We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother Daughter Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mother Daughter Getaway”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Beautifully restored victorian home in the quiet serene Lafayette Square neighborhood. Small town atmosphere within the metro St Louis. Nicely appointed restored victorian home gives way to a quiet get away. Breakfasts were served in the lovely dining room just off the parlor room. We stayed in the Napoleon room on the third floor which is the entire third floor. The room was very comfortable. Just a note: if stairs are a problem, you may want to consider the second floor instead. Also, the heat was a bit tricky since the thermostat was on the second floor that controlled both the second and third floors. The hot water also was a bit slow in making it way to the third floor. Everything else about the stay was absolutely lovely. We loved Stacy and her two dogs Peanut and Indiana. They were so enjoyable.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, consider the second floor or their cottages. Also, the thermostat controll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It was our pleasure having Julia and you as our guests. Peanut and Indiana especially enjoyed all of the wonderful attention they received during your visit. :o) Thank you for the feedback on the uneven heating. We are installing dampers in the ductwork to correct the imbalance between the 2nd & 3rd floors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
100
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The whole experience at Napoleon's Retreat was lovely and perfect! We already have, and will continue to recommend it to friends and family. The breakfasts were delicious and the service very genial. Thank you for such an enjoyable, hospitable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceLeaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you for celebrating Valentine's Day at Napoleon's Retreat! We're honored by your kind words; recommendations are the utmost compliment. It's wonderful that you were able to make reservations at several of the restaurants just 2 blocks from our inn. We're also happy we could help you find 33 Wine Bar, the well-kept secret on Park Avenue behind our inn. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The inn is picturesque with wonderful architecture and owners who go out of their way to make you feel at home and happy. We frequent b&bs across several continents, and have yet to have an experience come close to the quality and service here. The breakfasts are gourmet and the area is absolutely perfect- close location to excellent restaurants, parks, and even a brewery. Definitely will be staying again, in fact we already booked!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bliss_seeker_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Napoleon's Retreat! Your kind words mean so much to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Napoleon's Retreat is a lovely home in the city in a fantastic location. Stacey was a lovely hostess, very friendly and provided great knowledge of the neighborhood. . And there is so much to do in Lafayette Square. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was a wonderful way to celebrate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you so much for spending your anniversary at Napoleon's Retreat! It was a pleasure having you as our guests, and we appreciate your kind words about our inn & neighborhood. We love sharing our city with visitors - there's so much to see & do in St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I recently had a very nice stay at Napoleon's Retreat on a recent visit to St. Louis. The B&B is conveniently located near downtown in the historic Lafayette Park area. There are many wonderfully restored/maintained homes in the neighborhood.

Napoleon's Retreat is warm, cozy, comfortable and nicely furnished. Our hostess Stacey welcomed us and prepared an excellent breakfast.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: I liked the 2nd floor room overlooking the street. The bathroom is small, but the room is very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluzpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! It was wonderful having you as our guests, and it was perfect that your daughter was able to join you for breakfast the next morning. We wish her much success with her artistic pursuits and hope we'll have a chance to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Booked this room and, contrary to the confirmation received, B&B billed me for full length of stay immediately upon booking, since "it was the holidays." My receipt, however, only reflected the deposit amount. Maybe this was an attempt to keep me from figuring out they'd already charged me for the entire bill before I'd even arrived?
Be warned, they do NOT offer full refunds unless you're more than 14 days out. Even then, they only refund your deposit (which is 50% of the entire bill.) If it's during a holiday, they will bill you for the entirety of your stay, regardless of the reason for cancellation. In our case, Amtrak terminated our train, leaving us no way to get to St. Louis. Stacy and Brian refused to offer me any refund unless the room was rebooked by another guest. Eventually they relented and offered me one night's free stay if I came back in January or February. The food may be good, and the inn cute, but be sure to check your bank account AND purchase traveler's insurance, just in case you keel over before you make it there. Like I mentioned, I never even laid eyes on the place, and they wanted to keep my $612.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mizzmelody2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
It's unfortunate that this reviewer did not have a chance to enjoy the 500+ sq.ft. apartment with full kitchen, living room, queen bed, and Jacuzzi tub that she reserved for 4 nights for $612. One of the nights was FREE because we were running a special. Since the reservation was over the holidays and included a FREE night, we charged her the full amount at the time she placed the reservation and informed her in writing and via phone that it was non-refundable.

The reviewer initially booked her stay using our online system, which automatically charges a 50% deposit and sends an automated email that is the receipt for 50% of the cost of the reservation. The reviewer then called and asked that we extend her online reservation by 1 day, which we gave to her for FREE. We then sent a personal email with a receipt for the remaining 50% of her stay. Unfortunately, the reviewer seems to be a bit bewildered. No guest other than her has ever expressed confusion about how their stay is charged. We give our guests a FULL REFUND if they cancel at least 14 days in advance of their stay, or 30 days in advance for major holidays. We do not only refund 50%, as this addled reviewer has stated.

This reviewer canceled less than 18 hours before she was to arrive at our inn. Major hotels chains such as the Holiday Inn, Marriott, Drury, and Hampton Inn all have the same policy as our inn. Reservations made using an online special and prepaid in advance are non-refundable. It was wise that the reviewer purchased traveler's insurance and was fully reimbursed for her trip.

We offered to refund her for any nights we were able to rebook her room, which is outside of our policy. When it didn't rebook, we offered her a FREE night's stay. She emailed and said we were gracious and generous, and wished us a prosperous 2013. Unfortunately, she was motivated by avarice to write this slanderous review. Notably, the 1-star reviews submitted for Napoleon's Retreat are due to concerns over money, not disappointment in the experience of staying at our relaxing, award-winning historic inn. Should the reviewer decide to redeem the FREE night we offered, we're sure that our gourmet breakfasts and comforting B&B will soothe her restless spirit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We decided to treat ourselves to an "in-town" respite which was about equal in cost to a fine dining experience. However, our respite in tastefully decorated rooms appointed with period furniture/artwork and graced by a welcoming hostess proved to be far more restorative than the finest dining anywhere could have been. And better value to boot.

This was a "first" for us. I do not understand why it did not occur to us before. I highly recommend Napoleon's Retreat to out-of town visitors as well as to St. Louis residents. Napoleon's location in Lafayette Square is within blocks from a lovely park, interesting eateries in an antebellum historic section of St. Louis...a living treasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Manager at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you for your very thoughtful review. We loved having you as our guests and hope that you'll be able to escape to Napoleon's Retreat again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,440 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing