We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great city!”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I stayed a couple of nights at Moonrise Hotel as part of a trip I'm currently on touring the US on holiday. I'm from Norway, and have visited the US frequently - and lived here for 5 years going to high school and college some years back.

I'll make this short: Moonrise Hotel is the best hotel I've stayed at. Ever. And I have stayed at a few around the world through my job in central banking and on various vacations. What surprised me the most, was that the hotel managed to be a contemporary design-hotel and at the same time a down-home and friendly place at the same time. Where lots of stylish and hip design hotels, including many in my native Scandinavia, often fail to genuinely make you feel at home (you more often feel like you're at a fashion show in Tokyo...), the "friendly" hotels often fail in one way or another in terms of the facilities. Not so at Moonrise. Top notch staff. Flawless design, style and comfort. And plenty of nice places to check out in the hotel's surroundings, in The Loop area of St Louis.

Well, guys and gals. If you like style but also like to be treated like a human being, you can't beat Moonrise Hotel. I hope to come back and visit y'all again sometime.

Semming, Oslo, Norway

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

We came to the hotel based on some photos on the internet. By the time we left we swore we would return. The staff if incredible. The hotel is surrounded with a great contemporary style. The location is supurb. This place and its people are charming.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanBoylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I booked this hotel with some trepidation because all of the reviews were glowing but the majority were written by people for whom this was their only contribution. Bur at $99 a night rate, I couldn’t pass it up & was certainly glad I did.We arrived and had a little trouble finding the entrance to the hotel. Once we did, though, we were greeted by a valet who directed us to the lot. Unfortunately, the hotel's parking is within a section of a free public lot, so you almost have to pay the $14 a night charge, unless you get lucky & find a space. (Not sure why they couldn’t buy property to make a private lot but whatever.) The front desk personnel were extremely friendly & helpful, telling us about the hotel (which was open for a total of 10 weeks when we checked in.) The building itself is designed in a really cool modern style which would be found in Miami rather than St. Louis. Lighted stairs, 50s futuristic furniture, and lots of really cool retro art are some of the features. The room itself had clean lines as well. The beds were really comfortable, plasma TVs with every cable channel imaginable, & free Wi-Fi. The bathroom did not have a tub but had a waterfall shower; the only complaint is that instead of a sliding door, there was a half pane of glass which did little to keep the water from soaking the rest of the floor, which meant that I had to have my towels changed every day.
We did use the restaurant in the hotel, and while it was good, we found it to be a little steep. Breakfast for the 3 of us was almost $40 with tip. Dinner was a staggering $100+ thanks to the $15 bottle of wine that is sold for $36. Room service was expensive as well but worth it when you are too tired to fight the crowds on a Friday night on Delmar. A little improvement on the variety of the offerings and an adjustment in the prices might be in order. One of the big features is the roof bar which is supposed to have a great view. Unfortunately we did not make it up there for by the time we got back each night, it looked more like a club scene. Because it is open to the public, the elevators can get crowded at night, especially on Friday & Saturday.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay & the high level of service here. Be sure to pick up their complimentary moon pies on the way in. Parents should check out the retro Space toys for sale next to the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShoeGal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We found the hotel to be clean and well-appointed. The staff was very attentive and helpful with recommendations for restaurants. The hotel is well-located in the heart of the Delmar Loop and convenient to many areas of Saint Louis. On weekends the hotel fills up with bar and restaurant goers, but we did not find the noise to be a problem. The breakfast was great, although service was a little slow. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc_denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We were traveling to St. Louis for a short vacation trip and decided to stay at the Moonrise Hotel when we saw an ad in a travel guide. Our stay was great! The Delmar Loop area of St. Louis turned out to be a fun place to spend some time, the hotel accomodations were great and the service was the best we have ever experienced. Be sure to check out the rooftop bar at the hotel and go down the street to eat at Blueberry Hill. Thanks to the way we were treated by the friendly and helpful staff, we will be back on our next visit to St. Louis.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelkevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

If you are heading to STL, and want a great hotel in a fun location, this is the place for you. Their staff was extremely friendly and informative. The rooms were clean, comfortable and very stylish. The roof top bar is a nice plus.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This place is great--modern, hip decor, large room, comfortable bed, free wi-fi (I'm doing this review from my room), but the best part is the staff--from the charming young man who greeted me when my taxi arrived, to the young woman at the front desk, to the young man who helped me with my bags... everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. This is my first trip to St. Louis and everyone has gone out of their way to give me relevant information about the surrounding area (which is great--the Loop is one of the "10 best streets in America" with restaurants, live jazz and lots of neat shops). Right across the street from Forest Park.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cxg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#47 of 124 in Saint Louis
970 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 124 in Saint Louis
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 124 in Saint Louis
1,470 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £108 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing