We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great hostess, great house!”
Review of Gothic Tea House - CLOSED

Gothic Tea House
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great hostess, great house!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Miss Pat has done a remarkable job restoring this Gothic beauty, and an even more remarkable job turning it into the go-to place in St. Jo for a pleasant and satisfying luncheon. When the weather is favorable, don't miss sitting outside in the garden to enjoy your delicious repast - her garden is simply the best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A special place.”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is the place to go with the girls to spend a couple of hours relaxing, sipping tea, and nibbling on dainty food. Don't go if you're in a rush. Eat dessert. (I do wish they had more comfortable chairs).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaKayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mke
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tea for Two”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A friend and I ventured to St. Joseph for a spot of tea and lunch. What a wonderful historical restaurant with a fantastic tea menu and delicious food! Our hostess was courteous and a wonderful chef! I highly recommend going here if you love a meal made from scratch and a pleasant atmosphere. We plan to go back in spring to enjoy tea outdoors!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parisianjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth your time!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a great place to eat, the homemade food was amazing, the lemon curd you recieve with you scone was memerable! The home/resturant has so much character, it is interesting to see the place. I always look forward to going there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Charm Of A Tea House”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I was passing through Saint Joseph and learned of the Gothic Tea House from Trip Advisor. I love going to Tea Houses and this one has to be amongst my favorites of those I have visited. I arrived late in the day, which was good because I was traveling solo and didn't feel out of place. The food and atmosphere was fantastic. What I always look for at a Tea House is if the staff know the teas - the server did, and she made a great recommendation for me. I would have liked dessert, because they looked sensational, just didn't have the time to stay any longer. If I'm ever back in the area (I'm from NJ) I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksdnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gothic Tea House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing