We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pet-friendly”
Review of Budget Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Lodging
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My dog and I stayed at this family owned hotel on our way back to Texas. Staff was friendly and helpful. Fresh popped pop corn was offered to me upon check-in. The property is situated on a hill, so the view is nice, and recently the hotel installed a fenced dog-run, which my dog loved. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. I liked it so much that I plan to go again; next time for a weekend. I guess the only con was the limited breakfast, but all I cared about was the coffee, which was great. I also liked it that I got a personal email from the owner, thanking me for staying with them.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, they are very excited to meet him/her. Be aware that they have pet designated roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I visit St Clair, Mo. It is family owned, designed and built by the grandmother, handed down to her son and now operated by his son. While the hotel is old it has always been in the same family and is well maintained and very clean. All of the personnel are helpful and friendly. The rooms have flat screen tv's, refrigerators, free WIFI, and microwaves and are kept immaculate. There is a free buffet breakfast and in the lobby there are snacks and a popcorn machine with free popcorn available. It is located on I44 and Hwy 47 in St Clair which makes it a very convenient location for visiting St Clair and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great, quiet clean rooms..right on the Interstate. We have stayed here many times..and are always pleased. The breakfast is good. There's free popcorn, coffee, Tea in the lobby,. You can park right in front of your room, which is a plus for us. No restaurants walking distance..but the staff can direct to some local places. Gas station close by. Room rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Lots of things stand out in my mind as I consider Budget Lodging. Perhaps what stands out the most, though, is how much I felt like my patronage was appreciated, not only by the owner, who took the time to personally correspond with me via e-mail and also shake my hand as I was checking out, but also by every member of the staff. (I don't know if he's just a smart businessman or genuinely an appreciative guy; he's seemingly both.) Earning my money takes the majority of my time and energy on any given day, so when I decide to hand it over to a business, I expect them to appreciate what it cost me, above and beyond the mere dollar amount (just as I appreciate what they're providing me). I was happy to give my money to Budget Lodging! The price was fair, my family was treated with the utmost kindness and respect, and everything one generally expects from a hotel/motel was in place to a tee. (The pool area offers a great view of St. Clair's sunsets, too!) Overall, I was unusually impressed!

Room Tip: My wife and I have 5 kids so we stayed in the Family Suite. It met our needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We rented 4 rooms for our family. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable, and the staff friendly.

We had seven children in our group. They're favorite part of the hotel was the coco (with marshmallows) and popcorn. My favorite part was the price!

We will definitely stay again.








.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mniemiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Independently and family owned motel in St. Clair, Missouri, where there are not many lodging choices. I picked this place based on Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed there one night on our way home to Illinois. First of all, the staff here is very pleasant, and the lobby area attractive. They told us they had a terrible storm earlier in the evening, and all the phones were out. The owner told us he was trying to get the WIFI working. It didn't work for the rest of the evening, but I'm not faulting them for that. Therefore two things that really bothered me. The air conditioning in our room was extremely loud, and made kind of a wah-wah-wah noise off and on, ALL NIGHT LONG. I did not sleep that well because of it. Also, I really don't like the old fashioned bedspreads, that we know never get washed. We had two queen sized beds, and the blankets on both beds had holes in them. Not very attractive. The room was clean and spacious, microwave and fridge included. Breakfast was adequate. I would probably not stay here again because of the noise from the air conditioning. Also, I don't understand why remote functions dont work for the TVs anymore. This is the fourth hotel we've stayed in on this trip, where the sleep function on the remote didn't work, neither did the closed captioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwwtoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is an excellent pet friendly hotel. Not only is this hotel exceptionally clean inside and out, but it is extremely accommodating to our four-legged friends. It is a true treasure on I-44. It has all the amenities I look for - easy on and off interstate access, pool, fenced in dog exercise/relief area, complimentary breakfast, accompdating staff, in room mini fridge/freezer and microwave. In addition, it is in walking distance to a Subway. If in this area again, I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Txorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clair
0.2 mi away
Super 8 St. Clair MO
Super 8 St. Clair MO
#2 of 2 in Saint Clair
227 reviews
6.0 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
248 reviews
14.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
122 reviews
12.1 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
323 reviews
22.9 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodging

Address: 866 S Outer Rd, I-44 at Exit 240 & Hwy 47, Saint Clair, MO 63077-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Price Range: £69 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the scenic foothills of the Ozarks, Budget Lodging offers a refreshing dose of traditional Midwest hospitality with a family friendly atmosphere. All modern amenities are standard, with deluxe room types available including family suites, luxury jacuzzi suite, and a rustic cottage suite. We invite you to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Budget Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodging Hotel Saint Clair
Budget Lodging Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing