We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late 20's Couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Late 20's Couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Inn for one night; Stacy was beyond accommodating and did a great job making recommendations for our short stay. We walked around the Lafayette Sq neighborhood and had drinks and dinner there - a very cute neighborhood with lots of great options if you'd like to stay local to the hotel.

Our room was very clean, well appointed, and check in/out was a total breeze.

Breakfast was delicious; we had a great time meeting other guests as well!

Highly recommended for a "romantic" evening in the city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We're very glad you were able to visit with us. Thank goodness you had a chance to experience the City Museum - my favorite attraction in all of St. Louis! We hope your travels bring you to our fair city again, and we would be delighted to have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
99
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Napoleon for a night in April on our first trip to St Louis. It was a delightful experience. The Lafayette room was spacious and well appointed, and even though my husband was on crutches he was happy he made the effort to climb the stairs. The breakfast was tasty and it was fun talking with the other guests. Stacy suggested nearby restaurants and we loved the ones we tried (The Chocolate Bar, Bogarts BBQ, an italian place whose name I forgot). We also loved the Lafayette Park area as there are lots of beautiful homes, good eateries and coffee shops. We will definitely stay at the Napoleon if we are in St.Louis again. Thanks Stacy for the great suggestions for attractions-we loved the zoo, the Botanical Gardens and the Arch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janadian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I'm delighted you chose to stay with us during your first visit to St. Louis. I wish we hadn't had a full house, or I would definitely have moved your reservation to our 1st floor room. Your husband was such a trooper with his crutches! We hope you're able to visit St. Louis again soon, and we would be honored to host your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Napoleons Retreat was a true treat. Stacy was wonderfully accommodating with great recommendations. Her breakfast was outstanding and so filling. We stayed in the Lafayette room. The house is truly lovely and spotless. My husband and I love the neighborhood with the park and great restaurants nearby. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nepoleon's Retreat is a crown jewel of B&B's in St Louis. The home is beautiful and the owner Stacy is absolutely wonderful. Any room you choose will exceed your expectations as well as her 5 star breakfast. The location in Lafayette Square is perfect for any destination in St Louis. Our stay was so enjoyable, we are now making this B&B our only choice when visiting St Louis.
Carl

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjackiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Napolean's Retreat was beautiful, inside and out. Stacey was a gracious host and prepared an absolutely elegant breakfast in the morning. While there's no parking on property, we had no problem finding a spot on the street out front. The home is about a block and a half from the Lafayette Square commercial district where there were many restaurants and bars to choose from. The bed was comfortable and even the least expensive "Lafayette" room was surprisingly spacious. We would highly recommend Napolean's and look forward to returning for another visit ourselves.

Room Tip: The Lafayette room is much larger than it appears in the website photo. The bed is tucked into an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpatrick95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure having you as our guests. Also, thank you for being a "taste-tester" for our new tomato & brie tartlets. We're glad to hear they were a hit! We hope you're able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this very tranquil B&B off Lafayette Square. Gourmet breakfast, friendly owners, spacious bedroom with en suite and lots more. Exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We're delighted that we had a chance to meet you during your travels throughout the States. We loved reminiscing about our time in Ireland with you, and sharing information about all of the great things to do in St. Louis. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had an outstanding time at Napoleon's B&B. With an amazing room, great view, central location, and a delicious breakfast this place is a jewel. To top it all off, Stacy and Brian are as friendly as can be and have a deep knowledge of St Louis culture, nightlife, and food. Thanks again for everything and I appreciate your kindness.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We're so glad you enjoyed your time in St. Louis. You can't beat the hospitality found in the Midwest. And thank you for recommending the Handle Bar in The Grove to us! Great food, good drinks, and a fun atmosphere. It's awesome when we learn about new things from our guests :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing