We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Wonderful, Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hallsville
1 review
“Amazing, Wonderful, Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I just got back from my trip to STL and my stay at Napoleon's Retreat. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Saint Louis but Napoleon's Retreat. Stacy is an AMAZING cook, the accommodations go above and beyond a B&B, information about STL available to you at your finger tips, rooms are comfortable and clean, and the list goes on. I am already looking at my calendar for my next trip to Napoleon's Retreat. Thank you Stacy for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Rebekah, it was our pleasure having you as our guest. We're so glad that we were able to help make your stay in St. Louis exceptional. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
99
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Beautiful home in the historic Lafayette Park. My husband and I stayed here one night. It is close to the Arch and lots of great restaurants. We slept very comfortably, and we were treated to a filling and delicious breakfast before hitting the road. I loved the pups, Peanut and Indiana- they made wonderful greeters! And Sally was very accommodating and sweet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Indie & Peanut especially loved the extra attention. We hope you're able to visit again soon and see more of the sights of St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

everything exceeded expectations...wonderful hostess great food and perfect location.we never worried about anything! very clean and a wonderful atmosphere.we were here for 4th ofJulyweekend and could see fireworks from upper deck.walking to nearby park was awesome...lots of historical architecture in vicinity to view while strolling around.highly recommended to anyone coming to the area!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melkins34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We strive to make every guest's stay as perfect as possible. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope you're able to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, CA.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent five days at this b & b in May. Found it to be centrally located to the renovated downtown St. Louis area. Stacy went out of her way to make us happy. We eat a vegetable based diet and she accomodated our needs for every delicious breakfast. The place is quiet, comfortable and worth every penny--which I think when all things are considered is a very good value. Stacy loves what she does and it shows. Refreshing, easy to be around, she made our visit to St. Louis a real treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor room which was huge. I think the rooms on the second floor are a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your very thoughtful review. I really appreciate all of the helpful feedback you provided from things like breakfast recipes, linens, furnishings, and even floral arrangements during your stay. We continue to hunt for the perfect antiques to fill the inn. Thank you for the compliment on the impressive custom headboards in the two rooms on the second floor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Beautiful neighborhood for walking and residing. Surprisingly close to downtown.........I walked. Impeccable accommodations and the best breakfast I've ever had on the road. Stacy (the owner, hostess, cook and concierge) was delightful and informative. Her neighborhood and dining advice made the trip.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
It's wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a relaxing respite for your visit to St. Louis. Many guests are surprised to find that Lafayette Square is within walking distance to downtown. I'm so glad that you found our "hidden gem" of a neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Napoleon's Retreat is a wonderful place to stay when driving through St Louis! It is easy to get to from I-44 and not far from the Missouri Botanical Gardens, which is a gorgeous place to spend an afternoon. The personal touch was greatly appreciated, and the recommendations for a dinner place and (very) early morning coffee were perfect. Breakfast was delicious and the table was exquisite, and we could not have been more pleased with our room, which was decorated in an elegant style that anyone would feel comfortable in. The beautiful dogwood tree blooming next to our door was an added bonus!

Room Tip: We chose the first floor room because I have difficulty with steps, but found there were still sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel010100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
It was our pleasure having you as our guests. Being greeted by J's & your warm smiles every morning was the best way to start the day! Thank you for your thoughtful review. We hope your travels bring you to St. Louis again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I loved staying at Napoleons Retreat. Not only was the area beautiful and very safe (solo woman traveller) but my hostess was fantastic and breakfast amazing. A beautiful old "painted lady" lovingly restored with all amenities needed for their guests. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: I had the front room on first floor and it was huge and I loved the view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QUEUE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
It was an absolute delight having you as our guest! We feel very fortunate to own a B&B in a historic neighborhood and love sharing our home with warm, friendly people from around the globe. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing