We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When hotels really knew how to treat their guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #34 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“When hotels really knew how to treat their guests”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Step back in time to when service was the utmost concern of a hotel. The Chase Park Plaza in St. Louis is elegant and refined, providing every possible service for which a visitor could hope. My suite was as clean as could be, with a comfortable bed, fine linens, and large-screen TVs not only in the bedroom, but in the sitting room as well. All the staff with whom I came in contact was friendly and efficient. The hotel bar and restaurants were excellent. I didn't get a chance to take in a film at the in-house movie theater, but it looked like fun. Maybe next time. Valet and bell service was the best I've experienced in a long time, and the staff at the front desk was also first-rate. The surrounding neighborhood was lively, with a large selection of bars and restaurants. Great place to stay when you're in Saint Louis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARFA168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We’re thrilled to hear your stay at the elegant Chase Park Plaza was a truly memorable one. We were glad to have provided you with the most comfortable accommodations, attentive service and unique amenities. We will be sure to share your kind words with our associates. Please join us again when you are in St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    296
    145
    90
    50
See reviews for
253
285
38
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Club floor includes a very nice common area with complimentary appetizers, cocktails, and continental breakfast. We were upgraded at no additional cost to a suite and it was beautiful. The hotel restaurants are very nice and no need to look elsewhere. The outdoor pool is beautiful with a nice patio complete with fireplace and dining. Across the street is Forrest Park with the zoo, golf course and world class museums. Looking forward to retuning to the Chase.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for providing such lovely comments on your recent visit with The Chase Park Plaza. We’re so glad you relished the luxurious amenities offered at our Club Level Lounge, and how well you liked our superb restaurants and pool. Our location is truly ideal for enjoying all that the area has to offer, and we’re delighted you had such a wonderful visit with us. Whether you’re in town for a Cardinals game, or just to get away, we hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
110 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As I told the young man who checked me in, "The last time I stayed here was way before you were born." In those intervening years, this property had some ups-and-downs but seems to have reclaimed its premiere landmark stature. Located within easy distance from downtown, near cultural destinations, and adjacent to St. Louis's most prominent park, it's a worthy destination for visitors.

My last trip in the very early 70s found me in the newer, taller wing while this time I was in the older, brick façade building. One might find some of the rooms on the small side, but they're very well proportioned. Mine had an extremely comfortable king-sized bed with a full quilt (not one of those decorative throws one usually finds these days) flanked by end tables with lamps featuring adjustable lighting levels. The room is just small enough so the lone chair serves as both desk and easy chair. The bathroom was exceptionally large with a marble floor and a tub-shower combo as well as a separate walk-in shower. Gilchrist and Soames toiletries and a generous assortment of plush towels complete the picture. There is a mini-bar with the usual assortment of over-priced offerings (but good for chilling insulin) and a very commodious closet whose light didn't go off. Gray carpeting in a subtle plaid added to the general quiet that prevailed. I was not bothered by noise from either the corridor or busy Lindell Blvd 5 floors down and found a convenient bedside socket to plug in my C-PAP machine.

The hotel has an assortment of restaurants (not all of them serve all three meals) and a multiplex complete with concession stand. The theatres are plush and akin to private showing rooms at movie studios or cinematic moguls' homes. I also attended a reception in the rooftop Zodiac Room which offered splendid views and a large balcony from enjoy the warm spring night. Valet parking is exceptionally speedy as are check-in and out procedures. Friendly service throughout the hotel is a hallmark of this property.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the older wing can be a real hike from the elevators and ice machine. If mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
It is always our desire at The Chase Park Plaza to provide exceptional service, great accommodations and top amenities to make our guests’ stay outstanding. We are delighted to have provided all of that and more at your recent visit with us. It is so gratifying to know you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of your guestroom, and that you experienced a movie in our on-site multiplex theater. Thank you for your detailed comments which are so helpful. We look forward to having you again the next time you are in St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff was courteous and professional and exceeded expectations. We were provided with a wonderful venue for basing our daughter's wedding from. When a third party trolley broke down not far from hotel, Chase Park Plaza sent one of their shuttles to rescue wedding party and got them to reception on time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Congratulations to the beautiful couple on their recent nuptials at The Chase Park Plaza! It was an honor to be a part of your family’s special day. We are so grateful that the beauty and elegance of our property as well as the courteous and professional service provided by our associates exceeded your expectations. It was our privilege to assist the wedding party when they had difficulties getting to the reception. Thank you for sharing your lovely review and your special day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Located in St. Louis' cool West End neighborhood, this hotel offers a great combination of classy elegance, top notch service and an excellent location. We were visiting Washington University, which is about 2 miles away, and the Chase was perfect for our purposes. The hotel is a large, full block building dating back decades. The lobby is open, with marble floors, high ceilings - a grand hotel lobby. The hotel offers valet parking (for about $20+/night - a little pricey), but the service was worth it. While they gave us a ticket for the car, the valet knew who we were and as soon as he spotted us in the lobby, the car was up and ready.

The rooms themselves are large. We had a small suite with a pullout sofa and separate bedroom. The decor was fine and the room was clean. I think we had a view of the park across the street, but overall the room was large, unique, comfortable and clean. There were three of us and there was plenty of room.

The hotel has several restaurants - we ate in none of them. Not because they didn't look great, but because the hotel is located in the heart of St. Louis' West End neighborhood, which offers several blocks of great restaurants, bars, ice cream shops, snacks and even a comedy club. We decided to walk. But the restaurants in the hotel did look great and included a new American and a steakhouse.

The hotel is also located across the street from a large St. Louis park (can't remember the name), complete with bike and running trails, gardens, a museum and a golf course. We went on a morning run through the park and it was excellent. Great trails or street running through the park. Runs are flat and open. We did a 4 mile run but you could easily do a 6-8 mile run without doubling back.

On the opposite end of the park is Washington University, so if you are visiting students at the school, you can take a nice walk from the hotel on one end and end up at the school at the opposite side. It's about a 30 minute walk - but a really nice one.

Perfect hotel for our purposes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glbtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are delighted that you found The Chase Park Plaza both perfect for your needs during your recent stay. Our landmark property in St. Louis is indeed beautiful and it is wonderful you felt so comfortable and refreshed here. As you mentioned, our location is so convenient to the activities and Central West End attractions you enjoy, as well as Washington University and Forest Park. Our associates will be gratified to know how well they met your needs, as they are committed to delivering the top-notch service you enjoyed. Thank you for your glowing review. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was hoping to be able to write a review for Easter Brunch this Sunday as I called for a reservation two and half weeks ago. After receiving a voicemail on April 1 "confirming" my reservation, I found out today that I do not have a reservation and there are none available. The inefficiency of the way these reservations are handled is completely unacceptable. I made at least 3 phone calls to the Chase and each time no one answered and I had to leave a message. I certainly expected more from a "luxury" hotel. This is my family's first Easter in St. Louis and now it will be near impossible to find availability for brunch anywhere in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMG320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid comments regarding your recent restaurant reservation experience. While it is not clear in this forum as to what occurred, we deeply regret any disappointment you encountered. We strive to always provide the highest level of service in all areas of our hotel, and we are truly sorry that we did not achieve it in your situation. Please accept our sincere apologies, and hope you will allow us to provide our fine service to you and your family at a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Living in the St Louis area, I always wanted to stay at the Chase. So my husband and I stayed a weekend to celebrate our anniversary. It is a lovely historic hotel and the hotel accommodations did not disappoint. The room was small but very comfortable. Beds were comfortable and room was quiet. We did have some problems trying to get the thermostat set comfortably. There was no coffee maker in the room, so one has to go buy a cup of coffee for $3...and WiFi is not free either. At this price I expect both to be complimentary. We ate at two of the hotel's restaurants and they were very good. Excellent food and great staff. Parking was also expensive and we saw later that there was a much less expensive parking garage right on the corner. There is a movie complex right on site which is really neat and there are also lovely little bars and places to sit and have a drink and enjoy the surroundings. It is also in the Central West End which is a great place to walk to with lots of cafes, restaurants, shops and entertainment. I think it is only a couple of miles from the Fox Theatre too. All-in-all a lovely place but one felt a bit nickel'd and dime'd.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It is a thrill to read that you and your husband chose our hotel to celebrate your special anniversary weekend at The Chase Park Plaza! We are glad you were satisfied with the luxury of your room, and will be sure to pass on your compliments to our dining staff. They will be gratified to know how their cuisine and service made your anniversary celebration so extraordinary. We regret, however, that you encountered any issues with your room’s thermostat. This is not typical, and we will share your comment with our Maintenance staff. As you mentioned, we do charge for parking in our secure garage but alternatively some guests choose to park off-site. We would be delighted to welcome you and your husband for future celebrations! Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#36 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. Through a recent renovation, that storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from décor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, the private residences In addition to premier amenities. The Chase Park Plaza offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. In so many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing