl area!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscott918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We booked and paid early to get the best price on a room with kingsize bed and whirlpool tub on Dec. 23. When we found out firsthand how nice the room was and how pleasant the holidays can be in historic St. Charles, we decided to stay another night. Kenneth at the front desk helped us get "almost" the same rate for our second night, and we enjoyed our Christmas in St. Charles VERY much. A quiet motel with roomy hallways, a complete breakfast, and lots of pillows. No complaints. Hope to return!

Room Tip: Our room with a king size bed had a separate area with a couch, a large desk, and a chair with foots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikelady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Should I begin with the absolutely atrocious service? Or maybe the feces on the wall in the bathroom? The black mold taking over the bathroom sink overflow drain? The filth of indeterminate origin in the bathtub? The unusable shower curtain that did not fit the handicapped tub? The spiders dropping from the ceiling?

We booked in advance, with supposed "discounted" special event group rate. ($95 plus tax. Not sure about "discount") Upon check-in, we went to our room. Key cards worked great, and let us into a room in which OTHER GUESTS WERE ALREADY STAYING!

We returned to the desk, where the clerk seemed to have some sort of intellectual disability. She could not understand who was in "our" room, so called the room and asked, "May I ask who is in this room?" She proceeded, "Who checked you into this room? You are not in the right room!" She continued to tell them what room they were "supposed" to be in, and began to tell them they would have to move.

OMFG. As it turned out, we happened to be acquainted with the room's occupants, who were attending the same special event. One member of their party happened upon us at the desk, and we marveled together at the spectacle of this one-person cluster. (It takes tremendous talent to create a CF of one.)

The clerk continued to tell us that the other party would HAVE to move, because the hotel was sold out. Uh, pardon me, Einstein, is the other party's intended room not free? Woooooow.

A sheepish apology and a lot of hassle was all we got. No offer to make things better, since our room was prepaid. (I imagine attempting a bill adjustment might have cause a cerebral hemorrhage, based on her cognitive ability.)

We were stuck in a dirty handicapped room that must have been the most inconveniently "accessible" room ever designed. Anyone in a wheelchair would have had multiple difficulties in that room, like crawling under the table to reach the only electrical outlet for electronics or the iron included in the room. Anyone not in a wheelchair could look forward to playing limbo in an attempt to shower. Even at its highest setting, the showerhead was two inches too low for a person only 5'7".

If you'll be drinking yourself into oblivion at the convention center across the parking lot, this is a great choice of hotel for you. You won't endanger anyone by driving drunk, and you won't notice how bad this property is. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. Plenty of other choices nearby that could not be worse.

Room Tip: A good room would be one at any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalstar, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Kay M,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. I want to apologize for any issues that you encountered and assure you that your experience is definitely not the "norm" for our hotel. In regards to the customer service feedback that you provided, I want you to know that we have made a few key changes to our front desk staff. I am confident that the service in which you received was an isolated incident and, therefore, will not happen again. I want to confirm that our hotel does meet all of the current ADA requirements, therefore, our "Accessible" guests do not have a problem manuvering throughout our suites. Thank you again for your feedback, we would love to have you as our guest again in the future so you can experience our hotel at it's best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
233 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites on a business trip and am so happy I chose it. Comparable hotels across the river in St. Charles County were $40-$60 more per night (I paid $67 with taxes), and many would not have been suites. The hotel was very clean and fresh, and the room was very large. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was much better than I've come to expect from most comparable hotels - waffles, (good) eggs, and bacon! Business took me to West County, which was an easy drive in the morning. I would definitely come back and will be putting more of our company's people up here. Make sure you make it the short few blocks to the Historic downtown of St. Charles.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1400 S 5th St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-2445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all suites hotel. Renovation complete as of end of 2016. Free deluxe continental breakfast. Free wi-fi, free USA Today newspaper daily. Fresh baked cookies served Monday - Thursday. We allow pets with a fee of $15 per day per pet, upto 3 pets and only allowed on first floor and certain rooms on second floor. No pets allowed on third floor including the St.Charles Suite. We are in same parking lot of Heart of St.Charles Ballroom. We are in front of Ameristar Casino and close to Hollywood Casino. Close to Historic Downtown St.Charles. Across from Streets of St.Charles and across from the Bass Pro Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Charles
Comfort Suites Saint Charles
Saint Charles Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing