We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. Joe is Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“St. Joe is Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you are in or near St. Joseph MO try and book a room here. It is a grand and historic experience with great comforts and amenities. The beds are comfy and the rooms well appointed.
The breakfast is hearty and delicious. It is located in a unique historic district that I was thrilled to explore.

Room Tip: They are all different so try and speak with them before hand and ask for their particular traits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
So happy to hear from visitors who have just discovered this fabulous city! My guests tell me again and again, "We'll be back!" Thanks for visiting, Paul, and for posting your TripAdvisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
178
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was the best B&B experience that we have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. And we have tried many B&B's in the past. Spectacular beautiful old mansion. Delightful owner/operator. Good breakfast at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Enjoy a conversation with Isobel. She is the delightful owner.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very pleasant accommodating service. Environment friendly.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
St. Joseph is surprising to many visitors - in fact, it is one of the best-kept secrets in the Midwest! Full of amazing historical features and gilded-age architecture, St. Joseph will amaze and delight you! And don't miss our gracious parkway system - it's stunning in autumn when the leaves change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is where you should stay. Period. Isobel is the best hostess, and truly cares about her property and the well being of the neighborhood and St. Joe. That kind of passion and dedication to her home and neighborhood transfers to her guests and quality of stay. The 1885 mansion takes you back in time, but all the modern amenities are right at your fingertips. You will not be disappointed in the heart of St. Joe.

Green Features: Isobel is a recycler. Yay!! She will also change out your towels if you request, but re-use your towels to save on water usage.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenwick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I'm always pleased to hear my guests mention the "Green Features" here at the Shakespeare Chateau. We recycle and compost, we practice energy efficiency, and make environmentally friendly choices whenever possible. We're proud to have attained the "Green Leaders" silver badge from TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickman, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I spent an evening at the Shakespeare Chateaux, in the Verona Suite, on our way to visit Jamesport. We made our reservations on very short notice and Isobel made sure that things were ready for us when we arrived. If you are looking to take in beautiful architecture, inviting (large) rooms and a grand breakfast, this is the place to visit. Isobel took the time to visit with us and answer our questions relating to this 1885 beauty, the carriage house and its property. My wife and I try to visit at least one bed and breakfast yearly and I will admit that this unique property is in a class of its own. We had a very comfortable stay and highly recommend to others.

Green Features: Towels, bedding and tips on electricity and water.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Whether you're just passing through or are visiting St. Joseph as a travel destination, the Shakespeare Chateau offers the very best in a historical setting: elegance, luxury, and comfort. We are proud to have earned a "Certificate of Excellence" from TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Isobel at the Shakespeare Chateau B&B was one of the most gracious hosts we have ever had on our RRR wine tours through out the Midwest. The three cousins (R R R) and their spouses have been on several wine trips throughout Iowa, Ne. and South Dakota but this one beats them all as far as B&B's. Her knowledge of the history of the house was outstanding and very very interesting. The accomodations were fit for Royalty to name the least. The breakfasts were exceptional. If you are just thinking about staying there, think no more and make your reservation now.

Room Tip: All the rooms were extra roomy, in other words, HUGE
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycles to the best of my knowledge. Bedding and towels were used environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
What a fun group of folks! These best friends and cousins travel regularly together, and thoroughly enjoyed their weekend visit to historic Hall Street, and their stay at the Shakespeare Chateau. They gathered in the parlor in the evenings for cards and dominoes, a glass of wine, and joyful enjoyment of each other's company. Please come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Shakespeare Chateau Bed and Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed not only the house with all its history, beautiful architecture, incredible woodwork and stately ambiance but also the owner, Isobel, who was extremely engaging and clearly enjoys her restoration work. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the Shakespeare Chateau experience was the highlight of the weekend. We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet room (which faces the front of the hotel) and enjoyed not only the furnishings but also the view!) You won't be disappointed - we highly recommend this beautiful castle!

Room Tip: Romeo and Juliet - A+!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
To celebrate his wife's 50th birthday, Reg treated her to a visit to historic Saint Joseph, Missouri. She loved everything - the dining, the history, the architecture, and especially the stay in the luxury suite at the Shakespeare Chateau. I hope they'll make it an annual birthday tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Shakespeare Chateaux in the Verona Suite. From the beginning, I knew my husband and I were in for a rare treat when the owner, Isobel, gave us an extensive tour of the home and a fabulous history lesson about the house and the town. We drank in her stories along with the eye-shattering beauty of the house. When we were left to our room, we were delighted by the comfortable furnishings that blended perfectly into the style and times of the house, clear evidence of an exceptional attention to detail. Later, after a dinner out, we opted to come back to the room instead of going out for an after dinner drink because we wanted to just be in the space. (I would highly recommend that you pack a bottle of wine if you stay here because you're going to want to settle in, too.) Despite a full house that night, it was quiet, and with independent temperature control, we were infinitely satisfied. In the morning, Isobel served up a treasure of a dish, a baked French toast that could rival an airy bread pudding. The main was rounded out with sides of sausage, fresh fruit, juice, and coffee/tea. With great reluctance, we peeled ourselves away at the end of our visit, carrying great hopes of a future return.

Room Tip: Romeo and Juliet or Verona Suites both make for a beautiful couple's getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
My mission at the Shakespeare Chateau in the Hall Street Historic District is to bring people here to enjoy the history and architecture, to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere, and to provide luxurious, upscale accommodations and dining. I am gratified to know that my guests enjoy their stay and the services I provide. Thank you, Heather, for visiting. I look forward to greeting you on your next visit to Saint Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#9 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#8 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Address: 809 Hall St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2139
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Shakespeare Chateau was built in 1885 by Nathan Ogden when St. Joseph Missouri was known as "The Queen of the River Cities." High atop a bluff looking down across the city toward the Missouri River, 809 Hall Street is one of several mansions in the Hall Street Historic District known locally as "Millionaires' Row." You'll enjoy meeting the friendly innkeeper, Isobel, as she takes you through the palatial interior. You'll marvel at 47 (yes, 47!) Original stained glass windows, carved cherrywood, mahogany, and walnut mantles, and of course, a bust of the Bard himself above the grand fireplace in the front foyer. But most of all, you'll enjoy our comfortable sleeping rooms, each one beautifully appointed with fabulous art and antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing