We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy setting, delicious food.”
Review of Cabbage Roll

Cabbage Roll
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WE ARE OPENED MON--FRI--11 TO 2 DINNER BUFFET FRIDAY NIGHTS 5 TO 7 RESERVATIONS ARE NEEDED FOR FRIDAY NIGHTS CLOSED SATURDAY & SUNDAY
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy setting, delicious food.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I usually take a trip from the mid-west to Denver at least once a year. Last year I stopped at the Cabbage Roll based on this site's reviews. I had such a nice experience that I made sure to save room for a meal at the Cabbage Roll on this year's trip too.

The restaurant reminds me of my grandma's house in southern Indiana. German heritage decorations everywhere, and relaxed, friendly staff with similar clientele. The man who took our orders is/was very friendly and seems to be happy to make the customers happy.

The food is delicious and made with care. Even my notoriously picky mother found something she loved. If the cuisine and setting doesn't remind you of home, you'll still find the Cabbage Roll to be one of the most charming restaurants between southern Indiana and Denver.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    26
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hamburgers in town”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Yes you read it correctly. The first week of every month is hamburger week, and they are by far the best hamburger and fries you can get out. They also have wonderful desserts. Super friendly staff, always making you feel welcomed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why did I wait so long?”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had the sample plate, with two types of kraut for the sides. And coffee. A full carafe of coffee. The restaurant feels old-town. Excellent real German motif. Friendly service that is informed in German things. They offer a buffet which I would love to try. Bring your friends! They don't serve beer, but I will say "Prost!"

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Smart lunch with a European twist”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A small quaint restaurant in the middle of Saint Joseph, no need to know German to enjoy a great plate of Northern German cuisine. Make sure you have seen all their daily specials for lunch or if possible stay over for their dinner buffet. You will want to come back, I only missed the fact it was a business lunch and could not have a good beer to top it all off.
Leave space for dessert, excellent German chocolate cakes!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Febre33309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Persia, ia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

May be off the beaten path but definitely worth taking the time to find it. I had the Salisbury steak luncheon special; my husband had the jäger schnitzel - both were delicious. Already planning to stop again on our next trip thru St. Joe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabbage Roll also viewed

 

Been to Cabbage Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing