We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No refund of deposit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“No refund of deposit”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel was nice, however they refused to return the room deposit that was required since my Mother used her Honors points to book the room.
She had to leave numerous messages for the general manager, since he/she was never available or returned phone calls.
My Mother called the Honors program and even they had no luck in getting ahold of the manager or even receiving an email back from the manager.
After two frustrating weeks, the Honors customer service had my Mother call the Honors credit card number. She spoke with a nice customer service person who also to no avail, could not speak to the manager.
The credit card company finally returned the $50, but at what price? For all the frustration that they caused my Mother, I am rethinking as to ever stay at a Hampton Inn in the future. I will find out who the franchisee is and make sure that none of my 40,000 colleagues in my company stays with any hotel that person of they are affiliated with or owns.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nehi009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Nehi009,
Thank you very much for your review. Please let me start by apologizing that your mother was never contacted by our hotel. Most banks take 7-10 business days for authorizations to fall off accounts, some however, as in your case, can take longer. And though I wish we did, we have no control over this, it is up to each individual bank. When we were contacted by your bank, we notified them right away that the authorization could be released. I'm so very sorry for the frustration that this caused you and your mother. I have used your comments as a learning tool for my front desk to better inform guests on this authorization process and how it can affect their accounts. Once again please accept my sincerest apologies for not contacting you personally and for the frustration of this situation. I hope that the next time you are in the area you will let us show you our improved level of customer service.

Sincerely,
Dave S.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    98
    45
    24
    10
See reviews for
104
71
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
arnold, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were traveling through on our way home from Thanksgiving and were very pleased with the cleanliness and friendliness of this Hampton Inn! The breakfast lady was amazingly friendly and energetic and eager to please!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennison, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. Quiet, clean rooms, comfortable bed, soft pillows, friendly staff, convenient location, and a free breakfast on top of it all. I will definitely stay here again when in St Joseph, Missouri.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

In 18 years of business travel, I said to my travelling partner as we were departing that THIS hotel staff was absolutely the most courteous, genuine, and helpful of any I can recall every encountering - anywhere, and in any country. Management and staff of this hotel should be recognized for their very real efforts (it was a snowy, icy evening and morning and they were even canvassing the breakfast area and front counter to offer to go out and start vehicles for guests - and we found a gentleman outside in cold winter clothing who was scraping windows and clearing snow from vehicles). I was more pleased that I've ever been with how welcoming the hostess as the breakfast room was (though the food could have been fresher as by our 7 AM arrival in the room the eggs and sausages, etc all were dried out and a bit unappetizing) the most pleasant and welcoming staff person I've met in a long time. Bravo to every employee here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I reserved late in the day and notified the desk that I would be checking in very late, after 3:00 AM. When I arrived the front desk had my room ready, I was already checked in and my key was waiting on the front desk. This was great as I had little time to nap before my appointment at 8:00 AM the breakfast at 7:00 was fabulous, hot and plentiful. The hotel staff was super friendly and some of the best I have interacted with in a long time. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Clean and friendly staff! Great location and the beds were restful! Enjoy the desk staff, helpful in finding a local resturant for my needs for the night I was there! I am looking forward to staying at this hotel in the near future! A wet night; however they had space for Diamond members to park and walk under a canopy to the hotel entrance!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was an average aging Hampton that a decent staff. They didn't do anything without someone asking but when asked they performed well. The problem was the sheets and duvet had stains (evident by taking a warm wash cloth and removing the stain left by someone's else nose). I called the front desk and the brought up clean sheets only and changed them promptly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Pheland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Joseph, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Pheland,
Thank you for your review. I'm terribly sorry to hear you had a negative experience at my hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us, and I apologize that we did not provide you with exceptional service. I will address your concerns with my entire staff. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you on your next trip to St. Joseph.

Sincerely,
Betty M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
0.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 12 in Saint Joseph
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#9 of 12 in Saint Joseph
171 reviews
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
#5 of 12 in Saint Joseph
102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#10 of 12 in Saint Joseph
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Joseph

Property: Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Address: 3928 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-3023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Joseph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Joesph, MO: Famous news anchorman Walter Cronkite was born here, the famous outlaw Jesse James died here, Aunt Jemima was invented here. Their legacies are all here, near our Hampton Inn hotel in St. Joseph, MO, just waiting for you to discover. Unwind in one of our spacious St. Joseph, MO hotel rooms and relax with modern conveniences. Check emails with free high-speed internet access and work in comfort with our handy lap desks. Our clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) is perfect for a restful night's sleep. Enjoy great value during your stay at Hampton Inn St. Joseph, MO hotel, with unexpected delights such as our indoor swimming pool and beautiful outdoor patio area, ideal for dining. Catch up with work or print last minute boarding passes in the well-equipped business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Hampton Inn Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing