We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, amazing hotel, stay.”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff, amazing hotel, stay.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Moonrise as the first night of our honeymoon. From the moment we walked in, the staff was welcoming and very friendly. Throughout the trip they remembered us by our names, which was very impressive. They extended a free breakfast to us the following morning to celebrate our marriage, and moved us to a room with a better view of the city. Both were perks that certainly weren't expected, but made us feel very special. The room was extremely clean, loved the walk in shower, the sound machines, the view, all excellent.
We were able to walk everywhere on the loop and visit the shops and stores. There was an abundance of restaurants and bars along the strip. The rooftop bar was amazing, so laid back, views were impressive, vibe was cool. We did have some trouble with a wedding party that returned in the wee hours of the morning and was having quite the good time, but we were able to deal with that, thank goodness for that sound machine!
Breakfast was good, we had eggs benedict and frosted flakes french toast, both scrumptious.
The service at this hotel was A+++++, and we've both traveled extensively. The hotel was very well kept, clean, and had such an eclectic vibe, it was very trendy and fun. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. It's perfect for a quick night or weekend away. They made us feel so welcome and it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: I would avoid the top floor, the rooftop bar is right above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slim3450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
It is an honor that you choose to spend the first night of your honeymoon here at Moonrise! We typically try to do something special for our guests who are celebrating a special occasion. I hope the rowdy guest that arrived on your floor did not disrupt you from getting a good night’s rest. We do have security on staff that typically walk the guest room floors and remind people in hallways to be quiet, but if they miss someone they will respond to any noise complaint and ensure guests are keeping noise levels at a minimum. Your kind comments about our staff and property are greatly appreciated and we hope to have you back as our guests!

Thank you for sharing your experience

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    238
    59
    27
    22
See reviews for
253
490
77
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I love the hotel, the friendly staff, the roof top bar, but the noisy air conditioners in the rooms marred what would have been a perfect stay. They need upgrading. The hotel decor is nice, clean and modern and the staff is exceptionally friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves_2_Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I’m sorry that a noisy air conditioning caused a negative experience during your stay here. If you would like to contact me directly I can make sure that an Engineer inspects the room to ensure that the unit is functioning properly.

Regards,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently spent a few nights in St Louis and were pleasantly surprised when we stepped into the Moonrise. We had heard good things about this boutique hotel so we took a shot. We walked in to very friendly front desk employees. Helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was at the end of the hall on the 7th floor. Spacious and very clean. Well appointed. In the evening we went upstairs to the Moonrise Bar ( rooftop outdoor bar) for cocktails. Wonderful atmosphere, great vibe and beautiful view. great overall location. 10 minute ride to anywhere you need to be in the metro st louis area

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor. Rooftop bar is 8th floor. There was cleanup noise in particular Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 795ScottR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are located in the center of the St. Louis metropolitan area which leaves us about a ten or fifteen minute drive or Metrolink ride from any attraction in the St. Louis area. The Rooftop Terrace Lounge provides great views of the St. Louis area to take in while you are enjoying a cocktail, but it there weather does not permit to be outside, the New Moon Room also provides a great atmosphere to enjoy while sipping on a cocktail.

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Jake Westcott

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Staff is professional, attentive and very friendly and welcoming. Decor is funky and very cool. Rooms are large, well appointed and very clean. Beds are very comfortable. Restaurant was very good with outstanding dinner service. Rooftop bar was an awesome location to relax with a great view. Every staff member we had an interaction with was friendly and customer focused. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 970JimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Our staff members really enjoy working at Moonrise which makes it easy for them to provide the service you experienced! Your recommendation of our hotel is appreciated and we hope to have you back as our guest in the near future!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My overall experience at the Moonrise Hotel was a very good one. The attendants at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable. The view from the rooftop was amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

The only issue I had during my stay was the breakfast service. My first night I hung the tag on the door requesting breakfast to be brought to my room between 7:15 and 7:30. At 7:45 I had to call down to room service and tell them to cancel my breakfast order as I needed to leave for work. I deciced to give it one more try, so my second night I hung a tag on the door again requesting breakfast be brought to my room between 7:15 and 7:30. At 6:40 there was a knock at my door, waking me up, to deliver my breakfast. While the food was good, the room service itself stood a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerEyes9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I am sorry to hear the issues you encountered with room service during your stay. I will work with the General Manager of Eclipse to find solutions to not having room service delivered at the requested times and the next time you stay your experience can be perfect! If you would like to discuss the service or would like assistance with any other request please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I along with another couple stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night. We saw pictures of the hotel on the Internet and had to stay there. The front desk rep was really nice and friendly. Everything looked so stylish and clean. The elevators worked only with your room key which is an awesome safety feature. The rooms were spacious,(we had a king room). Everything was clean. The area is great and the metro is a short walk away. We will Def stay there again but will request not to be on the 7th floor. At times we could hear noise from the bar that's on the roof. No real complaints about the hotel itself. It's a must stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
The guest room elevators also service the bars on the roof of the hotel so we elected to have them secure so only guests of the hotel can access the guest room floors. I hope that the noise did not disturb your sleep while you were here. We can honor your request to keep you on a lower floor the next time you are here!

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute after arriving in St Louis while driving along Route 66 and needing a hotel and weren't let down. From checking in to leaving all the staff were friendly and even gave us a room upgrade as it was our honeymoon, the decor of the hotel is fun and interesting, the room was a nice size, clean and I didn't want to leave my bed in the morning. It makes a nice change from all the generic hotels where you could be in any city. The location was also good as we had a nice walk up the street before heading back to the roof top bar and sitting under the big moon on the roof, I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in St Louis

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We hope that you do return to St. Louis so we can have you back as our guest! The beds in the room are very comfortable and I know the feeling of not wanting to get out of it when it is time to wake up. It is nice that we were able to provide you with a different experience than they typical chain hotel!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#39 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing