We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great history”

Remington Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking the Missouri River, this center caters to history and nature buffs alike. Peer into a 7,000-gallon freshwater aquarium; explore the history of the St. Joseph area; stand trunk to nose with a woolly mammoth replica. See our website for a complete listing of activities, sights and adventures.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great history”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

the museum exhibits are spectacular and housed in a very new, beautiful building right next to the Missouri river and the river walkway. you learn a lot about the history of this part of Missouri and the animal life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    26
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“New Center with lots to do!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place is a newer attraction to St. Joseph with a lot to see and do. Great displays throughout the place. Timeline of St. Joseph walk thru is pretty interesting with a lot of locally donated items. Rocks/ Artifacts exhibit shows a lot of different forms of rocks and Indian artifacts found in the area. Nice size aquarium located next to a small eating area/concession area. The seating area is available outside as well. Gift shop has typical items but nature themed..no cheesy key chains etc. Give it a try if your kids are driving you crazy about being bored as the prices are super reasonable!! Oh and the staff was super friendly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarrieRose1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Port, Missouri
1 review
“Very knowledgable staff!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughter has had a horrible fear of bees. I took her to the nature center to hopefully educate her about these insects. She was able to see a bee hive first hand, and thanks to the knowledgable staff, learn about the importance of bees in nature. Thanks to this visit, my daughter now considers herself a 'bee expert'! This is such a wonderful facility with incredibly friendly, knowledgable staff. St. Joseph is lucky to have such a place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenz0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“River Front Nature Center explores local history”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Explore the local history and geography of the area surrounding St. Joseph and along the Missouri River. From the fish in the river (and on display in the huge aquarium with feeding times posted) to the huge Mammoth that greats you at the door! Local native American along with western and trading history can be seen.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann, Missouri
1 review
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My 2 children and I had a GREAT time. I did not know if my 3 year old would be impressed with walking around looking at exhibits. But after being greeted by life size Mammoths resembling "manny and peaches" my fears were quickly put to rest. Very engaging. LOVED it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flowerlady65041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Remington Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Remington Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing