We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always in season”

Missouri Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Missouri Botanical Garden in St. Louis was founded in 1859 by Henry Shaw. Today, the Garden is a National Historic Landmark and a center for science, conservation, education and horticultural display - widely considered one of the top three botanical gardens in the world. It features 79 acres of horticultural displays, including indoor conservatories and demonstration, formal and international gardens.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Always in season”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I believe this is America's most beautiful and interesting public botanical garden.

In the 1980/90s, under Dr. Peter Raven's direction, the Gardens experienced a rebirth that brought the vision of its founder, Henry Shaw, to full fruition. The Gardens succeed to continue improvements upon the original designs, creating specialty gardens within the grounds set aside by Mr Shaw that educate and astound -- like the Japanese, Chinese, English gardens; the tropicals within the Climatron; Linnean House; and Tower Grove House.

If you are just visiting St. Louis, make a point to dedicate a day to enjoying the Missouri Botanical Garden.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent13520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,879
    384
    51
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of the great Gardens”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We are members of the American Horticultural Society and hence get fee admissions to many gardens, including this one. August was a great time for many flowers and there was a (paid) leggo exhibit while we were there. Ever see a lawn mower made out of Leggos?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cvg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go by tram!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I liked it all. The tram allowed me (I use a cane) to enjoy the whole place and did it in total comfort. The restaurant serves wonderful food, even to the point that the manager of the restaurant stopped at our table and inquired as to how everything was. Nice touch!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank drmmcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Garden Visit”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent a number of hours on our visit to the garden and could have spent more. It is a delightful setting and well maintained garden. Plants and shrubs are marked with names which enhances the visit. There is a shuttle service which takes you around the garden for those who do not want to walk. The shuttle makes four stops so you can get off once and back on if necessary.
There is a significant variety in this wonderful garden. There is a Japanese Garden in one section and vegetable garden in another. All in all, a very nice visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoelBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University City, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday splendor!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was a wonderful place to spend my birthday afternoon even with a heavy rainstorm! I loved the Chihouly glass installations

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank midgehadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Missouri Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing