We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Missouri Baking Company

Missouri Baking Company
Ranked #1 of 90 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: The Hill
Powersite
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

They made the cake for my grandson's baptism. Wonderful flavor and texture. Excellent! --- and that's coming from a cake decorator.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ashtobmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    41
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“One of these words is not like the others!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stopped by here on my way to another place, but it was so worth the small delay! I had the coconut snowball and it was delicious! It is a lot, so you may want to share with someone you love. (I didn't, but you may want to!) Light, fluffy, cake surrounded by homemade marshmallow icing and toasted coconut. Not the little, wimpy coconut either. It looked hand cut and toasting it really brought out the full tropical flavor!

I couldn't pronounce 'Sfogliatelle', so I ate it instead! 'Sfogliatelle' (s-fo-ya-teya) means "small, thin leaves/layers, because the pastry's texture resembles stacked leaves. It is shaped like a clam! The crust was really interesting. Crispy, crunchy, sweet and a slight orange essence. I didn't really like the inside though. It was tasty, but I'm not a big fan of ricotta.

I have never been disappointed here, except the time I forgot to bring cash!! Don't leave home without it! (cash that is.)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, MO
Level Contributor
230 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Baked Goods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a place far off the beaten path where only those who really know the Hill know about. It has some of the best baked goods you're likely to find in St. Louis. They make Cuchidati, Italian Cream Cake, various flavored pound cakes, strawberry cakes, pineapple cakes filled with whipped cream, and of course, cannoli that is to die for. We had the cannoli and the tira mi su. Each was wonderful in its own right. My wife liked the cuchidati so well she told me I couldn't have any. It was all hers! If you're in town for lunch try Charlie Gittos for lunch, but save room for a cannoli from the Missouri Baking Company. You'll be darned glad you did!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeWitt65101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gooey Butter Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our last day in St Louis and we hadn't tried the Gooey Butter Cake yet which was recommended in several articles I read. Fortunately we noticed Missouri Baking Company after we had lunch at Zia's. We bought the cake and they were kind enough to wrap it up so I could carry it on the airplane. It was in great shape when we got home and we enjoyed a piece of it - delicious. My husband is bring the rest to his office to share with his friends so they can experience the Gooey Butter Cake too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy for my tummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I love this place? I bought a whole Key Lime Pie, a dozen cookies, 2 cupcakes and a couple of muffins. I thought for sure my bill would be at least $40 bucks but to my surprise my bill was only $26. Goodies goodies goodies!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Missouri Baking Company also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Baking Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing