We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, unique, affordable place to stay while driving across the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Budget Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Lodging
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
1 review
“Cozy, unique, affordable place to stay while driving across the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Love the family like atmosphere. Very clean, cozy and had a friendly staff. Tom was very welcoming at the front desk! Loved the jet-style bathtub in the room. Also good breakfast offered as well. Would definitely recommend:) A nice change from the standard hotel and the price is no different. Very affordable for a lodge-like feel:).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    70
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
73
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

This is a very nice hotel. The room was modern and clean. The front desk staffer I spoke with the evening we checked in was friendly, courteous and helpful. If we are ever in this part of Missouri again, we will be making a reservation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dishops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

The only thing budget about this place is the name. What a great place. Nice people, clean rooms and a great breakfast. The price is just right for this quiet place with many touches of class and extra's. You owe it to yourself to check it out if you are traveling on 44.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoRepose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Advertised as luxury hotel at budget price. Cost more than the Super 8 down the road. There was a Luxury suite that we did not see. Our room was clean, comfortable, 2 queen beds, Microwave, Fridge, Table with Chairs. Overlooked the outdoor pool. Wireless internet worked fine. Could hear noise of kids having fun and the highway until I turned on the fan in the room. Decorative touches that separate this hotel from the usual chains. Fake Flowers in the room. Fountain in the lobby. Other items that you would find in a middle class home more than in a Hotel chain. Bible was open on the desk with a proverb highlighted about having a good night's sleep. Breakfast was sufficient in variety and quality but nothing special. Waffles were reheat frozen not fresh made. Overall good experience. Would stay again and recommend for families.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedahetoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

We chose this motel based upon its location, price, and tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. It was very clean and tidy inside and out. The room was decorated in colors that may be slightly dated (seafoam green, pretty floral wallpaper around sink area), but the room was in great shape (no peeling wallpaper, no odd stains on the walls, etc.). The room was average size, but seemed larger as the second floor rooms had vaulted ceilings. There were lace curtains in the windows for privacy as well as a pretty little floral arrangement in each window. The family that runs this motel obviously takes pride in their motel.

The continental breakfast offered plenty of cold selections as well as biscuits and (hot) gravy. The breakfast area was roomy compared to many of the chain hotels that offer breakfast.

We will absolutely stay here if we need lodging west of St. Louis again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeekingValue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

We stopped at this motel as the weather was bad and we just wanted to get a good night sleep to continue our trip the next morning. We really lucked out by stopping at this motel. The charm of the lobby and the smiling and helpful staff made it worh the stop. Our room was a standard room but it was clean and comfortable and the lace curtains in the window added the home touch. The breakfast in the morning is good (juice, toast, bagels, cereal, donuts, coffee and numerous varities of tea).
The staff makes this place. They are the friendliest individuals I have encountered in motels. Also, you can't beat their rates. I would HIGHLY recommend this motel to all my friends and family.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2006

We stayed at this motel based upon the "exceptional" rating in the National Historic Route 66 Federation's Dining and Lodging Guide, and perhaps we had high expectations. It's really average. Our non-smoking room smelled smoky, the wireless Internet didn't work, and the breakfast was just average (not the deluxe Cont. breakfast mentioned in the guide). It was clean, safe and the staff was pleasant, but it wasn't what I expected.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clair
14.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
0.3 mi away
Super 8 St. Clair MO
Super 8 St. Clair MO
#2 of 2 in Saint Clair
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
6.0 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Washington Hotel
12.3 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodging

Property: Budget Lodging
Address: 866 S Outer Rd, I-44 at Exit 240 & Hwy 47, Saint Clair, MO 63077-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the scenic foothills of the Ozarks, Budget Lodging offers a refreshing dose of traditional Midwest hospitality with a family friendly atmosphere. All modern amenities are standard, with deluxe room types available including family suites, luxury jacuzzi suite, and a rustic cottage suite. We invite you to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budget Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodging Hotel Saint Clair
Budget Lodging Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing