We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good down home country cooking; very tasty baked chicken”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #17 of 214 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
680 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“good down home country cooking; very tasty baked chicken”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Contrary to some of the other reviews, I haven't found Old Cracker Barrel's to necessarily be all that consistent. This is a chain which offers Southern style home cooking. I have had some excellent meals at them and some not so good. The baked chicken at this one was very good as were the sides that came with it. I wish I could say that was true all the time, but it isn't. Based on my meal here, I think this is a good one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    15
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Most folks know what they will get at Cracker Barrel. It's a bout as close as you can get to home cooking at a chain restaurant. family had pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. and enjoyed the meal at a reasonable price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trainmasterjws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parshall, North Dakota
Level Contributor
178 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Traditional Southern Food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

If you like southern food, Cracker Barrel is the place to be. From fried chicken and grits, to fried okra and turnip greens. I had a house salad with my meal, which the salad was a meal, itself! I order the rib eye steak, which the menu claimed had been aged for 28 days. The steak was fairly tough, although the rest of the meal was good. I had never tried turnip greens before, so I gave them a whirl. They were ok, but I would not order them again. It is all good, though, I like trying different foods. You never know what you may like unless you try it. The country store in Cracker Barrels and the quaint atmosphere are a plus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfort food of consistent good quality”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Busy on a Sunday morning but this is to be expected by this restaurant chain. We stopped as we were traveling along the Interstate but could tell there were many local families. Loved the warm wood fireplace blazing this am. Very friendly wait staff despite the busy atmosphere. Always enjoy checking out the gifts hop. They have a great variety that varies from region to region.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Good Food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have eaten at this Cracker Barrel on an average of 2 times a month I have never been disappointed by quality of food, or by the service. Sometimes you may have to wait 5-10 minutes for a table depending on time of day. This about average Have great tasting desserts. Sometimes it is a little noisey but this is a sign of everyone having agood time.......

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 
Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing