We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson St. Joseph
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I think the hotel is definitely not worth the money. Lobby was nice, but the entire hotel has stench of smoke. Receptionist was very friendly. Our room was non-smoking, but you could really smell smoke, especially in the bathroom. It was clean, but old and outdated. Bed was uncomfortable. They have free internet, but no free breakfast except for coffee and granola bars. There are better hotels in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    64
    52
    43
    39
See reviews for
73
49
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We went into the room and I smelled mold. looked in the bathroom and under the sink was gross. I called front desk she gave us another room but did not want to check that one out. Her comment was matenanice does not check rooms. Nasty on the bathroom floor is housecleaning.
The next room had issues with the ceiling in the "hall". It was dirty when we came back into the room I had bought cleaning supplies. I asked the front desk if she wanted me to use the good towels to clean or if they had something I could use. She sent up Housecleaning it was 9:30 at night. Even she said the bathroom was dirty. We used the stuff I bought to get rid of the grout mold. As a Holiday Inn it was not acceptable. I took pictures..I would post but I do not know how to from my phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson St. Joseph, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Valerie H,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and for bringing this matter to our attention. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

First I have to day that the staff was very friendly. From the front desk to the restaurant all were nice.


While the lobby is nicely updated, the rooms fall short. They have had a mini makeover but even that is starting to show it's age. The bathrooms are a mess. They have installed the standard granite vanity and the rest has been left circa 1990. The grout is dingy, tubs have mildew. Our bed was lop-sided and the sofa in our room was on it's last leg. It is not at all what I expect from Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: There is no river view so I recommend staying on the east side of the building to avoid the intersta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpccarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas (Kansas City)
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great location downtown, close to Felix's Martini Bar and a great restaurant, Bad Art Bistro. Lobby was nice. But the room...closet door was missing, the bathroom...well, everything was broken or peeling. Should be an embarrassment for Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Get a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlatheRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson St. Joseph, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear OlatheRoadTripper,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our location, restaurant and lobby.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the room and bathroom being updated. We will look into it and address it. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holts Summiit, Mo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is located in a downtown area and my daughter and I chose not to go out by ourselves in the evening. The hotel dining was not really in keeping with the price of the meals and the waitress was busy gossiping with other tables. However, the hotel itself was clean and attractive. Our room was comfortable and quiet. We had requested extra pillows and blankets and they were waiting in the room when we arrived. Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the elevators and ice machine. Our room was a double queen and was perfect f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Impressive Lobby. Both Restaurant and Bar excellent food and courteous service. Hotel Room comfortable with upscale bedding. River walk close and enjoyed watching people fish.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Room was nice, but there is no view of the Missouri River. Staff were nice. We were staying on our way home on vacation and excpecting a hotel next to the river.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
3.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#8 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
#5 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson St. Joseph

Property: Radisson St. Joseph
Address: 102 S 3rd St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson St. Joseph 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson St. Joseph hotel, the Radisson St. Joseph is the premier full-service hotel located in St. Joseph, MO, in historic downtown, conveniently located off I-229 just 40 miles north of Kansas City International Airport. The Radisson St. Joseph sits on the historic site of the first Pony Express weigh station responsible for delivering and receiving mail from the California coast. The hotel is in close proximity to major companies such as Hillyard Industries, Nestle Purina, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls, Heartland Hospital and Triumph Foods and within 15 minutes of any business or tourist attraction. In addition, you can enjoy a visit to St. Joseph s Pony Express Museum & Jesse James Museum and Missouri Western State University, along with The frontier Casino are just minutes from the hotel. The Radisson St. Joseph Hotel offers 169 spacious guest rooms designed to meet the needs of the leisure and corporate traveler, and includes state-of-the-art banquet facilities and a Restaurant and Bar on premises. The hotel in St. Joseph, MO now features a 24-hour business center, an expanded fitness center as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna for your relaxation. Make the Radisson St. Joseph Hotel your home away from home when you're traveling to the St. Joseph, Missouri area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis Hotel Saint Joseph
Holiday Inn Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing