We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keeps getting better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
Ranked #1 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The St. Louis Zoo is wonderful. One of the reasons that it is so wonderful is the ongoing updates/improvements. Sure, closures of certain exhibits is disappointing (penguins), BUT by the next time I visit, it will be new and improved. Admission is still FREE. Parking in the North Lot is $15.00. If you get there early enough, you can get a decent spot on the street for FREE. The cost of food and drink is what you would probably expect at any attraction that has FREE admission. The grounds are well-kept but better yet, all of the animals are well cared for. I recommend this zoo to anyone. Put on some comfortable walking shoes, get their early to take advantage of the other freebies, and plan to spend the whole day there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,839
    1,049
    229
    48
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous and FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am always skeptical of free attractions, but this one was worth paying for-- we just didn't have to. There are some things that cost, but the sea lion show was a highlight and for a nominal fee and the habitats were great in their scope for the animals and their viewing accessibility for visitors. We especially had fun watching the orangatauns and hippos who were happy and active while we were there.

Especially made it convenient to fit in for a short visit for a short weekend stop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We bought the Sarfari passes....we rented a electric scooter for my Aun t and we're very accommodating when we were there....

Helpful?
2 Thank mom24moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Very Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Zoos do not get any better than the one in St. Louis. First, it's free to get it but better than plenty of paid zoos that I've been to. The exhibits are always improving for both the animals and the visitors. The staff's dedication to their charges and to making sure the guests have a pleasant experience is evident most every where you go. The exhibits are beautiful and widely varied. You can stay all day and still not see everything. All for free!
However, if you've got the bucks to spend, there are all kinds of great extras you can take part in to make your trip there that much more special, too. Take the train, check out some of the "premium" exhibits, or--as we did this trip--book a behind-the-scenes tour at one of your favorite attractions. These tours have to be booked at least three weeks in advance and vary in cost (more details on their website). We took the sea lion tour and the penguin/puffin tour this trip. I cannot express to you how much I enjoyed them! They were a surprise birthday present for me and I recommend that if you have an animal lover in your house, you consider surprising him/her with the same!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trent_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

STL Zoo is by far the best zoo I've ever been to, and it's free! The staff is friendly, it's clean, and it's big! There's always something new or changing which helps keep the experience fresh.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing