We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can see it, but we can't get there from here...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“I can see it, but we can't get there from here...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is very difficult to get to from the expressway, tho you can certainly see it from there. After many turn-arounds, we finally consulted our GPS and came in by "the back door." Friendly, helpful staff. The room had no reading/lounge chair. It was pretty much bare minimum. Breakfast was o.k., tho layout was poorly organized. Very slow elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 439janetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your stay. Your opinion is very important to us. We will use these comments to help us improve. We hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    184
    67
    33
    9
See reviews for
196
145
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Found listing in a coupon book. Reviews were great. Treated like we were @ 5 star hotel. Brand new furnishing and appointments. Wonderful indoor pool. Walls were thick- could not here anything outside the room. Nice quick breakfast setup. Near several restaurants. Quick access to downtown St. Louis.
Clerk Amanda was excellent. Gave tips @ which Metro station to head into town. When we decided to stay another night. She gave us a great price. Very helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank karyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it when our guests enjoy their stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burfordville, Mo., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

my experience with the house keeping and the breakfast was not very good, hope you have better luck than we did. The first room we were given had blood on the coverlet so we were moved to a room that had mold on the bottom of the shower curtain, and since that was the case we decided we would use the whirlpool tub in the room not knowing how it was cleaned and you had low water presure in the shower. The breakfast was not stocked very well although it had only been open for 20 mins. when we arrived, the waffel we made was good and the juice also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
On behalf of our entire staff I apologize for not meeting your expectations. We take great pride in trying to make each guest experience a great one and we obviously failed to do so in your instance. Good housekeeping and Maintenance are essential to the guest experience and we will use your comments to help us improve.
We value your business, and we hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that this is not typical of the service you receive at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
226 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this site while we were in town for the GeoWoodstock event in Frontier Park. We found the room to be affordable, comfortable, and clean. We used the pool several times - no complaints there. The location was easy walking distance to the Katy Trail, Frontier Park, restaurants, etc. The hot breakfast was typical & sufficient - but not outstanding. It was very crowded while we were there and the breakfast food selection was limited... The room included a microwave and small fridge. Ours contained 3 exploded soda cans - which they promptly cleaned while we were unloading bags. The wifi was free - slightly slow at times. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your good comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was wonderful and the staff was great, The manager Tom was very nice and so was everyone else. The night crew was not in the best mood but everyone has a bad night. Over all this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and congratulations on your family members graduation. We appreciate your comments and will use your comments to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, IL, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went for an overnight stay to tour St. Charles. With friends. The bed was great, the room was old and worn, but clean. The breakfast was okay for a hotel breakfast. Even though the hotel was by the highway and had a lot of kids in it, it was very quiet. We did not hear other guest during the night, which was a plus. There was no one knocking on the door in the early part of the morning when we were sleeping trying to get in to clean the room, this was a real plus. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the St. Charles area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrival: Plenty of parking. Staff friendly and courteous at check in. Room: We had a suite on the top floor. Very roomy, clean, comfortable, quite and appealing. Bathrooms clean and roomy. Bed very comfortable. Climate control very good. TV, Microwave, refer satisfactory. Didn't access internet. Breakfast: What you normally get at hotels that offer this type of menu. It was fair and well stocked. After all, it is a continental breakfast. Don't expect Granny's Kitchen. Hotel Grounds and Amenities. Hotel grounds well maintained. Area well lighted and feel safe walking around the area. Didn't use pool or office center. Departure: Staff courteous and friendly. Quick checkout. Overall a nice place to stay. Safe and walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
Address: 1425 S 5th St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-2435 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A St. Charles, Missouri hotel, the BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel is situated just five blocks from the historic district and is within walking distance of the First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site and the Foundry Art Centre. This St. Charles hotel is minutes from Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, Katy Trail State Park and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis. The Lambert-St Louis International Airport is only eight miles away. The hotel is also less than one mile away from the Saint Charles Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing