We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh or worse for $189”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #35 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and three adult children stayed in a suite (bedroom with a TV/sofa/chair area plus a desk for working. Two slept in the bedroom, one slept on the sleeper sofa and two in the adjoining bedroom. Amenities were nice, e.g., various soaps, etc. The room wasn't spick and span, but OK. The windows were filthy, and seemed like they hadn't been washed in months. The staff wasn't overly helpful, asking for an "early check-in" required calling on the day we arrived for the wedding.... driving from Minneapolis and not knowing if you'll be able to shower/change isn't the best. We opened the sleeper sofa and found it had Cheezit crackers... and no bedding. When we prepared for bed we called housekeeping -- who came after 1/2 hour and thrust the bedding at us. The blanket was worn with fabric missing/torn on one side, but at 10PM who's going to argue.... I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tgburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

It’s always our most important goal to provide the best in service, and so we are troubled by the details you have shared regarding your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the housekeeping and service issues you experienced after your long drive. This is not our usual standard, and we will be sharing your comments with our entire housekeeping team. We hope you might return in the future for the kind of encounter you deserve. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
There are newer reviews for The Chase Park Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ok, so this is a venerable old hotel, proven by the dated furnishings in my room, the paint chips in the room and hallways. Ultra small bathroom, though other people I spoke with had much larger bathrooms. I will say the immediate area in the west end and Forest Park is lovely, but the hotel to me wasn't much better than average. Yes, I was in a suite, but would have been happy with higher ceilings and a larger space than two small compartmentalized rooms. It just didn't really do it for me. One of the most important things to me is a bathroom with counter space and I'm guessing my sink and vanity at best was 30" wide. No bath robe but when I called they sent one up. Two coffees for the coffee maker, one decaf and one regular, but no tea. Towels were ready to be replaced. I noticed a number of older people reliving yesteryear and some special occasions taking place. I travel a tremendous amount for business and pleasure and was left scratching my head as to why this property merits so many four and five star ratings. I personally think St Regis should gut the place and give St Louis a taste of how a five star hotel is run, then again I can always stay at the Ritz Carlton again. This was a first time try and didn't really do it for my taste. Staff were very polite and nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a large bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

While we’re glad you appreciated a few aspects of your recent stay with us, we’re disappointed that we did not impress you at every turn. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations. Your comments will be reviewed by our management team as we hope to always provide the best to our valued guests. We hope you will stay with us again. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We're former St. Louisans who came back for a weekend visit & chose the Chase for its perceived charm & proximity to attractions. Public spaces are nice, rooms are terribly outdated. Finishes, furniture, bedding, black mold in showers on caulk in shower, etc. indicate that it's time for a major room refresh. It felt like an airport Four Points that only saw budget business travelers vs. the image it tries to portray with it's vibrant "party" pool and swank meeting/event space.

Front desk reception & operator assistance was slow. Check in took forever and we had to move rooms after night one thanks to water coming through the ceiling in our bathroom. The guests in the room above us had "do not disturb" on their door thus the cause of the leak was never determined. We were moved to a suite (with a much smaller bathroom!) and happily, credited a portion of our night's stay due to the inconvenience. Staff were nice but I spent too much time waiting to speak to them, calling the operator on multiple occasions to procure bedding for the suite's uncomfortable pull out sofa, and then moving rooms. All told, I probably logged about 2 hours of waiting and/or discussing the issues we encountered during a 36 hour stay. I didn't want to spend so much time with hotel staff during my family getaway.

The Chase always had such a charming reputation, but the hotel definitely needs an investment in its rooms if it intends to compete with the more contemporary and well-maintained decor of others in town (Westin, etc.). Increasing staff around peak times would also bode well.

Room Tip: If you're going with kids, the suite might sound like a good option - but the bathroom & bat...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GrapeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We deeply regret that your family getaway was not a completely positive experience. It is truly regrettable you encountered the trouble you detail here with the guests above your room. We were happy to quickly move you into a larger room and provide credit for your trouble. We also apologize if you were not impressed at every turn in your accommodations, and will be reviewing your experience with our management team. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We only live an hour from St. Louis, but decided to stay at the Chase Park Plaza to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The Chase is located on the eastern edge of Forest Park in mid-town St. Louis. It was great! The room was as quiet as any I've stayed in, and there was no light coming into the room once the shades were drawn. It's probably so quiet due to the location next to a large park, as traffic is minimal late at night. It has a 4-screen movie theatre just off the lobby, and is very stylish. Everything was very nice during our stay. We also ate dinner in the Tenderloin Room and it was fantastic. One of the better overall meals I've experienced referring to the quality of the food and the service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dugenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Happy anniversary to you both! It was a pleasure to have you during this celebratory occasion, and we’re delighted that you found everything so nice during your stay. A meal at the Tenderloin Room is a treat, and we’re glad you enjoyed it. Please visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When traveling to St. Louis on business, staying at the Chase Park is a pleasure. The hotel is an old grand historic one, updated with modern amenities like wifi, lush bedding and towels, and other conveniences. The location is perfect for hikes in ForestPark, dinner in any one of the quaint local restaurants, grabbing snacks or lunch at Straubs, the local gourmet grocer, full-service movie theatre right in the hotel. I prefer the Chase Park over all others on frequent trips to St. Louis.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShoreUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Whether our guests stay for business or leisure, it’s always our desire to provide the best experience possible. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback of Chase Park Plaza Hotel. We’re delighted you enjoyed our historic charm, luxurious amenities and central location. We are honored that you prefer our hotel over any other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights while in town for a wedding. I was pleasantly surprised at the beauty and class this hotel has, as compared to many others in this city. The price was also very fair compared to other similar hotels in other cities. The lobby, restaurants, movie theater, pool and other public areas are top-notch. The Chase has a great combination of historical charm and modern ambiance. Our room was small but well-appointed, with a nice view and large marble bathroom. The best thing about the hotel is actually the location; you can walk right out of the back "residence" entrance, and be on at the Maryland Plaza restaurants and bars, and a great little gourmet market. Everything on paper was good--but we just didn't feel like the service was very warm or attentive. Housekeeping did a rather lousy job--they cleaned the place, barely, but didn't replenish the coffee or other things besides shampoo. Our glasses were not cleaned. The check-in and check-out was perfunctory. The food and service at Cafe Eau were sup-par. All in all, this is probably one of the best hotels in St. Louis. But that is said with the understanding that the hotels in St. Louis are not quite equal to the hotels in other U.S. cities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank craezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

While we’re glad you were happy with so many aspects of your recent visit with us including our accommodations, central location and offerings, we do regret if you felt that not every detail was perfect. We apologize for any lack in housekeeping or in the hospitality of our associates. Your comments will be shared with everyone here to ensure that care is taken to provide the best service on every level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed at the Chase several times and they always impress me. Most recently, our stroller tire was low. The maintenance staff had our tires inflated and back to us within 10 minutes. They go outside what normal hotels would to satisfy their guests, including opening up the gift shop after hours. The food ( both restaurant and room service) has always been excellent. The pool is a wonderful retreat from STL's hot summers and the movie theatre is a great added feature. Finally, it's located in the central west end that has awesome restaurants and shopping. I can't say enough great things about this hotel. It's the only place I stay when I go to St Louis.

Room Tip: The Suites with a balcony are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veress25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks so very much for your wonderful review of Chase Park Plaza. We’re positively thrilled we could provide the exceptional service, hospitality and accommodations you described. Our associates will be gratified to hear how much you appreciated their excellent service. Your loyalty is a great compliment to us all. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,382 reviews
The Cheshire
#43 of 121 in Saint Louis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Parkway Hotel
#29 of 121 in Saint Louis
582 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £144 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. That storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from decor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, corporate apartments, and private residences In addition to spectacular amenities, The Chase Park Plaza is now a Royal Sonesta hotel and offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing