We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and clean rooms”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here on a family trip to St. Louis. The room was clean and comfortable. Love having the refrigerator in the room for snacks. The breakfast in the morning was a fairly typical hotel breakfast... nothing to write home about, but no complaints either. The only complaint I can come up with is that there were rarely enough towels in the pool area. But, given the fact that my daughter was ecstatic about the 12' deep pool, I can overlook the lack of towels. All the staff we encountered were happy and friendly and we never felt like we were being treated differently because we had booked on Hotwire.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you and your family enjoyed our. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    197
    75
    37
    12
See reviews for
219
155
27
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was on business trip. Not the easiest to find, hidden behind Denny's and Mobile. Very close to convention center. Many food choices within walking distance. Clean rooms and lobby. Above average free breakfast with eggs, bacon, waffles and more. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manof1god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope that you stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Used this hotel on return trip home. Hotel is nice to stay in, room clean as is the bathroom. Breakfast bar is good, no complaints. The hotel walls are on the thin side and could hear the next room when they used the shower or flushed the toilet but not a deal breaker. Would stay again when the come times to make a trip back to Kansas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We value your business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is clean and staff is friendly but it just isn't a very nice hotel. The breakfast is yuck and they ran out of many items with a sold out hotel. The toilet is very low to the ground; odd. Very fee TV channels which shouldn't matter unless you have children who want to watch anything besides Cartoon Network. The pillows are uncomfortable. No microwave in the rooms. The in room safe is an extra charge...why?!? The pool is fine but could use a paint job. I won't stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caremy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us. We are sorry we were unable to exceed your expectations but we will use your comments to help us improve. Unfortunately, our truck delivery was late and that is why our breakfast was not at its best. We hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are better than your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is another good hotel by Best Western. The rooms are comfortable and big. Breakfast is the typical fare offered by Best Western. I am partial to the waffles. This hotel also offered eggs, bacon, cereal's etc. There is a Texas Roadhouse across the parking lot and plenty of other options in historic St. Charles a short drive from the hotel. My biggest suggestion is to request a room on the opposite side of I 70. The West Bound Entrance Ramp was a bit noisy. Otherwise I give this hotel an excellent rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MichaelNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel was close to St Louis (by car) and easy access to local shops and outlets. Hotel had free parking, WiFi, breakfast, and usual mod cons. Rooms were a decent size but had a few issues with poor sound insulation between rooms. Places to eat nearby and the Bass Pro shop is worth a visit, especially for us foreigners to the US. Overall not bad.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Telemachus_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your opinion counts and we will use it to help us improve. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on location and previous experience with "BW PLUS" locations. The location is good, easy off and on the freeway, several eating options with a walk across the parking lot, including Texas Road House. While the halls looked dingy, the room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the AC worked beautifully. We were disappointed that there was no Hot Tub/Whirlpool, a normal feature at PLUS locations. The breakfast was good and plenty of the hot items, including bacon, & scrambled eggs in 2 varieties. We found the elevator full with a couple and their 2 good size dogs - we try to stay away from hotels that allow pets and had not noticed that when we booked. Based on that we will probably not stay at this location again - but that may be a plus for other travelers.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and found the waits for elevator to be long - there are only 2. So - either sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanalibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We value your opinion and we will use your comments to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 21 in Saint Charles
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
Address: 1425 S 5th St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-2435 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A St. Charles, Missouri hotel, the BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel is situated just five blocks from the historic district and is within walking distance of the First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site and the Foundry Art Centre. This St. Charles hotel is minutes from Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, Katy Trail State Park and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis. The Lambert-St Louis International Airport is only eight miles away. The hotel is also less than one mile away from the Saint Charles Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing