We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is very modern, the room was spacious and bright. There is no pool, however there is a very nice rooftop bar where you can relax at the end of the day and you can see for miles in any direction. The bed was comfortable. All of the staff seem friendly. The bathroom is also nice, however it was a bit dimly lit and small. There was some noise in the hallways.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DM_1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Not having a pool onsite can be a disappointment for some travelers, but we are only about five minutes away from Herman Park Public Pool if you are willing to make a short trip to relax poolside. If you return and would like information on the pool or any assistance with a reservation please let me know!

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed here two separate times and if anything, the second stay was better than the first. I concur that this staff is amazing...the front desk, the housekeeping staff, I had a very pleasant conversation with maintenance staff while on the elevator, it felt like I was staying with my best friends!
I have stayed twice in the Betty Grable suite, my boyfriend and I have just decided that's "our" suite...the room is beautiful and comfortable. I have also eaten in the restaurant located on the property and it is affordable and the food is good, the rooftop bar is also fun and lively if you are into the sort of thing.
We are already talking about when we can come back and I sure hope it's soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin' G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We want all of our guests to feel welcomed by all of our staff members and think it is great that you feel as if you are here with your best friends when you stay! When you do return if I can be of any assistance setting up a reservation please let me know and I would be happy to make arrangements for you to stay in your Betty Grable suite again!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The staff of the Moonrise were the best I have experienced in all of my hotel stays. EVERY person I encountered was friendly and attentive. The room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable. The location was 1 block from a Metrolink station, so getting downtown for the Arch, City Museum (via downtown trolley) and Busch Stadium were very convenient. We were a hop and a skip from Forest Park. My family really enjoyed visiting several spots there.

However, I traveled with my wife and 3 kids (ages 7-10). This hotel doesn't have a pool so you may want to look elsewhere if you have smaller kids. It was very loud in the hallway on our first of three nights. This is the reason for the average sleep quality rating. The shower needs some extra space to hang a washcloth as the little metal shelf is not enough. The hotel has a really cool rooftop bar. Because of this, drunk people made their way to our hallway in the middle of the night. If I visit St Louis again, I would absolutely stay at the Moonrise but not if I had my kids in tow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank benneac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

While we do not have a pool on site there is a public pool about a mile away that guests of the hotel can access. The hotel does have security guards that monitor the noise levels on our guest room floors; if security is not present while another guest is being disruptive they will respond to a guest’s noise complaint if the front desk is contacted. Our location near Forest Park is very convenient for families wanting to visit the St. Louis Zoo and there are a couple of great kid friendly restaurants in the Loop! We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you travel to St. Louis and if I can help make any arrangements please let me know.

Thank you for your review of our hotel!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I were in town to finalize her next four years of grad school. The hotel staff- outstanding.
Room was very nice and comfortable. Unfortunately, all the pros do not makeup for a terrible shower. Being able to take a decent shower is just as important as any element that I judge a hotel on. The rain style shower head is mounted directly in the center of the ceiling. No adjustment is possible. Even worse there is nothing to adjust. The water pressure was like a drip. I can't imagine any woman being able to get the shampoo out of their hair. I understand the need to restrict water flow but this was the worst I have experienced at a hotel in at least ten years. It is a shame because the Moonrise does many things very well. We initially were pleased and felt we had found our St Louis home for the next four years. With such a sub standard shower, we will have to look elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank sscane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I spoke with you during your stay to see what we could do to improve the water pressure. Unfortunately the shower head needed to be replaced because of hard water deposits in the shower head; upon your departure we were able to replace the shower head in the room you occupied which corrected the poor water pressure. We would love the opportunity to have you back and please feel free to contact myself if you have any questions.

Regards,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the Josephine Brown suite. As expected, it was very nice. Several of the reviews mentioned the outstanding hotel staff. We found that to be 100% true. Everyone is very friendly and attentive; including the maids & maintenance staff.

Our suite was on the 7th floor. The 8th floor is mainly a rooftop bar that is fun and active. The only negative was the music from the bar was annoying in our room until approximatley 2:00 AM.

Self-park is very easy & is the way to go. There is no need to use the valet.

Great location & worth a visit!

Room Tip: I assume that the rooms on the 7th floor catch most of the bar noise. If late night music bothers y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claytonj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I hope that the music did not disrupt your sleep while you were here. The self parking is plentiful just behind the hotel, but should it fill up on a busy night we always guarantee valet parking for guests of our hotel. We would love to have you back as our guest and if I can help you make a reservation and booking you in a quieter room I would be happy to assist.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While the room was of a high standard, the exceptional feature of this property was the service. From the parking attendants, to the front desk to the maid service, everyone tried to be solicitous and helpful. The management's philosophy on service must be complemented because the helpfulness of the personnel was felt throughout the establishment. It was a crowded weekend for college graduations in the area and the hotel provided free valet service to the events including supplying towels to dry off potentially wet outdoor seats and hot coffee, tea and bottles of water to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your comments about our staff! We stress customer satisfaction to our associates but it is their positive attitudes and the love of what they do that allows them to provide the level of service that you experienced! Now that your child has graduated we hope that you will find another reason to come visit!

Regards,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I went here just for a quick 20 year anniversary get-a-way without kids. Although we live close we had never been to the Loop. It was nice to just go our and walk down the street and people watch or see the many little places to eat. The desk service was very nice and helpful when we asked about places to eat. The rooms were very spacious and clean (we had a room with the jacuzzi tub which was wonderful). We also loved the fact that you had to have a room key in order to use the elevators.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Congratulations on your 20 year anniversary! That is an amazing milestone to reach and we are glad that you chose to celebrate it by staying at Moonrise. We appreciate your kind comments about staff members!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 121 in Saint Louis
820 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,152 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,412 reviews
The Cheshire
#46 of 121 in Saint Louis
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £118 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing