We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #31 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Absolutely Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

- Meeting Room had stuff stolen by employees. Asked them to review surveillance videotape. No admission or accountability.
- The food was terrible and overpriced
- one of team members got inappropriate phone calls at 1am, 2am, from a crank caller
- Never an apology from GM

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We must apologize if you were not impressed at every turn. It is certainly regrettable if you did not care for our dining selections. While it is not possible to address your comments in this forum, we do encourage you to let us know if you have any questions or concerns about your recent stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    295
    143
    87
    49
See reviews for
251
280
38
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This remodeled old and once grand hotel is trying hard to recover something of its old elegance, while remaining open to less formality. But to survive it has been required at one point to add a multiscreen cinema entered from the lobby, which may result in even less formality than it is currently aiming for. The dining facilities retain the old grandeur of design and decent food with reasonably attentive service. So it appears that the hotel is still trying to find its place in the hotel hierarchy. The location is great, just off Forest Park, and a block from the restaurant action on and around Euclid Ave., and the hotel has a parking garage for self-parking (valet service available also). We were there for the Opera Theater of St. Louis, in Webster Grove (approximately a 18 minute drive once you know the way (there are a lot of turns), but the hotel will print out a good driving map for you), so that worked well, and the St. Louis Art Museum is at the other end of Forest Park. Our room had a sitting room as well as the bedroom, and was nicely furnished, but the windows had not recently been cleaned on the outside. By East Coast standards, the hotel was a good bargain (but we had a rate obtained through the hotel's deal with the Opera Theater, which reduced the cost somewhat).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobFran_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Your detailed comments of The Chase Park Plaza are greatly appreciated. We’re glad you enjoyed our central location, our dining, and found us to be a good value. All of our associates will be gratified to learn how much you liked their attentive service. The Chase Park Plaza Cinemas were carefully planned and decorated to give visitors an extraordinary, cinematic experience. Hotel guests love the option to view current movies without leaving the premises. We truly hope we can welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our group enjoyed our stay at the Chase Park Place, The property was lovely, with old world charm and elegant decor. We were there to attend a performance at the Muny, so the location was perfect. The Club was a great plus and provided us with breakfast and snacks in the evening. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for Club Level room to gain access to Club on 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for complimentary review of The Chase Park Plaza. It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience. A St. Louis getaway can be the perfect escape and our location is just right for taking it all in. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities of your Club Level accommodations. Your recommendation is truly an honor. We would love to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I attended a business meeting at this hotel in June 2014. The hotel is very nice and away from the traffic surrounding the downtown area of St. Louis. The rooms were perfect for a business traveler and the meeting room was outstanding. Staff was very helpful. We ate on site two nights and had great meals. There is also a nice bar with a view over the stylish pool area and deck. I saw several people having drinks and eating meals served poolside. I also liked the movie theatre which has several current movies showing. Although I rarely left the hotel during my visit I felt like I got to do quite a bit. Our group will be returning next year and I told my wife we need to stay there while on a family trip especially because it is down the street from the Basilica, which is one of the most beautiful Catholic churches I have ever seen. Looking forward to going back to the Chase Park Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHLawDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
The greatest compliment we could receive is that our guest has enjoyed their stay so much that they plan to return for a future trip. We cannot thank you enough for your complimentary review of The Chase Park Plaza. We truly appreciate your remarks and are elated to read how much you liked our hotel, our central location, and all of our unique features. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I have always enjoyed the looks of this hotel and had high hopes for this hotel. This hotel appears to try to cater to the up and coming young business professionals with a high disposable income. The rooms are priced as such where it is not a overprice, but it does make some shy away from the cost. In addition the movie theater and pool party were defiantly catering to generation now. When we arrived we were welcome with luke warm reception. We had booked a king suite, however only a queen was available, with a view. No big, it was our choice to make. The "suite" was slightly larger than a regular hotel room, with an additional room crammed in. There was no refrigerator, although we could see where one was obviously ripped out. (and I do mean ripped out, the wood was broken and cracked where the refrigerator once stood.) The decor of the room could have stood an update, it was on the cusp of completely needing to be redone. It looked like decor that old money would have enjoyed.

The bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean. If you want a place that blocks out light completely you are good to go here! The room was quite, although occasionally you could hear other guests. (We were on the same floor as some bachelor parties so I don't think the noise was the hotel's fault.) The work out facilities were an actual gym, so equipment to spare. The best thing about this hotel was the location. We would walk around the central west end and enjoy food, shopping or the night life. We walked in the park and loved the grocery store next door. We were completely relaxed here. I think part of the reason why is the ways the rooms were set up, they felt like little apartments. If you do stay here, try the Sunday brunch, you won't be disappointed. All in all, it was a good trip. For a hotel of this caliber I just expected a bit more. I feel as if they are trying to be more of a Vegas style hotel, and it could work for them, they just need to update some more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side have a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flakenbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Your positive review of The Chase Park Plaza is truly appreciated. We’re delighted you found so much here that you liked, including our central location, the gym, and our dining options. We apologize if your room did not satisfy you in every way. Please know we encourage all of our guests to inform us right away if something is not quite right, so that we may have the opportunity to assist. We’re glad you had a good trip with us, and we would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying at the Chase and sadly this time was disappointing. Upon arrival there were dead bugs on the window seals, mold in toilet and an inch of dust on the baseboards. I took pictures and went to the front desk with my concerns and they cleaned the bugs and toilet but did nothing about the baseboards. I love historic older buildings however they need to have been cleaned in their recent history. Everyone there is friendly but the filth really ruined the trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pwiddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
While we’re glad you chose to stay with us a second time, we are thoroughly troubled by the issues you shared. Though it is truly disappointing to learn that your experience was not reflective of the customer service that we’ve set, we are truly grateful that you reached out and shared your review. Please rest assured that the housekeeping department will be alerted and will immediately take care of the details you pointed out. We ask that you will accept our apologies, and hope you would reconsider and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. My room was spacious. The bathroom was larger than most other hotels. I loved the feel of the linens on the bed. I had cocktails and dinner on the patio of Cafe Eau. I recommend the Apple Orchard and the Shrimp & Grits. I plan to explore the shops in the neighborhood before my pedicure appointment in the hotel spa. I love that I can walk to Forest Park. Oh yeah...the pool area is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50sjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We couldn’t be more thrilled with how happy you were with your recent stay with The Chase Park Plaza. Thank you for your kind compliments with how beautiful you found our hotel. We’re so glad you enjoyed the luxury of all our amenities and services. And your meal choice sounds delicious! Please come back for another great stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#39 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. Through a recent renovation, that storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from décor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, the private residences In addition to premier amenities. The Chase Park Plaza offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. In so many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing