We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thursday Lunches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thursday Lunches”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Fresh local produce is sold off the porch here on Thursdays by Goode Acres. The Whiskey Mansion takes advantage of the farm fresh veggies and offers a delightful lunch option each Thursday too. Be sure to drop in and "taste" a bit of local history. This beautiful home has been completely restored and the B&B rooms are just a delight. After lunch, don't forget to take home a loaf of Olin's home made bread (IF there is any left) along with your produce order.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    21
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
47
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

First time to Saint Joseph and was not sure what to expect, was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Rooms are amazing, the reception and hospitality made the stay enjoyable. Sara was a first class host, pity Olin was away as we would loved to have met him to compliment him on the restoration of the house. Will certainly stay here again if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A friend and I spent one night in Sara's Room. We went to Saint Joseph is listen to a friend play some music in the area. The Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast is a very nice place. The front porch is a wonderful place to relax. Our room was very nice too. Olin seemed friendly and he has done a wonderful job of restoring the place which had previously had a fire. I do think that some signs or extra information for guests would be helpful. My friend who accompanied me also happens to be an Innkeeper. Both of us were unsure what to do when we arrived since we kept knocking on the door and nobody was answering it. We had to actually call Olin. He happened to be somewhere in the house and told us to go ahead and come inside. There was also a lot of tourist information in our room but there wasn't anything telling us about the password for the internet or any other additional information. It was too late to call anybody when we were looking for this information so we just asked about it the next morning. When we went downstairs the next morning, things were a little bit unclear regarding any coffee and tea beverages. It was unfortunate too that decaffeinated coffee or tea wasn't available at all. Breakfast was good and we ate out on the porch. We had a nice stay but it just seemed like Olin had a lot of other things going on too. Like I said earlier, it would be nice to have some additional information available to guests whether it be through signage or an information booklet in each room. I think that we were the only guests there on the night that we stayed at the property. I just feel like more attention needs to be focused on the guests even if it means providing better communication and/or materials about things at the B & B. Since Olin has so many other things going on in addition to just people staying at the property, this would make it better for communication between him and his guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessLea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskeyMansion, Owner at Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We are sorry you had disappointments at the Mansion. To be clear, however, when you arrived the door was unlocked and we were awaiting your arrival. It is not possible in a B&B to sitting by the door at all times as is done in a hotel lobby. We unlock the door during check-ins, allowing guests to enter. I am sorry you did not have the internet password. I am usually available until midnight. Since you all returned to the B&B after the bars closed I was not awake to assist you. Breakfast is served from 8:30 - 10:00 am. I am unclear about your beverage confusion that morning. Coffee, tea, and orange juice are always made available during the breakfast hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Whiskey Mansion for our 1 year anniversary trip. We stayed in the Tower room and the Water Spa room. Both were incredible! The beds are so comfortable with luxurious sheets and gorgeous comforters. The Water Spa room has a beautiful jetted claw foot tub - so relaxing! We ate a delicious breakfast outside on the porch. The owner, Olin, is amazing! He provided us with great company and wonderful suggestions of things to do in the area. Personally, we LOVED the Patee House Museum, and the River Wood Winery!
We really hope to make it to MO and stay at Whiskey Mansion again some day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We came upon this gorgeous B&B by way of happenstance. My beloved and I were on our way from Indianapolis to Portland, OR on a road trip. We chose Whiskey Mansion based on tripadvisor reviews and photos.
We approached the building & it was as splendid as the photos. We were greeted at the door by Olin. He was welcoming and everything one wants in an innkeeper. He explained building access & asked if we wanted a dinner recommendation or had dietary restrictions for breakfast. He was knowledgeable of the local establishments. We were impressed with the pride he took in staying abreast of the local atmosphere.
Olin showed us our room (Water Spa Room). Olin explained the operation of the spa and amenities before graciously excusing himself. We took his suggestion of Piattos and were not disappointed. This Italian restaurant was fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was amazing.
A few items of note (NOT complaints). The mattress is very soft, preferred for many but some (like us) get back pains from a lack of support. Lastly, the bed frame is not especially discrete so be aware that should things take an intimate twist, you’ll need to mitigate the motion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a delightful stay with Olin at the Whiskey Mansion. He shared with us his daunting task of restoring the old home with an incredible eye for detail. All restoration has been matched in great detail to the original. His work on this home and knowledge of it's history is wonderful. We were able to enjoy breakfast on the old front porch thanks to a great break in the weather and had a yummy breakfast with others and Olin. He was very informative about things to do and places to eat.

Room Tip: My only dissatisfaction was that the ac blew on me all night and I have a big problem with fans that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Collins, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Bed and Breakfast with Class. Wonderful period mansion with appropriate antiques. Rooms very comfortable. Going to suggest other colleagues to stay here on business. Breakfast, was special. Dont like TVs in the room, but that's my stick.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
1.0 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#9 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#8 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1723 Francis St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2424
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored historic 1885 mansion, nestled in Missouri's largest National Registered District, will pamper you with its spacious rooms, full breakfast, and large bathrooms with soaking clawfoot tubs. Authentically appointed with period Eastlake furniture, this Non-Smoking inn will give you a quiet, romantic evening and restful night during your visit to Saint Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiskey Mansion Hotel Saint Joseph
Whiskey Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing