We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No air conditioning!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 St. Clair MO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 St. Clair MO
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Cape Girardeau
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No air conditioning!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Checked into this motel on Sat afternoon with my husband and 2 boys. We were going to attend a county fair with some friends. The room was not overly cool, so when we left for the fair, we left the thermostat on 62, hoping it would cool off. When we returned to our room at midnight, the air conditioner was still not blowing out cool air. Since I knew this would not be a quick fix (and since the hallway was warm anyway) we went to bed. We had to be up very early the next morning. Had a long, hot night in the room. At checkout, I reported this about the air conditioner and wanted a discount on the room. The attendant would not give me a discount, stating I should have reported this. I told her I was not reporting something at midnight. The air conditioner should be working properly. I called the 800 number for Super 8 on Monday and was given a reference number. So far, I have received only a 10 percent discount and the management telling me the air conditioner was working after we checked out! Small cramped room, awful pillows and beds, could hear all the people in the other rooms, but room was clean. We travel quite a bit on the weekends due to our boys' sport, but will not stay at this one again.

Room Tip: There is no pool at this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momomluv2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    76
    44
    14
    16
See reviews for
56
45
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

breakfast room nice,room was not so great it was smelly the stinky carpet and ac mold made one night a little too long would look elsewhere next time for sure, the girl at desk was very nice but it didnt make up for the poor stay best thing about it no bugs

Room Tip: i would go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29ratatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Clair hotels

Lawrenceville
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good hotel for the price. Very kind staff. Clean rooms and close to gas station and a great mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you've read my reviews, you know I travel a lot. I have a preferred brand, but sometimes I travel on a smaller budget--especially when going to a dog show. My older (12) son and I stayed here 3 nights in late May/Early June. On the first floor, the ceilings are low and the halls are dark. At first, my son was uncomfortable because he's a bit spoiled, but he's right--it's dark and dank. The beds were ok, though the pillows were terrible. The bathroom was old and the floor needed scrubbed to get the grout clean. Ultimately, the room was ok.

Rarely was anyone at the front desk when needed--but that's a management issue. My son went to get an iron, but they one they gave him was broken. I returned to the front desk, waited for someone to show up and got a different iron. When checking out, I again had to wait for someone to come to the front desk (this time he said he was folding linens--see, that's a management problem).

While they say the offer a free breakfast, it amounts to nearly nothing--waffles; don't count on it.

Halls are also noisy; apparently, they can hear people in the room as well because I just started answering the questions the people in the hallway were asking: "Are you goin' to eat?" The unknown guest asked. "No, I'm trying to sleep," I said. It worked, though--the halls did get quieter--and I was just two doors down from the front desk; I suppose there was no one at the front desk to recognize the problem, though.

Finally, upon reviewing the bill, I saw there was a charge not previously mentioned for the room safe--except the safe was locked shut. I told the guy about that problem with the safe, and he said they would've come and opened it for me. He did take those charges off, though--so watch for that sneaky charge.

I might stay here again because there just aren't that many choices when going to Purina Farms (maybe they know that), but only if I'm trying to save money and willing to put up with it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue30fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clair
0.3 mi away
Budget Lodging
Budget Lodging
#1 of 2 in Saint Clair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.9 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
14.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
12.1 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Six Flags St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St. Clair MO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St. Clair MO

Property: Super 8 St. Clair MO
Address: 1010 S Outer Rd, Saint Clair, MO 63077-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St. Clair MO 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 St. Clair MO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Saint Clair
Super Eight Saint Clair
Saint Clair Super Eight
Saint Clair Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing