We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bien burritos!”
Review of El Maguey

El Maguey
Ranked #27 of 216 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bien burritos!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Love the food every time we visit. I have a different burrito every time. Burrito Jalisco never disappoints. Service is always fast and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not just the best Mexican food in Saint Joseph!”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We are from southern California and would put El Maguey up with any of our favorite places in LA (Viva Fresh, etc.). Can't seem to get past the chicken chimichanga to try all the other dishes, but the carnitas, and chicken soup are excellent as well. Love the chips and salsa!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st joseph
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Mexican food that most enjoy.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband & I usually eat at El Maguey once to twice per month. The restaurant serves traditional tex-mex style...the U.S. version of mexican food. Most people I know rate El Maguey well and are return customers. The service is speedy. The portions are plentiful. We always take food home. The margaritas are good. The prices are reasonable. Typically, we each order an entree and a small picture of margaritas. The check is around $30. Great eats for large or small groups.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sightseesylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very fast service”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is our families favorite Mexican in Saint Joseph. Their service is extremely fast and have reasonably priced food. The food is great and starts with unlimited chips and salsa. Like every Mexican restaurant I've been to I question what the cleanliness is like in the kitchen. I have checked the health inspection reports and they are usually pretty good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Love the service and food :) I don't really like that the smoking section isn't really enclosed, the smell of smoke bothers me... but I'm sure that doesn't bother some.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Maguey also viewed

 

Been to El Maguey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing