We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lemp Mansion Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were looking forward to a scary fun dinner theater and this didn't come close. First of all for some reason they had a Wedding reception there and there was no place to park. Then instead of having the mystery dinner in the larger upstairs room they jammed us into a little room in the basement along with another group jammed into another room. There was hardly room to move much less have a show. We had to walk through the other room with the show going on to use the bathroom. They only had 2 actors and the male played 3 different parts. They went back and forth to the 2 rooms and did the same show in each causing the show to take forever. Out of 3 1/2 being there the actors were in our room for 45 minutes at the most. That left 2 hours and 45 minutes of just sitting around in the little room. The food was ok but with our salad we got a package of 2 cheap crackers and the salad left a fishy taste in my mouth. We didn't get a choice of entrees and the chicken had a nasty spicy taste. We thought we were going to have a scary experience but all we saw was a lame show with average food. We couldn't walk around the house because it was jammed with people from the wedding. Who has a wedding reception at a haunted house? This is the first and last time we will be going to the show here and I wish Living Social would have never sent us the offer!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank redstooge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Lemp Mansion Restaurant & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

The mansion itself and the grounds were really neat to look at. We did not stay the night but were going to partake of the Sunday chicken dinner. However the staff were all young with bad attitudes. Please let me say i LOVE young people as I have 3 amazing teenagers of my own. Which is why i was not about to throw down 16.95 not including the drink to be waited on by these rude punks. Maybe if we are in St. Louis again sometime and see on here that they have remedied the issues with their staff we will try again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAChampeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T, Public Relations Manager at Lemp Mansion Restaurant & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for taking time to visit the Lemp Mansion. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experiences and we thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We attended our first Lemp Mystery Dinner Theatre last night - it was the MOST FUN place to be! The show was "Murder in Mayberry" (loosely based on "The Andy Griffith Show" characters) and we laughed & laughed all night! The audience had a GREAT time and everyone had fun participating! The actors were AWESOME - soooo funny, clever, and improv geniuses!!! The meal was EXCELLENT: Yummy tomato bisque soup (my fave); tasty salad; wonderful chicken/potatoes/veggies; heavenly red velvet cheesecake! We loved the wine they served with dinner! The coffee with dessert was the best we've had at any restaurant (usually, we find restaurant coffee too weak). The busy Lemp staff couldn't be nicer and, boy, are they professional and efficient - they made sure our glasses stayed full of water, tea, soda. The Mansion was spotlessly clean (ditto for the restrooms) and what an awesome place to be on a chilly, rainy Saturday night! Great ambience!

The whole evening was DELIGHTFUL from beginning to end! The price for the dinner theatre is well worth every penny!!! Thanks to everyone at the Lemp Mansion Restaurant and the Jest Murder Mystery Troop for giving us a night to remember and talk about for a long time! We will recommend your Mystery Dinner Theatre to everyone! P.S. We love the Lemp Museum and gift shop, too! And we'd love to spend the night there in one of their gorgeous rooms!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElvisFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 1 night. I want to preface this review by saying that we did not choose this hotel for the haunted stuff; we're not into that kind of thing. We stayed here because we received a gift certificate. If you are a believer in ghosts and haunted houses, then you would probably appreciate this place a bit more than we did.

We stayed in the Lavender suite. The room was clean, huge and had a lot of character. It had an eating area with a large table, fireplace, coffee maker, etc. It had a king bed, a tiny TV (13 in), and a large bathroom. The shower was terrible. There was a normal shower head, but there was also side plumbing that had spouts along it that spat out cold water. So, while you're under the warm shower head, your sides are getting sprayed with cold water...bizarre! The bed was ok in regard to comfort, but it was under a window and you could hear the highway traffic all night. If you're a light sleeper this room would be too noisy, but we slept fine.

We ate dinner at the Lemp restaurant, and it was great. We had crab cakes for an appetizer, and they were good. One of us had surf and turf and the other had fried shrimp for entrees. Both were surprisingly good. The service was good too.

Breakfast at this "bed and breakfast" was less than desirable. Breakfast was laid out on the table when we arrived. My husband and I like to eat healthy, and this breakfast was not up our alley at all. The items on the table included: Otis Spunkmeyer (sp) muffins, potato chips, packaged glazed donuts things, chocolate candy, nutrigrain bars, two bottles of Orange juice, bottled water (yay), and some other sort of snack bar. That may be the perfect breakfast for some people, but we didn't eat any of it.

Overall, our stay was disappointing. The saving grace was the food at dinner. Again, if you're into ghosts and haunted houses you may get more out of a stay at this place than we did.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just back from Wednesday night stay in the Elsah suite. We were quite disappointed to say the least. We understand it's an old building and expected some quirks, but at 170 dollars a night we would expect better. The place is just not worth it.

For starters, the greeting I received upon arriving early to check in (they requested that we check in before 3PM) was less than cordial. One receives more enthusiasm from the greeters at Wal-Mart.
More importantly, it was cold in our room and there was no way we could find to adjust it. To make matters much worse, there was NO BLANKET! The only linens on the bed were a light basic sheet and a grungy bedspread. Did we need to pay extra for a blanket of some sort? Geez! It was bad enough to have other guests running up and down the hall screaming in the middle of the night; they didn't have much control of that. But no blankets is another matter altogether! It's difficult to sleep when you are cold! There is no one on the property to rectify the issues. They leave you with the keys to the back door and go home for the evening.

The breakfast was just as spartan as the room furnishings... Prepackaged muffins and cheap coffee. Yum!. And they placed the coffee maker in a place where the cord didn't reach the outlet? We had to put it on the floor. That's just silly.
The shower didn't get hot. Warm, but not hot. The bathroom was clean, but the room itself was quite drab, complete with paint peeling off the ceiling. I've seen nicer old furniture at plenty of garage sales.
Some sound insulating windows would be expected at this price point. The mansion sits right above the highway. Very noisy all night long! The window blinds do not even lower all the way, so by the time we finally managed to get a few hours sleep, the dawn brought more challenges.

To sum it up, the room, the bed, and the breakfast do not come close to justifying the rate, no matter how many ghosts they supposedly have! We didn't see any ghosts by the way. Perhaps they all left in order to find more comfortable accommodations elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dbellchamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I know this will sound vague and ambiguous, but besides being beautiful inside and out and having a great staff, bar and Sunday brunch, it is a creepy place to sleep. This might be because I knew the history going in, or it might just be creepy. We stayed in the huge Lavender Room and there wasn't a moment the entire weekend I didn't feel as though I was staying in someone's home and I was not welcome. The bathroom in this suite is incredibly spacious but my wife and I always felt like we were sharing it with someone to the point that I refused to take a shower in the shower stall because it is constructed with walls (not glass) on three sides with your back facing the rest of the bathroom.

Also of note: this B&B is not staffed overnight so if there are no other guests while you are staying there you are on your own overnight. If the idea of that is exciting to you, you'll love it. Otherwise it really ramps up the creepy factor.

That said, Paul Pointer and his staff are incredible. The food (especially the Sunday brunch) is top notch and the bar is one of the most intimate, fun bars I have ever had drinks at.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtl1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

The staff made us feel as if we were not welcome and that by not having a reservation, we were imposing on them. Neither the website or the recording on the phone says a reservation was suggested. The host was snarky and terribly cocky, the waiter did not check on us for refills of foods or drinks, and we were given tiny portions of the sides. Of course you could ask for more but it took nearly 15 minutes to track down our waiter. If the staff were even a slightly bit nicer, this place would be fantastic. the lady in the gift shop appeared upset that I did not have exact change for my purchase. When we left the gift shop she asked one of us to reach up and turn the DVD off that was playing because she "had heard it 1,000,000 times and also had a migraine". The last time I checked, I was not employed at the Lemp. But I will say that the Sunday dinner was great, the chef is the only thing saving the Lemp from closing.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Esmrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
814 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lafayette Square
Hotel Avyan
Hotel Avyan
#92 of 121 in Saint Louis
156 reviews
Benton Park Inn
#5 of 26 in Saint Louis
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemp Mansion Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemp Mansion Restaurant & Inn

Address: 3322 Demenil Pl, Saint Louis, MO 63118-3211
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lemp Mansion Restaurant and Inn was alternately the home and offices of one of St. Louis' first brewing dynasties. We offer our guests the opportunity to stay in the rooms that were once home to the original beer barons before prohibition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lemp Mansion Restaurant And Inn
Lemp Mansion Restaurant Hotel Saint Louis
Lemp Mansion Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing