We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome!”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. I have stayed here twice and both times the service and room have been exceptional. The staff is friendly and ready to help - the Room's are clean and the prices are excellent. Decor is really cool. I found myself looking for excuses to come in to St. Louis and stay here, it's that good!

The food at the attached Eclipse restaurant is great as well! I look forward to staying again in the (near) future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Feel free to come back just to visit us for a weekend! Our staff would be more than happy for find activities or entertainment for a couple of days.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return!

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Moonrise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Moonrise Hotel for one night in early April 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.
The hotel decor (and architecture) wouldn't look out of place in a Wes Anderson movie, modernist inside and a rotating moon on the the roof - making it a destination building on the Loop. Inside, the moon theme continues but never becomes tacky, erring on the side of modernism rather than cliche.
The room was superbly appointed, we even had a small radio that played a variety of sleep sounds although I didn't need it - the bed being superbly comfortable.
The hotel has a restaurant and roof top bar - although it was a windy day we headed up for a cocktail and a look out to towards downtown and the Gateway Arch. I'm sure it would be a great hangout come sunshine!
The hotel is also in a great part of St Louis - neat University Town and on the Loop. The street itself has a bunch of great stores, an excellent patisserie and my new favourite cinema - the Tivoli Theatre, just down the road. I hope to visit again.
In all, we loved our brief stay in St Louis and the Moonrise Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a great view on the 7th floor. It was on the corner and the view looked out toward downtown...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ugaxque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

The décor of the hotel was very well done and tasteful. All of the rooms have a Sound Spa to provide peaceful sounds to help put guests to sleep as well as iPod docking stations if you wish to listen to your own music. The Tivoli is a great theatre and I recommend seeing a show there if you have not been.

Thank you for your detailed review!

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Love this hotel, funky modernist decor, super service from all the employees we met, and a comfortable bed with nice linens. Wow, the rain shower head is fab! Location was great for us, right next to The Pageant Theatre where my son was performing.
Honestly, this is the best hotel I've stayed at in years and the price wasn't outrageous.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Hairgoddess666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

The ambiance of the hotel is wonderful and the staff members just add to the experience for guests of Moonrise. We appreciate hearing that we are the best hotel that you have visited in recent years.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to Wash U. We had a delightful stay. Outside with Art Deco type colorful soft neon signage. Same colorful, welcoming feel in a modern and edgy but also soft and homey feel. Lobby is fun. Rooftop bar which we didn't get to but looks like a great location. Moonrise is in a charming, "high design" neighborhood with small restaurants, bars and quirky shops and chocolatiers. Room was quiet. Easy, free self-parking. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room. Perfectly adequate, prompt and friendly service. Bowling alley nearby! Pets allowed. We heard one dog bark for a few minutes. Otherwise nice and quiet. Seems like the hotel should be in Miami or West Hollywood .... in a good way.

Room Tip: Our room faced the rear, away rom the Main Street. (Decatur I think.) It was light, clean, compact a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Your comments about our hotel are spot on, many guests say the hotel has a South Beach feel to it. Pin Up Bowl is just one of many activities with-in walking distance of the hotel! Complementary self parking is available just behind the hotel and there are plenty of overflow lots less than a block away which makes parking easy for guests of the hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about our hotel.

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Right next door to our concert venue (The Pageant) Pricey, but worth it! Although we didn't have time do explore the area, it seemed to be great location for things to do. Has a great rooftop bar! The only complaint would be the bartender's service, but one person's rudeness/lack of customer service is no reflection on the rest of the hotel experience! Absolute yes for recommendation and a repeat customer!



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

If you are going to see a show at the Pageant, booking a room at Moonrise makes for a fun night! Only being steps away from the venue makes it easy for our guest to get to and back from the show. We look forward to you coming back and hopefully you will have more time to explorer the Loop.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent four nights at the Moonrise Hotel and I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is in a very nice location with many restaurants, local boutiques and shops. The hotel staff was professional and friendly. The bed was neat and very comfortable. The H2O shower gel and body butter were terrific (so hydrating). However, I did not like the shower head that was straight from the ceiling and I was not planning on washing my hair during my stay. I asked for a shower cap at the front desk and was very pleased to get one. The cleaning lady made sure to leave a new one in the bathroom every day and I really appreciated it. Being tired at the end of each day of my stay, I had in-room dining from the Eclipse restaurant and it was great. The menu changed once during my four nights stay, which I found nice. Everything I ate was excellent and came fast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linaya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

It is wonderful to hear that your time spent with us was pleasant! The menu in Eclipse changes four times, once at the begging of each season. If you do not like the rainfall shower heads we do have rooms that are handicap accessible that do not have the overhead show, you can make the request to have one when making a reservation if you wish. We hope that you will return soon!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here after a concert next door. The hotel is very modern and updated. Our room was comfortable and clean and the staff were helpful. The indoor and rooftop bars had good drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katwater86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Moonrise is a convenient place to stay for anyone attending a show at the Pageant; it is nice to walk a few steps back to your hotel after the show and have access to three great places to grab a drink before you call it a night!

Thank you for your review.

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
813 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,139 reviews
The Cheshire
#43 of 121 in Saint Louis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £135 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing