We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, comfortable room”
Review of Budget Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Lodging
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here while visiting my husband's parents, who live in St. Clair. Initially, I was turned off by the name of the hotel: any place named "budget" anything gives me pause. But this place is very nice. Even the lobby was beautiful and inviting.

We stayed in one of the pricier suites (we used this as a substitute honeymoon since we never went on one after we were married). The only complaint I have is a minor one. We stayed here over Thanksgiving, and when we arrived at the hotel after driving from Ohio, we were absolutely famished. Unfortunately, there were no restaurants open within any decent distance (even the McDonald's was closed!) because it was Thanksgiving day. So we snacked on what little trip food we had left and just dealt with it until the next morning. The breakfast left something to be desired, so we ate what looked appealing and went on our way.

The room was so comfortable--I'd say even more so than our bed at home! It had a living area and kitchen and was tastefully decorated. I wanted to invite people over for dinner or something! We definitely could have entertained. If we have the money, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherRMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

What budget hotel has hardwood floors (well, at least a nice pretend wood floors), leather recliner, large, bright and clean bathroom and beautiful bouquet of flowers on the sink counter? The Budget Lodging does! We were so impressed with this hotel and what it offered for a variety of travelers. Although we don't travel with our dog, this place was very pet-friendly, even providing a fenced-in run for guests' pets. We had Room 126, which was next to a concrete wall and tucked down a bit, making it very quiet.

Room Tip: Just mention to guest services that you want a quiet room and they will do everything in their power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IllinoisMusicMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Traveled from California to Wisconsin, by far the best surprise was this great place to stay. This is the 4th time we´ve done this and each time we are so pleased.

Billy & Gini
Palm Springs / Milwaukee

Room Tip: Try the suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed here 4 times now. Every time, it is consistent. The staff is wonderful, the owners are great. Food is consistent - biscuit and gravy, eggs, juice, bagels. Always good. Clean and in the process of refurbishing rooms. We stay here every time we show at Purina farms for dog shows. will not go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for lower level if you expect storms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love it. Nice and clean. This was my second stay in Budget Lodging and like first time everything was perfect. Lucky me, I was upgraded from family suite to cottage 263 for free. Room was so nice and clean.
Thank very much Budget Lodging for your hard work.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rimas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

With a name like Budget Lodging, I didn't expect the place to be done up as nicely as it was. The welcome at the registrations was friendly, the entry was inviting for the road weary travelers. The room was newly remodeled with wood flooring, fresh paint, neat appearance. Opening the door to the room we found a warm glow of light showing their expectation of our arrival with an open Bible highlighted with a passage in Proverbs welcoming the traveler. Walking around the area we noted the neat clean area with carful attention to presenting a welcoming area. For a motel right off the highway, the room was quite, clean, and a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We had a room on the South side and still the noise of the highway was not a problem. It was close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Happened on this motel by accident...so glad we did! The gentleman behind the desk was welcoming and friendly, and when we asked about a military discount, the first thing he did was thank my husband for his service...then gave us the discount. The room was spotless, the fridge and microwave were really handy to have, it was quiet, and breakfast the following morning was everything we needed. A particular joy was the bible in the room open to a "traveler's verse." If circumstances allow, we will stay here again. It was clear this place is run by people who care.
Jack & Karen S

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clair
0.2 mi away
Super 8 St. Clair MO
Super 8 St. Clair MO
#2 of 2 in Saint Clair
230 reviews
6 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
249 reviews
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
12.1 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
328 reviews
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Six Flags St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodging

Address: 866 S Outer Rd, I-44 at Exit 240 & Hwy 47, Saint Clair, MO 63077-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Price Range: £68 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the scenic foothills of the Ozarks, Budget Lodging offers a refreshing dose of traditional Midwest hospitality with a family friendly atmosphere. All modern amenities are standard, with deluxe room types available including family suites, luxury jacuzzi suite, and a rustic cottage suite. We invite you to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Budget Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodging Hotel Saint Clair
Budget Lodging Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing