We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Adults”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I was on a business trip to St. Louis. I planned on staying one evening but due to heavy snow the airport cancelled all flights and I needed to stay two nights. Anyway, I was glad that I was able to find this place. I found it initially on Hotwire and got the first night at a reduced rate however, the second night was at regular price and I didn't mind paying that one bit.

The hotel was clean, the valet staff polite, the front desk pleasant and the maintenance staff kept the place smelling and looking wonderfully. The room was clean with fresh towels and comfortable bedding along with a newer television and refrigerator. I was very surprised and pleased with this hotel and I plan on staying there each time I come to St. Louis from now on.

There is no swimming pool or spa but that is okay as this being a business trip I was happy not to have a hotel full of children running around. The workout facility was nice and clean and had working equipment (for once) as too many hotels have old and broken equipment. I definitely recommend you stay here for business, couples or solo.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

When traveling, delays and cancellations can be pretty frustrating so its good to know that we were able to keep you comfortable and help keep your stress levels low during the inclement weather. Hopefully you didn't have to deal with any more flight delays or cancellations once your stay with us was over. Perhaps the next time you stay with us you will be able to experience better weather and then you will be able to check out our rooftop terrace and new moon room, which was under construction during your visit. We would like to thank you for the kind words about our staff and hotel. Your feedback is very important and you taking the time is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Moonrise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel is just awesome! The style is hip and modern and the location is pretty great. Went with a friend of mine to see a show at The Pageant, which is conveniently located right next door. We had a blast. The rooftop bar area was great and we loved that they had outdoor heaters to keep you toasty on a cool night. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. I really don't have anything bad to say about this place. It's young, funky and fun. A fabulous boutique hotel and the service there was great. I hope to come back again sometime. A+

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverchairchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

I was a bit thrown off by the fact that you were talking about the rooftop considering that it is closed right now. But then I realized that your stay was back in october! I thought that maybe they had opened up for a special event or something like that. Nevertheless, we are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience during your visit with us! Being so close to the Pageant is definitely a big draw for us during those occasions, so its good to know that you were able to take advantage of our locale. Once our construction on the rooftop is finished, we will not have to close our rooftop during the cold seasons. Perhaps next time this will be available to you. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. Hopefully we see you again!

Thanks

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at the Moonrise due to go a concert next door at the Pagaent Theater. So we were up late having a good time. Ever thing was perfect. Clean comfy room. Late night room service. Friendly staff. Except... the construction at 8am. We complained and got $30 off. Big Whoop. If you can't sleep in your hotel then it's worthless. Double check for construction before booking.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the roof construction as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

We definitely understand your above comments and take them to heart. We failed to give you a full night's rest while you were with us. We have not been occupying the rooms directly below the construction to minimize the disturbances, but unfortunately due to the show at the venue next door we did have to rent those rooms while you were with us. Our construction will be complete by mid April if you cross over to St. Louis again for another show, please reach out to me directly so we can ensure you have a positive experience as our guests have come to expect of the Moonrise Hotel.

Thank you for the review.
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I'm giving 4 stars despite a bad experience that made my wife and me check out after our first night: the Moonrise has some rooftop construction going on and we woke up at 7:30 AM to the ear-piercing noise of a drill. We would have loved to stay at this charming place, but getting kicked out of bed at this ungodly hour is just not our idea of a relaxing vacation.

Moonrise didn't set correct expectations by announcing that they were undergoing some noisy construction. They didn't it point it out on their website, nor did they mention it to me when I called them to request a quite room before our arrival (Oh, the irony...). We only learned of the impairment when we checked in at 11 PM, and there was an apologetic letter in the room from the hotel management. So, this communication gap is certainly their fault.

However, their staff bent over backwards to make up for the inconvenience. When I told them that we were checking out early because of the noise, they were very nice and understanding of our predicament and made sure any charges that would usually incur for an early check-out were waived.

If you're looking for a place to stay in St. Louis, I do recommend the Moonrise. It's a stylish boutique hotel with a nice bar and great service – just make sure they're done with their rooftop construction.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

It means so much that you gave us such a nice review despite the inconveniences you encountered while you were with us for an evening. Our main priority is to provide a good night of rest for our guests and we were not able to provide that during your stay. I'm happy that the staff was able to accommodate your early departure so you could enjoy a restful stay in St. Louis while you were on vacation. Currently, during the week Monday through Friday we have construction on the east side of our rooftop. We are working on a new expansion for a year round rooftop venue which will allow for late night private events, drinks year round with a view and brunch on the roof once the weather is warmer. We are halfway through the project which will be complete by mid April. We would love another chance to have you as our guest once the project is complete. Please reach out to me if you plan to travel back to St. Louis so we can make up for this unfortunate situation.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience.
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

At the Moonrise now. Great hotel for the price- rooms are large and clean. Nice extras- h20+ toiletries, even a noise machine. Kids would love this place - moon theming everywhere in a cool, not overwhelming, way. Jessie at the front desk was genuinely welcoming & nice and we got a complimentary welcome sangria. Location is basically on top of the Pageant and walking distance to lots of great restaurants. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

The Homedics SoundSpa Sound Machine helps create that perfect atmosphere for a relaxing night away from home! Glad to hear you enjoyed our moon theme as much as we do. That sangria last Saturday was such a hit! Our bar staff creates a new tasty libation each weekend to help us get the night started during the check in process. Thank you for the kind words!!

It was so nice to meet you! Hope to have you back as our guest soon!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay! We were here for three nights. The hotel is different, quirky, and more intimate than a large chain. The service was very good. Cleanliness was excellent. We were on the third floor with a view of the ventilation system – but even the roof was pretty clean (for a roof) and the sunlight just poured in the room which is so rare that I wouldn’t have changed it. The rooms were quite. The bed was comfy. The couple things I would have changed – not many outlets, the toilet seat was not solid and the shower was on the small side. All very these are easy to live with. The food in the restaurant was delicious, and the bartender was good. Great location! Our daughter is at WashU so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

So happy to read you'll be back to stay with us again! We have a lot of new exciting developments happening in the area this summer including The Loop Student Living Initiative which is a new housing and retail space project through Washington University. Our rooms feature outlets on the base of both bedside lamps as well as technology ports on the in room desk, but we are always happy to provide an extension cord with additional outlet options upon request if needed. You may enjoy staying in our Walk of Fame Suite next time you are with us for a whole weekend as the room and bathroom are our most spacious option.

We truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Be sure to ask if they have finished their rooftop construction before you make reservations! This was a very impressive hotel in terms of style, comfort and cleanliness. But there was extremely loud construction noise starting before 8:00 am. We had arrived very late the previous evening and would have liked to have slept late. The manager did try to make amends when we were told her, but it was too late.

Room Tip: Make sure construction is completed before you make a reservation.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loves_mangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

It's so nice to read you found our hotel stylish, comfortable & clean! I am so sorry you were not able to enjoy a restful morning with us though. Our construction project is underway building a year round rooftop venue for our guest's use. The project will complete by mid April just in time for the Spring season. Please reach out to me directly if you happen to find yourself travelling to St. Louis in the next season, we'd love to have you back as our guest once the construction is complete!

Thank you!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
814 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#37 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,139 reviews
The Cheshire
#45 of 121 in Saint Louis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £126 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing