We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quirky but expensive”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice, quirky but expensive”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the Josephine Brown suite. As expected, it was very nice. Several of the reviews mentioned the outstanding hotel staff. We found that to be 100% true. Everyone is very friendly and attentive; including the maids & maintenance staff.

Our suite was on the 7th floor. The 8th floor is mainly a rooftop bar that is fun and active. The only negative was the music from the bar was annoying in our room until approximatley 2:00 AM.

Self-park is very easy & is the way to go. There is no need to use the valet.

Great location & worth a visit!

Room Tip: I assume that the rooms on the 7th floor catch most of the bar noise. If late night music bothers y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claytonj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I hope that the music did not disrupt your sleep while you were here. The self parking is plentiful just behind the hotel, but should it fill up on a busy night we always guarantee valet parking for guests of our hotel. We would love to have you back as our guest and if I can help you make a reservation and booking you in a quieter room I would be happy to assist.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    239
    59
    27
    22
See reviews for
254
494
78
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While the room was of a high standard, the exceptional feature of this property was the service. From the parking attendants, to the front desk to the maid service, everyone tried to be solicitous and helpful. The management's philosophy on service must be complemented because the helpfulness of the personnel was felt throughout the establishment. It was a crowded weekend for college graduations in the area and the hotel provided free valet service to the events including supplying towels to dry off potentially wet outdoor seats and hot coffee, tea and bottles of water to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments about our staff! We stress customer satisfaction to our associates but it is their positive attitudes and the love of what they do that allows them to provide the level of service that you experienced! Now that your child has graduated we hope that you will find another reason to come visit!

Regards,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brnj
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I went here just for a quick 20 year anniversary get-a-way without kids. Although we live close we had never been to the Loop. It was nice to just go our and walk down the street and people watch or see the many little places to eat. The desk service was very nice and helpful when we asked about places to eat. The rooms were very spacious and clean (we had a room with the jacuzzi tub which was wonderful). We also loved the fact that you had to have a room key in order to use the elevators.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Congratulations on your 20 year anniversary! That is an amazing milestone to reach and we are glad that you chose to celebrate it by staying at Moonrise. We appreciate your kind comments about staff members!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a nice boutique hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms. My only complaint is that the shower stalls, while roomy enough, made shaving my legs difficult. We stayed in a king room and the room was a nice size. There are plenty of restaurants and a great pastry shop within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank NTaylor81
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We do have five rooms with Jacuzzi tubs on property if you would prefer to book one of those for a future stay.

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently visited St. Louis for the first time. After doing some research, we decided to book our nights at the Moonrise in the Delmar Loop and were very glad we did. The Moonrise was fun, unique, but also very comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We loved our large corner room and the spacious walk-in shower. Great amenities too!

We used the metro to go exploring downtown and returned "home" to our neighborhood with it's many good options for good food. The Moonrise roof top bar was a great place for an after-dinner drink. Our only regret was not discovering the Italian bakery next door a little sooner!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are glad that you chose to stay with us too! Piccione is the Italian Bakery near the hotel that is new and seems to be a fan favorite with many of our guests and employees as well!

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a great stay at the Moonrise Hotel whilst in St.Louis for a baseball game.
To start with ....ample free secure parking to the rear of the hotel park yourself or use the valet service..The reception area is open light and modern, we were greeted by "Moonrise Commander" Erica who was very pleasant and very efficient...the map of the local neighbourhood Erica provided was a great help for those unfamiliar with the area.
The room was fantastic again open and airy and we had a nice view up and down Delmar Blvd.Bathroom was top notch and the bed was large and comfortable,nice sized flat screen Tv and excellent free WiFi ...not much more you could ask for in a hotel room.
The rooftop bar is a nice place to grab a beer and view the skyline if the weather is inclement there is a bar on the ground floor.
The hotel is close to the metro line (2 blocks) which was handy for Busch Stadium and at a cost of $4.25 for the round trip great value.
The surrounding area has a large selection of bars and restaurants ..
We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
You touched on many of the aspects of our hotel that our guest enjoy while staying here. If rain is in the forecast the bar on the outdoor portion of the rooftop will remain closed but the New Moon Room, which is enclosed, will be open for guests who are wanting to enjoy the view from the roof! We appreciate your wonderful review and are anticipating your return!

If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was a perfect hotel for our family visit to Washington University. It's a safe 10 minute walk to the university, there are a number of restaurants nearby, including the awesome Italian bakery next door. Parking is free in their back lot. The rooms were great and very comfortable. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Best of all, the price was too good to quote here via Priceline.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
If you have a child at Washington University or one that chooses to go to school there we would love to have you back on your next visit! If you do return to St. Louis we are always offering different packages and promotions you can inquire about through our reservations team.

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
773 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
906 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,093 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing