We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In town respite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
st louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In town respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We decided to treat ourselves to an "in-town" respite which was about equal in cost to a fine dining experience. However, our respite in tastefully decorated rooms appointed with period furniture/artwork and graced by a welcoming hostess proved to be far more restorative than the finest dining anywhere could have been. And better value to boot.

This was a "first" for us. I do not understand why it did not occur to us before. I highly recommend Napoleon's Retreat to out-of town visitors as well as to St. Louis residents. Napoleon's location in Lafayette Square is within blocks from a lovely park, interesting eateries in an antebellum historic section of St. Louis...a living treasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Manager at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you for your very thoughtful review. We loved having you as our guests and hope that you'll be able to escape to Napoleon's Retreat again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
98
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in St Louis Mo, let me tell you about Napoleon's Retreat. My husband and I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions and would not even think of staying anywhere else. Stacy is a gracious hostess who makes you feel welcome the moment you walk in. The rooms are beautiful and the food is excellent. I have stayed at more expensive places and not been treated half as well. My favorite room is the Lafayette. There are 5 windows 3 0f which that overlook Lafayette Street. The view is pleasant and relaxing on of itself. The bed is super comfy and the rates fantastic. If you are in the market for a great experience while in St Louis, please give Napoleon's Retreat a try. It is so worth it! : )

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you so much for the glowing review! You are both such wonderful guests, and our entire household loves it when you visit us! We will be sure to have another loaf of banana bread ready for your next stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My partner and I pride ourselves on finding B&B s with historical architecture, Napoleon's Retreat did not disappoint us. The courtyard breakfast was fantastic. Stacy was so accommodating with our requested gluten free meals. We were provided with a superior dining guide to the area. Being from New Orleans we arrived a week after hurricane Isaac and received much needed pampering.
It is very obvious Stacy and her husband love running this bed and breakfast.


Carlos and Jim
Stayed September 2012

Room Tip: Charles De Gaulle room has its own entrance to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Quaint courtyard breakfast, good food, comfortable room. Wish there weren't so many stairs, that's part of having high ceilings, I guess. Stacey was very pleasant, we enjoyed our stay. She gave us good suggestions for dinner and was so accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your stay at Napoleon's Retreat. It was a pleasure meeting you earlier this summer. I agree that our long flights of stairs are quite a workout! If during a future stay you would prefer a room with fewer stairs, I would recommend our Charles de Gaulle Suite that has only 7 steps to climb. This room is adjoined to the back of our house and is entered via our private courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent two nights in the 3rd floor Napoleon room recently, everything was simply lovely. The room was stunning, the location was perfect, breakfast was delicious, and Stacy was charming. You can tell she enjoys hosting her guests and sharing her knowledge of the area with them. We had to leave early the last morning which meant we would miss breakfast, so Stacy brought bagels, fruit, and water bottles to our room the afternoon before. We normally stay in hotels instead of B&B's, but if all B&B's are this nice we'll change our ways.

Room Tip: The Napoleon room on the 3rd floor is fabulous, but it's a steep hike up the stairs to get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Ark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Beautiful cute rooms, great locally source toiletries that I ended up buying and taking home. Gorgeous main house. Fabulous quiet outdoor seating arrangements and lord can this woman cook! Probably the best breakfast I've had at a B&B ever. And I've stayed in a few! Beautifully appointed in the federal style. So many cute places shops and eateries in the neighborhood in addition to the stunning local architecture and park we couldn't even take it all in in the few days we were in St Louis. Very safe and delightful. I would stay here again over a hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We recently stayed at Napoleon’s Retreat for two nights bookending a trip to the Kansas City area. Both stays were equally enjoyable as was the welcome we received from Stacy! As others have mentioned the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed the privacy and the jetted tub of the Charles DeGaulle Suite on our first stay and the cool comfort of the Burgundy Room on our second stay. Both breakfasts we enjoyed were lovely and the dining establishments in the surrounding area are great! I would highly recommend staying at Napoleon’s Retreat and hope I get to return there again sometime!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beehostess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing