We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit!”
Review of Fountain on Locust

Fountain on Locust
Ranked #4 of 92 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Description: The most photographed restaurant in St Louis. And Home of The Ice Cream Martini ~ with delicious FRESH-MADE food, fine ice creams, chocolates and retro cocktails - all in a one-of-a-kind, handpainted Art Deco interior. Exceptional SOUPS!
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

While visiting family in the area, I brought them here in the afternoon because I had heard great things. We enjoyed our desserts and coffee , and I can't wait to come back! The staff is very friendly!

Thank MelanieF700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

So glad you were able to join us during your visit and brought family with you! We hope to have you back again the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Loved the restaurant but our car was broken into while eating dinner. Highly recommend restaurant but don't leave anything of value in your car!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kadenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi --thanks so much for your nice review about our food. I am the owner and heard what good people you were and am SO, SO, sorry this happened!! But the truth is, we have less break-ins than many more populated neighborhoods in St. Louis and the county. I know of only 2 others in the history of our restaurant - close to 7 years. I totally understand you are being even nicer by trying to help others with your warning -but honestly, valuables like lap tops and electronic devices left in sight in a parked car ANYWHERE are just as - and even more subject to theft, in other areas, than in Midtown. Thanks for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stopped here for lunch on a Saturday afternoon before attending a tennis tournament (it's within walking distance of Hotel Ignacio). The Plum Crazy martini and the chicken Caesar salad hit the spot. Fun decor (high ceilings with stylized murals). Some other time I would have checked out the chocolate-covered orange peels.

Thank Mechaieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

So glad you stopped in before the tennis tourney! Hope to have you back again the next time you're in the area to try out our chocolate covered orange peels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for dessert. We ordered two items. Our server ended up brining us three or four extra samples. Perhaps he could tell that we were tired from a long day at the zoo. Who knows? Everything. Was. Am. AZ. Ing. This is going to be a must visit every time we go to St. Louis!

Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We're so happy to hear we are on your must visit list now! Thanks for taking the time to post about us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous restaurant!! They have everything from handmade fountain sodas to unique cocktails as well as apps and excellent food!! The staff are outstanding and friendly. The atmosphere is comfortable and reminiscent of an “old" soda fountain hangout!!

Thank LuvBug2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to post! We're pleased you loved so much about us and look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fountain on Locust also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
Florissant, Saint Louis
 

Been to Fountain on Locust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing