We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent German Buffet!”
Review of Cabbage Roll

Cabbage Roll
Ranked #5 of 217 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We Are Opened Mon--fri--11 To 2 Dinner Buffet Friday Nights 5 To 7 Reservations Are Needed For Friday Nights Closed Saturday & Sunday
Saint Joseph, MO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent German Buffet!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I've had foods from all over the world, but German was something relatively new to my palate. I have to say that I wasn't expecting much, considering how inexpensive the price was for the Friday night buffet, so I was more than surprised at both the quality of the food and the wonderful service! I was also surprised at how busy it was, considering how it's away from any business district. But apparently this place is a beacon for repeat restaurant goers, because it was packed. Reservations are required for Friday night, but they do have lunch during the week, although it's not buffet style.

Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBlake1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    27
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Jospeh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok for local german food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've eaten there twice and have enjoyed it but I'm from Minnesota and there are two authentic german restaraunts there that my husband I really enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friday ”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Great Friday night buffet with a large selection of food at a reasonable price. The deserts are the best in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Friday evening German Buffet”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have travelled extensively and enjoy authentic German cuisine, and this small, locally owned and operated restaurant was great. Food was as near authentic as I have had anywhere, and the service was wonderful. Friday evening reservations are really a must as they are quite popular. If you really like German cuisine, this is probably the best in the Midwest. Beverages, including their own blend of coffee, are included, as well as a dessert bar. Their buffet menu changes every Friday, and you can contact them to find out what is being served in coming weeks. Enjoy......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super Choice, Super Value”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stopped for lunch at The Cabbage Roll and are so glad we did. Lunch for two cost less than we would have paid for two of the usual fast food combo meals. Best of all, it tasted so good! We had a combo plate with a Polish sausage, pierogi, and stuffed cabbage plus two sides. Yum! A variety of sandwiches and salads are also offered at very reasonable prices. Lunch was so filling that we had no room left to sample any of the beautiful homemade desserts. Service was friendly and efficient. Take time to look at the knick-knacks, and be sure to mark your hometown with a pushpin on the USA map.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weasel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabbage Roll also viewed

 

Been to Cabbage Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing