We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our wedding party, family and friends for our wedding last year. Most of the guests were from out town and this was an impressive way to base their explorations of the city. The hotel is funky and cool and staff is excellent. The rooms are incredible, with great moon themed decor, high end products and lots of space. Added bonuses include the rooftop bar and lounge, the new restaurant on the roof (Sunday brunch was outstanding) and proximity to so many great restaurants and attractions in the Loop. The only minor downside is parking- it is limited but there is valet on site. This is an awesome and unique spot to stay while visiting St. Louis (or on a staycation)- don't miss it!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellaforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
You should come back and celebrate your one year anniversary at Moonrise! We thank you for your positive review of our property. Parking can sometimes be a challenge, but valet is always available for any hotel guest that chooses to utilize it.

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    237
    57
    27
    22
See reviews for
250
487
76
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
448 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a great hotel. Super location. Beautiful building. Walking distance to some great restaurants, bars, shops, ice cream shops. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Free WiFi. Nice restaurant, Eclipse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and hope that we will have you back in the future!

Regards,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed in July 2014. The hotel is very nice, the staff very friendly. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We got a good rate by calling the hotel directly. Ask for any specials they have.
Valet parking is $18/day (check with hotel), but free parking is in a lot behind the hotel. I like the valet for security reasons. The last thing I want is something to happen to the car when on a road trip.
They have a well equipped gym which I enjoy when I'm away.
It's located on the Delmar Loop. There are alot of shops and some restaurants, but St Louis is not a very busy city unless a baseball game is on. The Loop is fun to see for a day. They have an area surrounding the stadium downtown which would be great fun, again, if there's a game on. Otherwise we found it a bit quiet. Its difficult to find food late at night!
If you plan on going to The Hill (their Little Italy), go on a Friday or Saturday night only. Otherwise its a ghost town.
Again, the hotel is very nice, close to the public transit and within the Delmar Loop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGuy1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We often have offers and promotions that can give you a better deal than what third party sites offer and we are glad you got to take advantage of one of them! The security the valet offers is nice but for those who prefer to save money by self parking there is a safe parking lot directly behind the building. The area around Busch Stadium is a lot of fun after Cardinal games and with the hotel being close to a Metrolink stop that area is easily accessible for hotel guests without having to drive or pay a high price for a cab. The hotel provides 24 hour in room dinning for the guests and there are other options for late night dinning such as Jimmy Johns down the street until 3:00a, Pin-up Bowls kitchen is open until 2:00am, and Pointers offers great pizza that delivers until 2:00am. If you return and would like more information on St. Louis or the Loop area please let us know and we would be happy to provide it.

Thank you for your posting a review!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We made our first trip to St. Louis to attend a wedding there. They reserved a block of rooms at the Moonrise Hotel to we made our reservations there. The hotel was perfect! It is reasonably priced, the rooms are large and clean, and it is in a wonderful walking neighborhood with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. There is an excellent restaurant on-site as well as a rooftop bar with a limited menu of food items. The staff was extremely helpful. The art deco touches at the hotel give it a unique personality. Easy walk to a Metro stop. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotsoftravel904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I hope you had an enjoyable weekend attending the wedding and visiting with friends! It is nice to hear that a guest feels our hotel was perfect! If you do return please feel free to ask for suggestions of places to see or fun activities in the St. Louis, the staff members would enjoy providing them!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our second stay here--the first when the property first opened. The rooms were large and comfortable--although as a person who prefers firm/hard mattresses, the ones provided are a little on the soft side. The showers still have the waterfall shower head but now the shower is closed off with doors, eliminating the water-logged floors that we encountered on our first stay. We were on the third floor, so we didn't encounter any noise as some other reviewers indicated they had staying on the higher floors. The property itself is immaculately clean--whenever we walked through the common areas, there was someone cleaning. The entire staff is very friendly.

If you are arriving on a Friday or Saturday or on a day when a concert is taking place at the Pageant theater a few doors down, forget about self-parking. Valet parking is $17, but we only had to use it twice during our stay.

The Eclipse Restaurant was good for late night dining. The salads were larger than we expected. One night my son was disappointed that the kitchen ran out of fries one night, so he had to make due with has browns.

Two minor negatives during our stay: 1. The height of the ironing board is too short. Anyone over 5'6" will find it uncomfortably short. 2. As vegetarians, we were shocked to learn that not one soup at the Eclipse Restaurant that didn't contain animal products. The cream of mushroom had bacon & the tomato soup used a chicken stock as a base.

Love this location because it's easy to walk to anything you need--Blueprint Coffee in the morning for fabulous coffee and home made baked goods,Fitz's for lunch, & Pi for dinner. Also, the neighborhood tends to skew younger which gives it a vibrant feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShoeGal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
There have been few changes to the hotel since the time you first stayed. We are currently working on adding firmer mattresses for guests with the preference, if you stay again make that a request in your reservation and we would be happy to honor it. On weekends the parking lot can fill up quickly, but there are two separate overflow lots for guests who want complementary parking. Unfortunately the ironing boards that fit in the closets are smaller; I apologize about any inconvenience that may have caused. I will speak with the restaurant about adding some vegetarian soup option to the menu so there is an option for anyone wanting one. We appreciate the feedback you have provided!\

Thank you,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here with our 11 year old daughter and 8 year old son. Everyone had an amazing time. The staff was courteous, the room was clean, and the neighborhood we stayed in was amazing. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We would love to have your family stay with us again! There are many kid friendly activities near-by and hopefully you got a chance to explore most of them but if you do return our front desk staff would be happy to provide more activities for your family.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Luxurious rooms and accommodations. A few hiccups but they handled it professionally. Would definitely recommend it for anyone staying in the St. Louis area. Close to nightlife and entertainment. Forest Park within a short drive - and wonderful food to top it off

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
It is great to know that any mishaps were handled to your satisfaction. Your recommendation of our hotel is greatly appreciated!

Thank you for posting a review.

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing