We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I feel like I’m becoming a bed and breakfast inn aficionado. We recently stayed at our third B&B in the past year – the Shakespeare Chateau in St. Joseph, Missouri.

As with the others, we had an enjoyable stay.

The Shakespeare Chateau Inn and Gardens is located along St. Joe’s famed “Millionaires’ Row,” near downtown. This is the area where the city’s wealthiest residents loved in the early days. The home was built by Nathan P. and Elmarine Ogden.

Today, the home is owned by Isobel, who bought it 2012 and operates as the innkeeper. Her love for the chateau is obvious, as she takes guests on tours. She explains what the house looked like previously and discusses the renovations she had to make to bring the chateau to life.

The dining room basically had to be gutted because of water damage. She used designs that would make the room appear as closely as possible to its original appearance.

The parlor is home to a fantastic stained glass display featuring the Greek Goddess Athena.

The mansion has 47 stained glass windows. It may be one of the largest collections of stained glass windows in a private home.

The stairway has great artwork. The railing appears to have serpents designed at the base.

The stairs’ landing has an exquisite stained glass display.

Our room was very nice. We stayed in the “Twelfth Night” suite. Each suite is named after a William Shakespeare play.

The room was decorated with era-appropriate accessories. We had a fireplace that was adorned with a painting over it, as well as floral decoration.

The bed was quite comfortable. That came in handy after a very busy day. The fact that you were comfortable as soon as you lay down, contributed to a great night’s rest.

A complimentary gourmet breakfast is served in the dining room. Baked French toast, sausage and a bowl of fresh fruit awaited us.
W
e were fortunate to share breakfast with three couples from the Kansas City metro area. It was great getting to know everyone. We each learned about the others’ reasons for visiting St. Joe and staying at the Shakespeare. Two couples were there for anniversary celebrations and the third for a weekend getaway.

The Shakespeare Chateau will be high on our list for potential anniversary celebrations in the future. But, don’t wait for a special occasion; it would be a fun place to stay whenever in the area. We recommend the bed and breakfast for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mustangdad1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

The Shakespeare Chateau is a great getaway for a night or a weekend. Since we opened just a year and a half ago, we've hosted more than 1500 overnight guests, and many more for weddings, dinners, luncheons, baby and bridal showers, and receptions. Rooms fill up fast on the weekends - why not try our 2-night "Sweetheart Package" and treat yourself to a mini-vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We spent two nights at Isobel's Shakespeare Chateau and had an awesome time. She is a wonderful host and fun to speak with. She really loves her B&B and enjoys the work - and there's lots to do yet - with plans for expanded restoration, gardening and facial uplifts. This beautiful, historic site will thrill you with exquisite architecture, ancient paintings, magnificent woodwork, unique flooring and ornate stained glass. We stayed in the Verona room - lots of space and very comfortable! If you're going to stay in St. Joseph - this IS the place to stay!
Joe and Mary Ann

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

The Shakespeare Chateau is an unequalled B&B experience! The historic Ogden Mansion, situated on Hall Street (the renowned "Millionaires' Row") is a crown jewel of St. Joseph, the Queen of the River Cities. Did you know that for a time during the gilded age, St. Joseph had the highest per capita income of anywhere in the United States? The beautiful residential, commercial, and church architecture still standing today is our legacy from that bygone day. I'm privileged to have the opportunity to live and work in this grand mansion, and bring it back to be a space that "entertains and impresses" as it was built to do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is what you expect in a bed and breakfast. Loads of charm and interesting architecture, fabulous host and superb hostess. The house has a good feeling. If there were 100 bnb's in the area, it would still rein #1.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Experience the extraordinary at the Shakespeare Chateau! Exceptional architecture and period interior, incomparable collection of fine art and antiques, superb comfort in the guest rooms, and delicious breakfasts. Please come back for a return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was like staying in a piece of art. The owner shared some of the history of the area and the mansion. We enjoyed the amenities. Bed was very comfortable. Quiet surroundings. Warm baked goods every morning. The hostess was wonderful and did everything to make your visit a wonderful experience. Many sites and museums to visit. Could not do all in 2days. Will go back.

Room Tip: We were in the Romeo and Juliet room. BEAUTIFUL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you, Barb and Don, for staying with me recently, and for posting your review to TripAdvisor. Don's first comment upon entering the Shakespeare Chateau was, "I didn't know we'd be staying in a work of art!" Such an accurate characterization of this majestic building. The exquisite interior is so original, authentic, and intact, and was so artfully constructed, yet is so accessible and inviting! I delight in opening this wonderful mansion to entertain and impress as it was designed to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This B&B is outstanding. It is a beautiful historic home, but it has been updated to include all of the modern amenities. If you can imagine stained glass windows in every room! Our gracious hostess saw to our every need during our two-day stay. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautiful. Since it was a "girls trip," we chose the room with two q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sherill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

The Shakespeare Chateau in St Joseph Missouri is a wonderful getaway destination for friends, family members, and couples. Each of my rooms has a distinctly unique appeal, but all are appointed with a fabulous collection of fine art and antiques, luxury linens, and every modern amenity. Thank you, Sherrill, for visiting with your friend. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you both again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you are in or near St. Joseph MO try and book a room here. It is a grand and historic experience with great comforts and amenities. The beds are comfy and the rooms well appointed.
The breakfast is hearty and delicious. It is located in a unique historic district that I was thrilled to explore.

Room Tip: They are all different so try and speak with them before hand and ask for their particular traits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PAUL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

So happy to hear from visitors who have just discovered this fabulous city! My guests tell me again and again, "We'll be back!" Thanks for visiting, Paul, and for posting your TripAdvisor review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was the best B&B experience that we have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. And we have tried many B&B's in the past. Spectacular beautiful old mansion. Delightful owner/operator. Good breakfast at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Enjoy a conversation with Isobel. She is the delightful owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

St. Joseph is surprising to many visitors - in fact, it is one of the best-kept secrets in the Midwest! Full of amazing historical features and gilded-age architecture, St. Joseph will amaze and delight you! And don't miss our gracious parkway system - it's stunning in autumn when the leaves change!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#3 of 12 in Saint Joseph
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#11 of 12 in Saint Joseph
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 12 in Saint Joseph
357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#9 of 12 in Saint Joseph
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast

Address: 809 Hall St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2139
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: £113 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Shakespeare Chateau was built in 1885 by Nathan Ogden when St. Joseph Missouri was known as "The Queen of the River Cities." High atop a bluff looking down across the city toward the Missouri River, 809 Hall Street is one of several mansions in the Hall Street Historic District known locally as "Millionaires' Row." You'll enjoy meeting the friendly innkeeper, Isobel, as she takes you through the palatial interior. You'll marvel at 47 (yes, 47!) Original stained glass windows, carved cherrywood, mahogany, and walnut mantles, and of course, a bust of the Bard himself above the grand fireplace in the front foyer. But most of all, you'll enjoy our comfortable sleeping rooms, each one beautifully appointed with fabulous art and antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing