We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An iconic hotel and grand view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An iconic hotel and grand view”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Chase Park Plaza hotel in St. Louis is one of those iconic hotels that many people are not aware of. The beautiful hotel has gone through many stages but has gone through a renovation and is back as the place to stay when in St. Louis. Located across the street from Forest Park, the largest city park (yes, larger than New York's Central Park), the hotel is into only a great place to stay but also offers one of the best view of St. Louis at night from the top flora terraces. I strongly recommend it as a place to stay When visiting St. Louis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abell46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of Chase Park Plaza Hotel. We’re thrilled that you consider us to be the place to stay in St. Louis. It is delightful so much of what we have to offer made your stay truly memorable, including our central location and our views of St. Louis. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    298
    149
    91
    56
See reviews for
263
288
38
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Large spacious rooms in a very well maintained hotel. Many of the rooms are large suites. Excellent staff. The location is great with plenty to do within walking distance. Some of the rooms have odd layouts though so beware.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeward2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We’re grateful you took the time to share your kind review of Chase Park Plaza. We’re glad you enjoyed so much here, including our accommodations, our excellent staff and convenient location. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

- Meeting Room had stuff stolen by employees. Asked them to review surveillance videotape. No admission or accountability.
- The food was terrible and overpriced
- one of team members got inappropriate phone calls at 1am, 2am, from a crank caller
- Never an apology from GM

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We must apologize if you were not impressed at every turn. It is certainly regrettable if you did not care for our dining selections. While it is not possible to address your comments in this forum, we do encourage you to let us know if you have any questions or concerns about your recent stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This remodeled old and once grand hotel is trying hard to recover something of its old elegance, while remaining open to less formality. But to survive it has been required at one point to add a multiscreen cinema entered from the lobby, which may result in even less formality than it is currently aiming for. The dining facilities retain the old grandeur of design and decent food with reasonably attentive service. So it appears that the hotel is still trying to find its place in the hotel hierarchy. The location is great, just off Forest Park, and a block from the restaurant action on and around Euclid Ave., and the hotel has a parking garage for self-parking (valet service available also). We were there for the Opera Theater of St. Louis, in Webster Grove (approximately a 18 minute drive once you know the way (there are a lot of turns), but the hotel will print out a good driving map for you), so that worked well, and the St. Louis Art Museum is at the other end of Forest Park. Our room had a sitting room as well as the bedroom, and was nicely furnished, but the windows had not recently been cleaned on the outside. By East Coast standards, the hotel was a good bargain (but we had a rate obtained through the hotel's deal with the Opera Theater, which reduced the cost somewhat).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobFran_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Your detailed comments of The Chase Park Plaza are greatly appreciated. We’re glad you enjoyed our central location, our dining, and found us to be a good value. All of our associates will be gratified to learn how much you liked their attentive service. The Chase Park Plaza Cinemas were carefully planned and decorated to give visitors an extraordinary, cinematic experience. Hotel guests love the option to view current movies without leaving the premises. We truly hope we can welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our group enjoyed our stay at the Chase Park Place, The property was lovely, with old world charm and elegant decor. We were there to attend a performance at the Muny, so the location was perfect. The Club was a great plus and provided us with breakfast and snacks in the evening. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for Club Level room to gain access to Club on 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for complimentary review of The Chase Park Plaza. It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience. A St. Louis getaway can be the perfect escape and our location is just right for taking it all in. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities of your Club Level accommodations. Your recommendation is truly an honor. We would love to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I attended a business meeting at this hotel in June 2014. The hotel is very nice and away from the traffic surrounding the downtown area of St. Louis. The rooms were perfect for a business traveler and the meeting room was outstanding. Staff was very helpful. We ate on site two nights and had great meals. There is also a nice bar with a view over the stylish pool area and deck. I saw several people having drinks and eating meals served poolside. I also liked the movie theatre which has several current movies showing. Although I rarely left the hotel during my visit I felt like I got to do quite a bit. Our group will be returning next year and I told my wife we need to stay there while on a family trip especially because it is down the street from the Basilica, which is one of the most beautiful Catholic churches I have ever seen. Looking forward to going back to the Chase Park Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHLawDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
The greatest compliment we could receive is that our guest has enjoyed their stay so much that they plan to return for a future trip. We cannot thank you enough for your complimentary review of The Chase Park Plaza. We truly appreciate your remarks and are elated to read how much you liked our hotel, our central location, and all of our unique features. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I have always enjoyed the looks of this hotel and had high hopes for this hotel. This hotel appears to try to cater to the up and coming young business professionals with a high disposable income. The rooms are priced as such where it is not a overprice, but it does make some shy away from the cost. In addition the movie theater and pool party were defiantly catering to generation now. When we arrived we were welcome with luke warm reception. We had booked a king suite, however only a queen was available, with a view. No big, it was our choice to make. The "suite" was slightly larger than a regular hotel room, with an additional room crammed in. There was no refrigerator, although we could see where one was obviously ripped out. (and I do mean ripped out, the wood was broken and cracked where the refrigerator once stood.) The decor of the room could have stood an update, it was on the cusp of completely needing to be redone. It looked like decor that old money would have enjoyed.

The bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean. If you want a place that blocks out light completely you are good to go here! The room was quite, although occasionally you could hear other guests. (We were on the same floor as some bachelor parties so I don't think the noise was the hotel's fault.) The work out facilities were an actual gym, so equipment to spare. The best thing about this hotel was the location. We would walk around the central west end and enjoy food, shopping or the night life. We walked in the park and loved the grocery store next door. We were completely relaxed here. I think part of the reason why is the ways the rooms were set up, they felt like little apartments. If you do stay here, try the Sunday brunch, you won't be disappointed. All in all, it was a good trip. For a hotel of this caliber I just expected a bit more. I feel as if they are trying to be more of a Vegas style hotel, and it could work for them, they just need to update some more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side have a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flakenbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Your positive review of The Chase Park Plaza is truly appreciated. We’re delighted you found so much here that you liked, including our central location, the gym, and our dining options. We apologize if your room did not satisfy you in every way. Please know we encourage all of our guests to inform us right away if something is not quite right, so that we may have the opportunity to assist. We’re glad you had a good trip with us, and we would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
908 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
559 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. That storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from decor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, corporate apartments, and private residences In addition to spectacular amenities, The Chase Park Plaza is now a Royal Sonesta hotel and offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing